We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across the street from station, short walk from Duomo”
Review of Hotel Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
Ranked #344 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel is down the block and across the street from the station, but our room was very quiet. The proprietor was very friendly. The free WiFi did not reach our room at the front of the building, but did reach a comfortable common area. Continental breakfast was served at small tables with stools in a hallway which was fine for us with only one other guest present but would prove problematic for a group when the hotel is full. The hotel was clean, quiet, and really well situated with regards to the station, to the Duomo and David. One caveat - our room came with a half dozen mosquitos which interrupted our sleep. Flecks on the walls indicated at least one previous guest was forced to make use of a paperback as I did.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hermes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 284 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located close to the train station and not far from restaurants and attractions. The owner (Patricia) is fantastic - so friendly and helpful and gave us some fantastic info on the sights you would not normally get. Breakfast was OK and the cappucino was the best I have had in Italy. If you are going for 2 star give this a go. For Fierenze the price is good and location fantastic (50 m from train station). Unfortunately I have decided I am not a 2 star traveller. Bathroom was very very small and noise travelled very easily. People walking down the hall, the alarm for people coming up the stairs and the coffee machine at 0730 meant little sleep for me.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruiser12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I met big trouble in Italy and luckily received kind and patient help from the owner of Hermes.The lady helped a lot about my card and my solutions in cash...The bed and comfortable and just next to the train station also with a fair price.I should say Hermes is really trustful and good!Hope it good always!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kecheng z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The place is very simple and will cover your needs, very close to the main train station, the main attractions, wonderful staff, who would help you to the ultimate limit, your stay is sure to be pleasant with them.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HalaMasreya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed for three nights and had a double bed room with toilet, air conditioning and TV. The room was very decent for the price (Florence is a bit expensive), English speaking staff (the owner?) was super helpful and friendly, some of the staff didn't know English too well but they were always friendly and courteous. The location is absolutely superb, just a few minute walk from the railway station. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Pros
1. Great location, across the street from trams and the main railway station. 10 minutes walk from the Duomo and the old city center
2. Free wifi, works well
3. Breakfast included in the price
4. Good pricing (relative for Florence where hotels are ridiculously priced)

Cons
1. Shared bathroom for some rooms means that the bathroom is down the hallway from the room
2. No A/C or TV in the rooms
3. Language barrier for non Italian speaking guests for late night checkins or early morning checkouts.

Location:
Stayed in Hotel Hermes for 2 nights in September 2011. As other reviewers have said, the hotel's location is perfect - about 5 minutes walk from the central Florence (Santa Maria Novella) railway station and about 10 minutes walk from the Duomo (main cathedral/town square). The railway station is also where tours that leave for locations around Florence leave (like Cinque Terre). Tourist Florence (within the medieval walls) is completely walkable, so it is good to be within easy reach.

Transportation
As mentioned above, the railway station is literally across the street. The Florence tram also stops right across the street from the hotel if you wanted to get around further into other parts of the city.

Rooms
We stayed in a double bed with a shared bathroom down the hall. The room was decent; felt a lot like a hostel with a door. There was a bidet in the room itself which I found a little weird. The lock is a traditional key-and-lock and you take the key with you when you leave the hotel. Our room faced the main drag which made for a lot of noise at night. Air conditioning was not available in our room which was okay for late September but might be an issue in summer. The shared bathroom was okay; there was a shower curtain but there was otherwise no separation at the floor level between the shower area and the toilet section; this means that after a shower the floor gets wet in the entire bathroom.

Facilities
Wifi access was available from the room and worked well. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and included bread, excellent cake, coffee (cappunico) or milk and orange juice. Seating space for breakfast was limited (about 5 tables or so) which means that you would have to wait for a place if too many people showed up at the same time. There was no business center (this is a bed and breakfast of course). No lift; the reception area itself is a walk up two flights of stairs from the street level which would be a problem with heavy luggage.

Staff
Very friendly staff. We did not speak Italian and were unable to communicate with the after hours (late evening) and early morning staff. The owner was very flexible in in arranging for us to stay an additional night in our room at short notice; I called a few days before we arrived asking for an extension of stay and was able to get an additional room arranged with no issues at all.

Neighborhood
Being near the city center, there are always a lot of people around so the location seemed very safe. There are good restaurants and shops within 2 blocks of the place, so purchasing supplies (snacks, water supplies), a meal or simply a take out pizza (by far the best value in Italy) is easy

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank HotelReviewerNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We arrived in Florence with a sense of adventure but no working knowledge of the city. Hotel Hermes is easily accessible if you arrive by train into either the Rifredi or SMN stations. They are only one stop apart with no charge if you have a train ticket for the same day (valuable knowledge learned from the hotel staff). Our rooms were quaint but with modern amenities such as AC that we did need. Bed linens and towels were simple cotton and surprisingly functional when you are used to fluffy American towels. Beds seemed to be temporary and easily moved, but were extremely comfortable. Bathrooms were in our rooms (option of bath down the hall is available) and showers had great water pressure. Room 10 is a smaller bath with toilet in the shower space. This makes for a smaller space but again functioned perfectly for me and my two daughters. Hotel staff became our private guide to the city of Florence without ever leaving the desk. With their knowledge and direction I was able to navigate the tourist attractions and secret treasures unbeknownst to my Michelin guide and other tourists. THIS IS INVALUABLE!! The city of Florence is so used to tourists that it is easy to lose sight of the Italian culture. We were very much interested in the culture and trying to learn the language and the hotel staff was fabulous at answering our questions and even helping us learn Italian at breakfast each day. I will return to Florence and stay in this hotel again and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the city.

Room Tip: Book early! We were there in the low season and the hotel was full. Rooms 10 and 11 are at the end o...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#262 of 411 in Florence
255 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#285 of 411 in Florence
237 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#304 of 411 in Florence
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#281 of 411 in Florence
53 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#275 of 411 in Florence
449 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#130 of 411 in Florence
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $55 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small 2 star (7rrooms with private bathroom and 7 which share 3 bathrooms) no frills family run hotel 50 mts. from the main SMN train station and within walking distance of all monuments, museums and historical sites. In Italian, English, French and Spanish we give our guests all the information required to make the best out of their visit to Florence and surrounding Tuscan cities. Cleanliness and cordiality are our priorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing