We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what massive portions!”

Osteria Santo Spirito
Ranked #248 of 2,712 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“what massive portions!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had planned to go to another place round the corner but it was full; having had such a great (and filling!) meal at this lovely, buzzy osteria we agreed that that did not really matter. There were no tables free outside (on the Piazza) but we were found a place upstairs and although we were told we had to vacate in 90 minutes time (OK by us we thought) in the event we stayed much longer and no-one seemed to mind.
Huge portions with every dish, everything very fresh tasting and an extensive wine list. Would recommend you try it; we will go back, definitely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,052
    705
    200
    90
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
219 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Mixed...”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ate here last year and enjoyed our meal so I returned while traveilng alone to Florence. I knew the portions were immense so ordered a half portion of homemade gnocchi with pomodoro sauce. So I was surprised when what was put in front of me was a bubbling mass of gnocchi drowning in some sort of cheese (and possible with truffles, I hate that smell). When I finally was able to catch the waitress' attention to ask here where my meal was, she shrugged and said that I couldn't order a half portion of gnocchi with tomato sauce so she gave me this instead. Which I thought was pretty strange--wouldn't you just tell the guest that and give them other options? At that point I sent it back and got pasta in pomodoro sauce instead, but she was clearly annoyed with me. Oh well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We were on our way to another but glad we went here”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

On our way to another spot but the rain was coming down and I knew this place was also good....we sat upstairs in a lively room and the open window made it very comfortable...young crowd and a very good wine list....nice young waiter and good service....I have never seen so many fresh clams on a Vongole....everyone's meals was great and we had a fun time in a nice area of the oltrarno ..the only place to stay in Firenze ..worth a go for sure ...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sirlarry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“it failed to impress me”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Seeing the reviews here I expected more. We had a table for 6 inside and we were quite cramped. The service was not much, the waiter seemed quite overwhelmed. My picks (Florentine beef, spinach, Tiramisu) were average, plus they would not take my Visa chip card for the payment. The good part was the decent price. The above plus my share of two bottles of wine (the beef was also dived to 3, as it was a 1.2 kilo piece) - 25 euro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go go go!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The food here is fabulous, in a great location with cool staff and a small but really good wine list. Great place to spend a hot afternoon. Go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerennialWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Santo Spirito also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria Santo Spirito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing