We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Gilli

Caffe Gilli
Ranked #564 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $43 - $1,078
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Duomo
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The desserts looked so good in the window. We came to eat a light meal and a lot of desserts. We ordered the Tiramisu and a chocolate cake. The Tiramisu was like a drink, there was no cake. It was liquid on the bottom with a cream top with cocoa. The cake was suppose to have lave/fudge and they brought me a chocolate muffin. It was extremely overpriced. The hot cocoa was delicious though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    497
    229
    148
    161
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
“Worst service and a tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

You would think for the price you pay at this caffe you would at least have good service . With an average price of 4-5 euro for a coffee more than double the price of a coffee place around the area and a cover charge compulsory of 3 euro a head, the service was the worst we receive throughout our trip in Italy. Waiters and waitress was rude and only choose to be nice to selected tables. Avoid this place if possible unless you want this experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank untilted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My favourite café when I'm in the mood for something a little more old-school.
These guys have been here along time, and they know what they're doing.
The decor feels so classic with it's wooden bars and mirrors. The waiters are dressed in black and white and offer impeccable service.
And the coffee is quite simply perfect.
And the pastries are out of this world!
Yes, it is a little expensive. And is it worth it? You bet! You get to sit on beautiful Piazza della Republica and savour the best of Italian treats.
I need to go back there--now!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stockholmharriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cold and arrogant staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Another example of a tourist trap counting on the thin veneer of its past reputation to attract clients. The worst part of the experience at Caffe Gilli is the unfriendly staff that seem to take pleasure in their contempt for the very source of their livelihood, the customer!
And a word about the bathrooms at this supposedly elegant place: filthy! The seat on the toilet was missing and the whole place neglected and smelly. The owners should be ashamed of themselves, but just maybe the staff is a true reflection of their managers...After all, in business at least, the rot usually starts at the top.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daniel1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Cafe in Downtown Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I love coffee (roast our own etc.). We were on a mission for a great cappuccino and we found it here. The pastries and chocolates are outstanding as is the lunch. We also had some pre-dinner aperitifs here and found the service and food to be wonderful whether we stood at the espresso bar or ringside of the piazza. Yes, it is expensive but this is Florence and everything is expensive so you might as well get the best for your money!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diverdiva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Gilli also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Caffe Gilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing