We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“touristic trap”

Trattoria del Carmine
Ranked #669 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“touristic trap”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Yeah, unfortunately another touristic trap....
The small tables are so close to each other that even talking looks unconfortable.
They moved us from a table to another and when they brought us the glass we were using, they swapped them.
Absolutely no manners in services...the waiters were running like crazy making you feel like a continuous emergency situation, yelling to each other to ask things, passing over the table while delivering meals.
While setting the table the waiter throwed the napkins and the forks aiming the farther corners of it...unbelievable.
Starters: very poor quality ham and salami (trust me, i'm italian).
Tagliata: strong like a sole shoe...
We asked for the house wine: my opinion is that in tuscany it's so easy to find a cheap wine better that the one we took, thanks to the grapes.... so i wonder why it must be so poor.
That's no the right way to treat the tourists...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    192
    78
    34
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Yes, the service was a dash on the cold side, but that seems to be the general trend in Italy as a whole. We were given a great table, the food was EXCELLENT, and that is not always easy to find. Best steak and risotto we've had in ages.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, bad service”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We showed up at this restaurant around 9 pm on a Saturday without a reservation. We were told to wait for a table as the place was packed.We were ushered inside and got a tiny table near the kitchen but that was fine, after all we didn't book. The food was amazing! and I would have given Trattoria del Carmine an excellent rating if it hadn't been for the...staff. The lady behind the counter was rude, the service was really rushed and not very attentive. I understand that it was late and they were busy but it would have been nice to get a smile or to see that they care about their customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Asia_PL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice lunch on patio”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch on Easter day in this ice typical restoro situated on Piazza Carmine. Very good food with many daily specials. Service was not very nice but still professional. House wine was very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank DanielCH
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Would it hurt to smile?”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Tried this place as it was close to where we were staying. We went in late afternoon to book a table and returned at the appointed hour. There was only one table occupied so we went to a vacant table only to be ushered into the back room where 2 tables were occupied by tourists. Is it me or do tourists always seem to be sent into the back room with the more appealing front room reserved for locals - or am I being paranoid.
Anyway we ordered our meal and the waiter could not have been more disinterested, practically throwing the food at us. I opted for the braseaola with rocket and Parmesan shavings and my wife had prosciutto both of which were very pleasant (difficult to mess up really). We both had the Lombatina which was not as good as other places we had tried.
After a while a local couple came in who seemed to know the waiter as they were given fresh bread rather than the very hard bread sticks we had been offered. I guess it helps to know the right people. I'm guessing the front eating area was full!
As the front seemed very busy our waiter was noticeable by his absence but when asked by my wife where the toilets were he gave a dismissive wave without being very helpful. They were located behind a door with the word 'springere' and nothing else. How are we to know? My wife also asked for the bill at the same time and again it was rudely thrust at us by the waiter without any indication that he was interested in our dining experience.
Would we go back? NO! Can we recommend it? NO

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alannsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria del Carmine also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria del Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing