We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hot chocolate ...possibly in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Rivoire

Caffe Rivoire
Ranked #41 of 216 Dessert in Florence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate ...possibly in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We live in Florence and believe this place to have the best hot chocolate in town, if not the world.

Be prepared though, it is a meal in itself, and when the waiter asks if you want cream... I highly recommend it. You will need it to cut the richness of the chocolate.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LivingAbroadFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    420
    155
    96
    111
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location, but price not worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

You should know what you're getting when you go to Rivoire; you're paying for the location and the view. We had breakfast here, and the food was okay, it wasn't horrible. Service was also okay, nothing great but not too bad either. Some of the items are ridiculously priced: they charged us something like 8 Euros for an orange juice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank porjotok_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hot Chocolate on the Piazza del Signoria”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great hot chocolate, rich and creamy and practically thick as pudding. A great place to people-watch. But 8.50 euro per cup? Maybe for a one time experience, but not a repeat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank islandtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashvi
Level Contributor
126 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pricey, but a neat experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stopped in here for dessert one evening after dinner. We greatly enjoyed the desserts and the ambiance, but it is definitely VERY expensive to do so. You're definitely paying the most for the experience. We were on our honeymoon so it was a nice splurge, but the next day we opted to just stop in and grab a treat and take it to go - it was still yummy, but at a much more affordable price!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We Tried to Eat Here, But Didn't”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were seated at an outside table for lunch. I am a vegetarian and asked the waiter if the chef could make me a pasta dish listed on the menu without the chicken - in other words, leave out the chicken to make the dish vegetarian. I can't imagine that would be hard to do. The waiter did not answer me, he just walked away from the table, went to the next table that had been seated after us and took their order. The waiter never came back to our table. We left and will never ever consider going to this restaurant again.

This is the only restaurant in every restaurant we visited in Italy (which is probably about eighteen restaurants, if not more) that would not even consider accomodating my vegetarian diet.

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone, based on its lack of customer service alone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baps27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Rivoire also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Caffe Rivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing