We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Zakarauskaite
Lillehammer, Norway

great location

Review of Hotel Hermes
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 1, 2017
Hotel is located right next to the train station, very central, and easy to get to all main attraction. max 15 min walk.
Hotel is quite clean, tho it looks old and clearly need a renovation.
Hotel staff was helpful and friendly.
Hotel is better for backpackers, or passerby tourist, wouldn't recommend to stay there for long time.
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$163
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $161
  • Priceline
    $163
  • Expedia.com
    $161
1.6 miles from Hotel Hermes
Free Wifi
Free parking
$343
$321
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $324
  • Hotels.com
    $321
  • Expedia.com
    $321
0.6 miles from Hotel Hermes
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Panoramic Terrace
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    $116
  • Expedia.com
    $156
0.6 miles from Hotel Hermes
Pool
Restaurant
$222
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Skyscanner.com
    $197
  • Hotels.com
    $219
0.1 miles from Hotel Hermes
Free Wifi
Room service
Hall
$87
  • Priceline
    $78
  • ZenHotels.com
    $75
  • Expedia.com
    $86
2.1 miles from Hotel Hermes
Free Wifi
$106
  • Expedia.com
    $116
  • Vio.com
    $105
  • Priceline
    $118
0.4 miles from Hotel Hermes
Free Wifi
$155
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Lol.travel
    $132
  • Expedia.com
    $150
2.2 miles from Hotel Hermes
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$84
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $84
  • Vio.com
    $83
  • Expedia.com
    $131
2.4 miles from Hotel Hermes
Free Wifi
Free parking
$413
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $409
  • Priceline
    $375
  • Expedia.com
    $409
0.6 miles from Hotel Hermes
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$868
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $859
  • Skyscanner.com
    $773
  • Expedia.com
    $859
0.7 miles from Hotel Hermes
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Florence
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
103
85
60
25
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
103
85
60
25
45
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 318 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is not flexible. I booked the room through a travel website, wanted to reschedule my stay for the next day, willing to pay the difference, the travel agency contacted them, but they rejected our request. I also email the hotel a couple of times but they never contacted me. On other words I lost time and money.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Isis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hotelhermes, Proprietario at Hotel Hermes, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear guest,
on the review we do not know absolutely what it is ! Meanwhile qualifies with a reservation number after which we will give you an answer about his case .
However most likely your reservation is non-refundable taken with an offer. Then the restrictions were transparent from the beginning . As a reminder for the next time to book directly at the property .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

We were really disappointed with this hotel. First although they said that the hotel was on the first floor and no lifts, in reality we had to climb three floors to arrive at the reception. Being middle-aged travellers with heavy luggage it was not easy to lug our bags up all those steps and there was no one to help either. Fortunately we got a room on the same floor but the other rooms were on floors above so beware.
Secondly the rooms although spacious was gloomy and absolutely not sound proof. One could hear every time some one in the adjoining rooms used the toilets as though they were actually in our room and also you could hear people talking so it was not pleasant at all.

Thirdly the toilet was old and the tap of the shower came off. The floor in the shower was not sloped and the entire toilet got wet when we bathed. The down-pipe cover was loose and kept coming off making a huge noise and the washbasin tap dripped. The extractor fan made an absolutely huge noise.

Fourthly, the breakfast area was really small and the tables had only wooden stools which were back to back and was very uncomfortable as you literally had the other person pasted onto you from behind. The tables also were only for two and there were only few tables. The tables were placed in a narrow corridor one behind the other. So there was hardly any room to move specially if there were three sitting at a table. Not good at all.

The girl at the reception was nice and friendly.

The hotel is located right in front of the railway station and the tourist sights are all within walking distance which was nice. The restaurant right next to it served very good food and the hotel gave us a voucher for a 10% discount which was nice.

Will not stay in this hotel again.

Room tip: Ask for rooms on the same floor as the reception to avoid climbing many stairs as there are three flights of steps to the reception itself.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RuwanthiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is just next to the main station of florence which is Santa maria Nouvella, and every where we wanted to go was only 10 minutes walk, the hotel itself was ok , Nothing bad Nothing special , we stayed 2 nights and the cleaning lady forgot to clean our room but as soon as we mentioned it , they cleaned it , so problem solved, Just be careful that they charge you 10 € per room at the end not 10€ each person. The breakfast was normal and to be honest we didn't care cause we wanted a coffee just to get out and eat in the city centre.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Road649511
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 3, 2016

I arrived at Hotel Hermes in the evening, had a reservation done through booking. The girl in reception was extremely nice, not only regarding all that it has to be with the hotel itself but a great tourist informant.
She gave me a map and basically a fast lesson about Florence while she marked all the important places to see and accompanied by her personal opinion and tips.
The only thing that did not make it perfect was the perfume in the room, something in the curtains I think, a fragrance that many people would find nice, but I am just not much of a "fragrance person! :).
The breakfast was very nice and the hotel gives you the option of keeping there your luggage for some 5 euros, something very convenient, specially because of the proximity with the train station.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

Me and my wife visit italy to celebrate our Honeymoon. We made a resevation at hotel hermes main site (a big mistake) after choosing English language,
And after we saw details about the hotel that have double bed and private bathroom we decided to order.
We get a confirmation in English.
One day before we arrive to florence, Italian guy said to us that in our confirmation wrote in italian - Common bathroom!!
I was very surprised because thats not what i was choose and English confirmation shows all in English exept that!
I called the hotel reception to complain about the case, and of course to explain that we Are in Honeymoon and we don't have any problem to pay more for a private bathroom as we choose and as the site described! t
The guy that answer was not simpatic and not found as a solution.

WE HAD TO CANCELL OUR RESEVATION AT THE SAME ARRIVING DAY AFTER THE HOTEL CHARGE US FOR A FULL NIGHT!

My tip is, if you really want to go that place make the reservation from booking because im sure that the behavior will be different!

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Oren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hotelhermes, Direttore at Hotel Hermes, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2015
Google Translation

Salve, come da lei specificato nella sua recensione, la sua cancellazione è stata effettuata il giorno prima dell'arrivo e questo comporta l'addebito dell'intero importo, ma vista la situazione siamo venuti incontro alle sue esigenze addebitando solo il costo di una notte.
Comunque le consigliamo vivamente nelle sue prenotazioni future di leggere attentamente le condizioni generali di prenotazioni altrimenti e' meglio rimanere a casa.
Ringraziamo per il suo tempo speso nella recensione.

La direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews