We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENCE!!”
Review of Hotel Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
Ranked #338 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENCE!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with 20 other people for a study abroad trip! In the few weeks we were in Italy, we stayed in over 4 hotels and this one was by far the best! The personal service and handmade cappuccinos in the morning were fantastic! It was the hardest hotel and staff to say goodbye to when we left. When I travel to Italy again, I will definitely be staying at Hotel Hermes in Florence!

Room Tip: Every room is great! You really can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelhermes, Proprietario at Hotel Hermes, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to write an opinion and for your kind words! My little hotel is simple and unpretentious and we concentrate on making our guest feel at home while visiting beautiful Firenze. Come back to see us, Grazie, Patricia
PS yes, Rosy's cappuccino is world wide famous...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    80
    52
    17
    27
See reviews for
28
138
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Boston, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 20 others stayed at Hotel Hermes for 4 nights as part of a study abroad trip and I couldn't have been more pleased with the decision to stay here. The place was very simple but for a group that spent most of their time outside of the hotel it was perfect! Patricia was incredibly helpful and her staff was so nice and personable. I can understand why our group comes back to this place year after year. If you are looking for a place to stay in Florence that feels like home I would highly recommend staying at Hotel Hermes!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ddixon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelhermes, Proprietario at Hotel Hermes, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your opinion on my little hotel...it is very simple and basic but we take hospitality seriously, we try our best to make our guests feel at home. Please come back to see us...thank you again, Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel itself is definitely a budget hotel - one shared bathroom per floor, and the rooms were nice enough and clean. However, the staff was very helpful, and its proximity to the train station was very convenient, if a bit loud at night. Also, no air conditioning is not ideal in Florence - it can get pretty humid in summer, and while opening a window is your only recourse, by doing so you invite bugs and noise from the train station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolalu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Was looking for a cheap spot to rest my head while visiting Florence. On the plus side, very close to the train station, less than 5 minutes, comfortable bed, and surprisingly quiet considering proximity to train station. Room nothing to write home about but sheets were clean. Breakfast basic (bread and bread) and served on the early side 7-9. Internet free and fairly good connection. Only down side was 8 flights of stairs good thing I hadn't done too much shooping yet! :) helped me save money for prada!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithyourmeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelhermes, Proprietario at Hotel Hermes, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your review regarding my little hotel...I appreciate it. Yes, we try to cater to our guests with hospitality as it used to be: cleanliness and cordiality. You forgot to mention that coffee/cappuccino or tea is served with the continental breakfast but that is ok, it's logical that coffee is served...the building is only 2 floors but, due to the over 5mts. high ceilings, there are more than usual steps to climb ! I am glad you saved and could spend more money shopping, Firenze is "shopper's paradise". Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Excellent budget stay for backpackers who have an agenda to learn Fiorentine history! Clean and spacious rooms that allow your to unload all your baggage. Awesome breakfast for a budget! Exceptional cuppucino brewed by the staff! Engage in a brief conversation with the staff and you may just be surprised by their responses and recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minglong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is located right across the street from the train station. you don't need to take a cab. some jerk charged us 8 euros to drive us around the block. the hotel is walking distance from many major points of interest. the staff was very cordial and Patricia graciously made reservations for us for the Uffizi and Accademia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leticia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very friendly welcome by Patrizia, presummably the owner. Unfortunately, she was often not available. She gave us a lot of good advices. Close to the City center. Just OK for sleeping if you have ear plugs. The local air conditionning system is awfully noisy, as well as the fan in the bath room but this is less annoying. Furniture could be changed or at least repared. Old leaky taps. Very clean room (14). Very clean bed sheet and towels. Tiny soap, the used shampoo is not always replaced. Continental breakfast just OK.

Room Tip: there are rooms without shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tapou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#282 of 422 in Florence
232 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#158 of 422 in Florence
382 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#157 of 422 in Florence
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#259 of 422 in Florence
249 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#304 of 422 in Florence
235 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#362 of 422 in Florence
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Property: Hotel Hermes
Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small 2 star (7rrooms with private bathroom and 7 which share 3 bathrooms) no frills family run hotel 50 mts. from the main SMN train station and within walking distance of all monuments, museums and historical sites. In Italian, English, French and Spanish we give our guests all the information required to make the best out of their visit to Florence and surrounding Tuscan cities. Cleanliness and cordiality are our priorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing