We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, fun, and reasonable!”

Alla Vecchia Bettola
Ranked #276 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, fun, and reasonable!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The fresh pear and cheese was excellent, as was the steak, and the Penne Alla Bettola! The house wine on the table was just fine, and the staff are adorable. Atmosphere is jolly, and upbeat. Good place!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    225
    87
    45
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This restaurant is amazing! The food is soo good, you sit together at tables so you feel like family.
If you don't know Italian take your app to translate for you, if not the waiters will help. They all speak english.
The specialty is meat, don't get me wrong there is pasts, salads etc but meat is a strong presence on the menu.
Off the beaten path but well worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SadieTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eat with the locals!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

One of our favourite restaurants in Florence. Away from the tourist traps in the inner city, you have to go for a bit of a walk to find it but won't be disappointed. Stylish/rustic decor, friendly staff and delicious authentic food. €4 per Person for the house wine (drink as much as you like!) and on average about €8 for a main dish. All the food that came out of the kitchen looked fantastic and I had major food envy! So much so that I ordered a mini portion of the spaghetti with mushrooms after I already had my dessert and espresso. Oh and espresso comes in cute little enamel espresso cups if you are into those little details! Got chatting to the Italian family that shared our table so all in all a great night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juju766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best in Florence”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very enjoyable, truly an italian atmosphere & food! We were group of 7, and everyone loved the place and food. We trusted recommendations of the waiters and we were not dissapointed! Make booking early! Place is rather small but that creates all the atmosphere! Loved it!!

Helpful?
Thank Maris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“legendary”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

this is foodie heaven.. no fuss, no frills just delicious food, epic menu, great house wine, dirt cheap....and if you can rustle a little italian and get on with your ordering, rather than asking them 'whats good?' then you will be looked after!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank renifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alla Vecchia Bettola also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Alla Vecchia Bettola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing