We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and music!”
Review of Caffe Gilli

Caffe Gilli
Ranked #675 of 2,718 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $32 - $107
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Giovanni
Description: Established by a Swiss family, when Florence was still under the Medici Family, Gilli is the city’s oldest cafe – opened in 1733 as “Bottega dei Pani & dei Dolci” near the Duomo. It moved to Piazza della Repubblica in the early ‘90s, where it’s still located today, is the city’s only example of an Art Nouveaux style cafe. Over time, the business evolved according to the city’s transformations. In the mid-1800s it relocated from Via degli Speziali to its current location, on the same square as other historic venues, such as Caffe Paszkowski. It soon became a favorite of writers, artists, and actors from all over the world, and today is still the place where famous designers meet when in town to attend the Pitti Uomo fashion shows.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Ate here several times for lunch and dinner during our 3 week Florence vacation. The manager, Davide, is great and so is waiter, Alessandro! Gilli makes a wonderful Cesar salad--best I have ever had. Also the desserts are great too. The best part is sitting on the comfortable sofas and watching the activity in the adjoining public square, while listening to the music streamed at Gilli. Great music streamed from JazzFunk radio. Love it!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarltonsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Calogero_Incorvaia, Direttore at Caffe Gilli, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

WowThanks for the wonderful review! It 'been nice to have had so many times you as our customers. We hope it will be again. Greetings from all the staff, Davide and Alessandro in the first place. Calogero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (3,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 595 of 3,208 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2016

Great location opposite the Savoy. Quaint inside and comfortable outside. Food and drinks are a little expensive and the service is poor. It may be worth visiting once for the location but is certainly not a place to which I would return.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ABCNorthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Calogero_Incorvaia, Direttore at Caffe Gilli, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Thanks for the review. We are happy you spent a comfortable time at Caffe Gilli and sorry if you did not find the service up to your expectations. Hopefully we will have another chance to see you again. Calogero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

You can't beat Gilli's location, but it is definitely much higher priced than any other cafes we frequented in Florence. The main reason to go is the super comfortable couches. If you can't get one then a regular table with similar fare and views can be found elsewhere for lower prices. Service was pleasant and the vibe was good. We found ourselves there twice.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Calogero_Incorvaia, Direttore at Caffe Gilli, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Thanks for the nice review and for coming back twice to spend time in our Caffe. We hope to see you soon! Calogero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

Overall negative experience. The atmosphere is very nice and welcoming. However the food is average and the service was bad. Very slow service, every time we asked for something it took about 15 minutes for the waiter to get back to us. One of the main dishes was a burger. It was supposed to be medium done but it came well done and very dry. Similar to a poor English pub (some pubs have nice burgers). The place is overpriced. You pay mostly for its history.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank Ιοannis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Calogero_Incorvaia, Direttore at Caffe Gilli, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Thanks for the review and for choosing us. We are glad that you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. Sorry for the wait. As for the burger, if differed cooking by your request, you could ask to the staff we could fix it with pleasure. However, we hope to see you again soon. Calogero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

The Caffe Gilli has a commanding view of the Piazza della Repubblica, but we chose to enjoy a meal there because they have been creating dolce since 1733 and that is reason enough.

We stopped by for lunch and opted for an outside table (even though the interior of the place is really lovely). Probably not the best choice, since it was August and it was hot, but they had misters and fans and somehow the heat left us as we happily snacked on tramezzini, toasted the joy of being in Florence with prosecco and then let the sweetness of shared desserts complete our meal. The desserts were undeniably the best part of the meal; service was slow and we waited a long time to get the conto and settle up.

Do I recommend this?...yes, if you want the cachet of saying you dined there but, since their desserts are truly their masterpieces, you can also just go inside the shop and purchase something yummy to enjoy as you meander through the beautiful city that is Florence.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trvlfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Calogero_Incorvaia, Direttore at Caffe Gilli, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Thanks for the review. We are glad that you chose our Caffè for your meal and that you found our sweet masterpieces! It is a beautiful compliment for us as they are all on their own and artisan production. Sorry for the wait and apologize. We hope to see you soon! Calogero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Gilli also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Caffe Gilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.