We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To try” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cantinetta Antinori

Cantinetta Antinori
Ranked #390 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“To try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great wine of course, but also typical Italian cuisine. Never go there if you have to drive on your own.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gusemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    166
    71
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
410 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal in a quaint setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Charming two level restaurant, the entrance is tucked away at the back of an archway so you will only see the address number, not the restaurant until you go up the steps. There is a sign stand but we were so focused on the address we walked past it at first, assuming the entrance was on the street. The restaurant is famous for their selection of wines and they offer a wide range of prices starting under thirty euros. Small but interesting menu. Split an order of assorted canapés to start which were ok but nothing special. For entrees ordered the rabbit with sautéed spinach which was excellent and veal scaloppine with porcini mushrooms. I had forgotten that porcini mushrooms can sometimes have a slimy quality when cooked down, so the dish was just good, not great for me. My husband wanted to try the pecorino cheese with chestnut honey and the waiter was happy to bring a small slice and just charged 5 euros which was more than fair for the portion. Split a warm pear tart with a custard sauce to finish which was very good. Those rich Italian egg yolks gave the sauce a nice soft yellow color. 128 euros for the meal including water,a 32 euro bottle of chianti wine and cappuccinos . (The waiter had also suggested a Tuscan wine to go with our meal but we weren’t willing to splurge for 80 euros, especially since a fine wine like that needs to breathe a long time before serving). Lovely ambiance, quiet, good service, made our reservation by email.

Walking home along the Piazza Antinori was a perfect ending. The street doesn't look like much during the day even with all the expensive shops, but at night it is beautifully lit and has a magical quality. Plus a group of young German men had set up a beer drinking game in the middle of the pedestrian thoroughfare, (whoever hit the can in the middle had to drink as much as they could until the other team set the can upright again) and a small crowd had gathered to cheer them on. The game was just in good fun and no one was drunk and my sons got a kick out of the video I emailed them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We went there for dinner after a friend's suggestion.
However this is not a very good option if you want to eat well. The menu has few dishes to decide, every dish has small quantity of food, the waitress who served us didnt know much English. Generally a cold place to eat, with no music and a very formal style. What we ate was medium and in no way reaches the high standards that someone could expect from the restaurant. Before we go we saw also the good suggestions from tripadvisor for this place, however when we left we were wondering what the other people did/ate differently from us to suggest it a so good restaurant. It was very expensive too. The wine was very good, but in Tuscany, the wine is perfect everywhere... The last thing is that the restaurant is closed on weekends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kostas-Evi-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average food, excellent wine (of course)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We've eaten here twice, once 9 years ago and just recently. More recently the food was good to average when compared to similar restaurants, with the price being around the same to a little higher. We had excellent service and a very helpful waiter. When we asked about what he looks for in a bad bottle of wine, he later brought us a cork and bottle of wine they had just opened that had been tainted at bottling and was clearly flawed, and explained what he had noticed.
You of course have an excellent assortment of Antinori wines to choose from, at essentially retail prices. We had an amazing Brunello the first visit, and a solid, less expensive one the second.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Consuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok food, but . . .”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had lunch based on a recommendation from a friend who dined here some years ago. It turned out to be the only place in Italy where we felt unwelcome. Our waiter maintained an attitude of disdain from sit down to departure. No pleasantries, minimal response to request for recommendations, very small pour of wine (half what was poured for a local couple one table away), food delivered without comment (whap! eat! leave!), etc. The food itself was fine, nothing great. We had a nice salad and just-ok pasta with wild boar ragu. Our worst overall dining experience of the entire trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 03dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinetta Antinori also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Cantinetta Antinori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing