We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and arrogant - absolutely ridiculous service”
Review of Caffe Gilli

Caffe Gilli
Ranked #636 of 2,814 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $34 - $113
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Giovanni
Description: Established by a Swiss family, when Florence was still under the Medici Family, Gilli is the city’s oldest cafe – opened in 1733 as “Bottega dei Pani & dei Dolci” near the Duomo. It moved to Piazza della Repubblica in the early ‘90s, where it’s still located today, is the city’s only example of an Art Nouveaux style cafe. Over time, the business evolved according to the city’s transformations. In the mid-1800s it relocated from Via degli Speziali to its current location, on the same square as other historic venues, such as Caffe Paszkowski. It soon became a favorite of writers, artists, and actors from all over the world, and today is still the place where famous designers meet when in town to attend the Pitti Uomo fashion shows.
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely ridiculous service. We are from the US and bought a cake for my sister's birthday, not knowing that you cannot sit down. The cashier came and immediately packed the cake into our bag while we were still sitting.

Incredibly rude and arrogant. You do not touch our food while we are still inquiring about the situation. Absolutely no culture and manners. Did not even apologize.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Lily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calogero_Incorvaia, Direttore at Caffe Gilli, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Thank you for having decided to celebrate with our cakes. I think there was a misunderstanding with the waiter. Anyway, sorry. We hope to see again you. Calogero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 505 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2016

This is a very typical, though upscale place to have a coffee in the morning. I stopped twice before departing with my tour guide. Drink your coffee like an Italian, stop at the cashier, pay and take your receipt to the counter, the barista will fulfill your order and you stand and drink/eat like a local. They have seating outside too, but I didn't bother. The pastries were to die for, and the place is like entering a slice of history. Beautifully decorated.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leftyonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calogero_Incorvaia, Direttore at Caffe Gilli, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Thanks for the review. We are pleased that it was a good experience at Caffe Gilli. How nice to know that you feel that the place is like entering a slice of history! We hope to see you soon. Calogero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Visited this cafe twice 7 years apart and the standards have not dropped.
Lovely view over looking the square.
Lovely coffee and best hot chocolate I have ever tasted.
Large selection of sweets and chocolates.
My idea of heaven!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Tanner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calogero_Incorvaia, Direttore at Caffe Gilli, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Thanks for the nice review. we're really happy that your experiences at Caffe Gilli were heavenly! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016

Six lifelong friends have been traveling through northern Italy together. To celebrate our 62nd birthdays together, we sat down on the lovely covered terrace of Caffe Gilli, with misters to combat the sweltering heat. Two of us were particularly pleased to have found canoli, which aren't easily available in our hometowns of Seattle and Cinncinati.

It took a while for someone to finally take our order, and an even longer wait for our coffees and canoli to arrive. They were good. Very good. Also very expensive. Six euros for a canoli....6 euroes for a small espresso freddo. We were happy to spend it for a once-in-a-lifetime celebration.

Unfortunately, it was all downhill from there. The final straw was having our bill tossed over a shoulder onto the couch, after multiple requests for it.

Save your money, folks. You can buy a whole lot of yummy gelato for 12 euros, and enjoy it without the aggravation of rude and dismissive wait staff.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cottage_Gardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calogero_Incorvaia, Direttore at Caffe Gilli, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Thanks for the review. we are pleased that you have chosen Caffe Gilli for your celebration. also pleased that you enjoyed our location and pastries. Sorry if the service was not up to par. Thanks for the tip. Calogero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Their face and gesture is so rude. We waited long time. Also we call staff twice. They did not care us. So bad :(

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank HyeBeenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calogero_Incorvaia, Direttore at Caffe Gilli, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Thanks for the review and advisory. We are working hard to improve our services. However, we hope that it will come back to us. Calogero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Gilli also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Caffe Gilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.