We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tourist House Battistero
Ranked #122 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at the Tourist House Battistero for 7 nights in May 2013. We had a great time while staying there because of the AMAZING location and also the value. If you aren't bothered that no one is there for most of the day, then this could be the place for you. You can easily reach the staff via telephone though. They have cheap water in a fridge available via honors system. There is an espresso machine available for you to use as well. The internet can be spotty, but was usually working again within a couple minutes. Our room was huge, as was the bathroom. We had a kitchenette in our room, but I think you have to book the room well in advance (more than 6 months) to get that room. Overall you can't beat the location, and the value was worth sacrificing a few amenities, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 186 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location and price of this B&B can't be beat, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B, but you should be aware that the door to the B&B is always locked, and once booked, I was given the code to enter the B&B. They identify the rooms by placing animal pictures on the door, and we were in the CAT room. The room was good size and the bathroom was good. I did not see anyone until the next morning when I went outside to check the weather. The owners were sitting at the desk doing some paper work, and 30 minutes later they were gone, and not to be seen again. There is a note on the front door to say that they are located at there other hotel 5 minutes away, and if you need anything to just call. I am a very independent traveler, and usually enjoy being left alone, but it is nice to ask some questions like restaurants to go eat, or maybe help with travel arrangements. Overall, the place was nice. The rooms are not very soundproof from the other guests and the locks are very loud on the doors. We could hear the conversations of people in our adjacent room. I would stay here again simply for it's price and location, but people should be aware that you are basically on your own when you arrive.

Room Tip: Be sure to get the code to the door before you arrive. Very important to get into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oceanadventurerPADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed one week in January. The location is excellent, 5 minutes from the train station and in the very historical center, right near the Duomo.All shopping streets are around.The best u can have. In my room was very quiet at night and it was small like kitchen area but there is only one room like that, So if u want it , require in advance. Was well equipted with all nessesary things for cooking! Has microwave also.Wif Fi is free, there is and free safe box. My room was very big , considering that i stayed a week the seize was important. Very big barthroom, clean and warm. Very cozy and friendly and nice owners. Would choose it again with no doubt and the price is very good either.There is no breakfast but lots of cafe near.

Room Tip: If u want the room with kitchen are require directly through the site by email
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katerina1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

You will be hard pressed to find a better value room in Florence than the one at Tourist House Battistero. The room is just about 8-10 minutes away from the train station, is fully air-conditioned, big in size, clean, comfortable and comes with it's own mini kitchen with small fridge, stove and all.

To top it off, we were met with Marco (the son of the owners) during our stay and he was super duper helpful all the way. He also gave us a good recommendation to eat at Ristorante La Martinicca which turned out to be one of the best valued dinners we had during our europe trip.

You might want to note that there isn't always someone at the counter "manning" the place all the time. It was fine with us as it gave the place a nice privacy, and the owners can easily be reached in their other hotel just a phonecall away.

All in all, great stay. And thanks Marco for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piggieness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Tourist house Battistero is an ideal place to stay if you want to visit the beautiful city of Florence. Very close to the train station and only a few steps away from the main attractions of the city such as Duomo, Battistero, Ufficci, etc. The owner of the hotel is a vey polite man ready to help and to give directions where to go and what to do. The hotel is on the 1st floor of an old building with a view to the via dei Ceretanni one of the most commercial streets in Florence. The room is nice and clean with a spacious bathroom. It has free Wi Fi and what i liked the most is that it has coffee facilities in the room and in the lobby too where you can make your coffee for only 0,50 euros. Absolutely reccomended for visitors who want to explore the city of Florence and they dont want to pay a fortune for a good sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here, his 2 grown sons stayed here also in a large, separate room. It had the perfect location, just yard from the Duomo. The staff was very accomodating when I had to shuffle a reservation snafu. I can't say enough how great it was to stay here, loved every moment on it, so convenient to wander around at night and then be able to walk back to our beds. The one small problem we encountered was that it could be a little noisy, depending on your neighbor, but luckily the one screaming baby was at the other end of the building and we didn't have to hear much of him. The espresso machine near the desk was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: My husband's sons had a room that had a small kitchen in it, that was a complete surprise to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank losita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The location is great with 15 minutes walking distance to train station, 5 minutes walk to leather market and Mercato Centrale and 1 minute walk to Florence Catheral (The Duomo). The hotel is located at first floor and there are many boutiques downstairs along the street. The owner show great hospitality. The room is clean, comfortable and spacious. It is the best accommodation I'd stayed during our trip in Italy. I would definitely stay in this hotel again in my next Florence trip. High recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seline_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,847 reviews
Uffizi
Pontevecchio Relais
Pontevecchio Relais
#85 of 326 in Florence
89 reviews
San Lorenzo
Tourist House Vittorio Ricci
Tourist House Vittorio Ricci
#109 of 659 in Florence
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,059 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 326 in Florence
2,573 reviews
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist House Battistero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist House Battistero

Address: Via dei Cerretani 1, 50100, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $67 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tourist House Battistero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing