We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service - average Japanese”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Momoyama

Momoyama
Ranked #541 of 2,680 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly service - average Japanese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

First time we went for sushi in Florence. My expectancies were not very high and right I was. Almost all the fish is farmed. The story goes that it is for ethical reasons. In that case you do not serve tuna...
The wine list is disappointing.
The waitresses and the owner are very efficient.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Furge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    101
    50
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
1 review
“Best sushi experience in my own city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Two days ago I had dinner for my first time at Momoyama and I have to say it was a very nice experience!! I've already tried different sushi restaurants and bars in Florence (my own city) but Momoyama it's absolutely the best. Fish is great and well dressed for taste and view pleasure. The owners, two real Florence guys, help me feel like at home dispite the place is quite fashon/elegant. Prices are a little bit higher than other sushi restaurants I tried in Florence but the quality of the food (even cakes are terrific!) and the pleasantness of the ambience are uncomparable. Good international wine list too! What to say more….? I am already thinking about coming back there in while ……..my new favourite sushi restaurant in town!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced for bad service and mediocre sushi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

For the prices that this place demands, we could have gone to a Michelin rated restaurant and had a much better dining experience. Regardless of pricing, food was mediocre and service incredibly slow, even for European standards. You're better off searching for a mom and pop Japanese restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Great food, great atmosphere, nice friendly staff, would definitely recommend this restaurant, the tempura prawns were amazingly fresh, the food was a bit pricey but definitely worth it

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Corfu, Kerkira, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Florence!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The service is spotless!
The owners are really friendly and always cheerful.
The food extraordinary!!! The fish is of high quality and extra fresh.
The atmosfaire is relaxing with an apropriate lighting and interesting decoration.

This is the restaurant that made me love sushi!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momoyama also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Momoyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing