We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Desserts and Excellent Customer Service”
Review of Caffe Gilli

Caffe Gilli
Ranked #586 of 2,744 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $47 - $1,166
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Duomo
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing Desserts and Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We absolutely loved the desserts at Gilli and came back twice in two days just to enjoy the mille fleur (which, in our opinion, is the best dessert there). Moreover, we had an excellent waiter, David, with whom we chatted and joked around with. All in all, both the food was excellent, and the enjoyable customer service really helped to make our short trip to Florence all more memorable!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lunchmonkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    549
    253
    164
    180
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Aperitive”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great location for evening drinks and snacks, service was excellent and not too pricey. Location is great on the Pizza

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 742john79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhodes
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

we had a tiramisou to go which costs 2 euro. it tasted good but had better in Italy. if you sit down it costs 8 euro which is very expensive for a pastry not that big! buy it and sit on a bench at the piazza to eat like we did.

Helpful?
1 Thank tvd
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Florentine Bakery, Chocolate & Pastry Shop with Cafe”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

SUMPTUOUS ATMOSPHERIC DECOR: You'll walk in & notice the gorgeous tall mahogany cabinets displaying chocolate boxes that look like jewelry and liqueur bottles with swarovski crystals on them. This is a traditional old world confectionary shop & cappuccino cafe. It looks like a turn of the century tea room - one Anne of Green Gables would visit but a bit more elegant. Come to just take in the traditional Italian atmosphere & people watch.
WE STOOD & ENJOYED PASTRY & A CAPPUCCINO: If you purchase pastries & stay standing it will be much less expensive then if you sit at a table. That is just the way it is in Italy.
There is a dining room but we only stopped to enjoy a few treats in this beautiful environment.
BOUGHT EXQUISITE CHOCOLATES TO GO: The beautiful chocolates & candies on display were too hard to pass up. It is fun to choose a few pieces & take them with you. Don't be afraid to ask - the people in Florence are particularly friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bexpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Best place to have a dinner in Florence.great service,perfect location.ravioli was great and caffe creme was delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank Khatiazhvania
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Gilli also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Caffe Gilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing