We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CATALINA B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Le Contesse Florence
Ranked #128 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Constanta, Romania
1 review
“CATALINA B”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I choose this location because is very close to the main attraction of the city.Only 10 minutes from the dom or more if you stop and look at the shops along the way or eat a gelato .Is very close to the train station santa maria novella too.Take bus number 23 and get off at nicollini.Great B&B .Very friendly owners.Big nice rooms.Too return next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CATALINA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristina Y, Owner at B&B Le Contesse Florence, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you, Catalina! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review ur property and are glad you found your stay enjoyable. Hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    58
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
91
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Nice, spacious and clean room. The owners are super friendly and willing to answer your questions and give you tips. The distance to the walking areas is 10 meters away ande verything is near.. The place is easy to find if you know that there are red and black numbers on the streets. Very happy that we stayed here

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andrecontre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristina Y, Owner at B&B Le Contesse Florence, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much, Andrea! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay! All the best, Hristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

When visiting Florence this is the place to be. Nicely situated at the edge of the center in a very cosy neighourhood. 15 minutes walk from all the highlights and not the rush of it. Nice room, nice people and a supermarket opposite (always handy). No use to look any further. You will not find a better place. At least not for this price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristina Y, Owner at B&B Le Contesse Florence, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review, Hans! We are very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a great new year ahead, Hristina&Ari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great B&B, the owners and staff were awesome and treated me like family. The room was spacious, vey clean and comfortable with a private bathroom. Great location and walking distance from anywhere in the city. I would stay here again on my next vist to Florence.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.All rroms have airconditioning units. Also, be aware you have to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristina Y, Owner at B&B Le Contesse Florence, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I appreciate the nice words, Lisa and am glad you felt comfortable with us. I absolutely enjoyed having you at the house. It felt like having an old friend stay with us. We would love to have you back if you are again in Florence! Happy holidays, Hristina&Ari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Neat and clean B&B within walking distance of most tourist areas. This little B&B seems a little difficult to find initially with a small placard on the wall (at least it had a sign- unlike our last accommodation). The owners are friendly and helpful. The rooms was quite large. Overlooking the street, the room was quite noisy. However, we shut the windows and switched on the air con at night. The owners are installing double glazing during the off season. Delightful restaurant with interesting meals across the corner. ATM right outside and supermarket across the the street. Continental breakfast, toast, cereal, juice & yoghurt served with freshly brewed coffee or tea. Very well priced for the budget conscious without losing the comforts of home. Deal directly with owner when making the booking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccernerds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristina Y, Owner at B&B Le Contesse Florence, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, Janine and sorry we could not meet in person! We have already changed all windows and I must say there are no more street noise problems. I am very glad you felt comfortable at our property and hope you enjoyed Florence! Best wishes, Hristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The room was very pretty, and the bed was massive and very comfortable. The manager was very helpful and pleasant. However, the noisiness of the central location is not ideal for light sleepers, and our room also had a slight mosquito problem. Breakfast was also not the best. Overall, though a, comfortable, clean and central place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristina Y, Owner at B&B Le Contesse Florence, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Bea,

Thank you very much for this review! I am glad your experience was generally positive. Apologies for the sleep problems you encountered, but, unfortunately, such issues are hard to completely avoid in a centrally located property. We are, however, taking measures and changing all windows this month to eliminate the noise issues. Regarding mosquitoes, we do have a lot of them in Florence due to the proximity of the river Arno. All of our rooms, however, are equipped with anti mosquito plugs and tablets which are located inside your night stand. I am sorry you did not inform us you were experiencing such problems, in order for us to show you the tablets. Once again, I appreciate your comments, and hope you would consider staying with us again in the future!

Greetings, Hristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Le Contesse is a nice B&B with a cozy, homey feeling. You can really picture yourself staying as an Italian family's house guest. The owner is also very friendly and helpful, and it is all very clean.

The B&B is also very well-located, right next to the pedestrian area which comprises the historic centre. Most of the main locations are a short walk away, yet the area around the B&B is not very touristy, more of an area where locals go out to eat or have a drink. For example, a pizzeria very popular among locals is just a stone's throw away.

However, the downsides are fairly severe, in my opinion.
First of all, it is very, very noisy. Our room had windows to a small alley, and you could hear the noise from the adjacent road amplified. While it was fairly ok from 2am to 5am, the rest of the time it was impossible to leave the window open, and at around 6am delivery and rubbish collection were sure to wake us up both nights. It also didn't help that the curtains were insufficient - very thin material that hardly helped to keep any light out.

Secondly, one of the two windows should not be opened (it wouldn't close properly and took the combined efforts of both me and my partner to close it), and the bathroom was really tiny, making it hard to move without bumping into the sink, tiny shower cabin or the toilet.

And finally, the breakfast. While we wouldn't expect much breakfast-wise in Italy to start with and the "selection" was actually fairly wide for an Italian pension (bread, croissants, two types of cereal, butter, two types of jam, yoghurt, juice, milk and coffee), I found it very sad that the offered products were the cheapest of the cheap (particularly the juiceboxes...)
While Italy does not boast much of a breakfast culture, it would have been nice if at least some fresh fruit would have been offered or other kinds of Italian delicacies. The place is called "Bed and Breakfast" after all. A slightly more attention to the breakfast part could be nice. The coffee was good, though.

In short: A fairly good place for visiting Florence on a budget as many affordable places are located much further away from the historic centre. However, some improvements should be made, especially considering the quality of sleep and the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niris_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristina Y, Owner at B&B Le Contesse Florence, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Sirin,

Thank you for the extensive review. I am sorry to hear, however, that your stay was not as enjoyable as I would have liked it to be. Thank you for mentioning the window situation. We did take note of that shortly after we took over the property and have actually made plans to change all windows in November, after the season is over. We hope that the new double glass windows will eliminate a big part of the noise as well. Unfortunately, being in the city center has its downsides and street noise is one of them. I guess when opting for a city holiday, one has to decide whether being walking distance from all city attractions, restaurants and shops is more important than sleeping in quiet surroundings or the other way around, and pick lodging accordingly. I assure you it is quite hard to have both in the center of the city, especially if you want to sleep with the windows open.

As for breakfast, to be perfectly honest with you, as long as we are in our current price range, I am not planning on changing a thing for several reasons. Firstly, we have gotten a lot more positive comments regarding our breakfast offering than negative ones. As you remarked yourself, breakfast in a B&B in Italy usually consists of a croissant, cappuccino and maybe some pre-packaged rusks and jam. The reason being that, by definition, a B&B is a simple place of lodging offering the basics one might need when staying away from home. It does not provide the services and amenities one expects to get in a 3 or 4 star hotel, hence the reduced price offered. As explained in detail by you, we are trying to provide a bit more variety on the breakfast table, but are, naturally, constrained by our own budget, namely that of a B&B property. Hence, offering freshly squeezed fruit juice and the best of the best of Italian produce is clearly not an option and, I am certain, neither is an expectation of our clients. What we have on the breakfast buffet are products that a lot of Italian families purchase on a daily basis for their own consumption. As for ‘cheapest of the cheap’, at least here in Italy, Kellogg’s Corn Flakes and Coco Pops, for example, are not the cheapest cereal one could find in the cereal section and are both popular and well-liked products.

In short, I greatly appreciate your review, as I am always eager to learn about my clients’ experience at Le Contesse. In turn, I hope my comments above will help you evaluate your needs and expectations better next time you look for accommodation, so that you are not unnecessarily disappointed by your choice later. Accommodation classifications are made for a reason and one cannot expert to pay the price for one and receive the amenities and service of another!

With my personal best regards,
Hristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#62 of 422 in Florence
209 reviews
Hotel Bologna
#139 of 422 in Florence
323 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Bodoni
Hotel Bodoni
#174 of 422 in Florence
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Piazza del Carmine
Piazza del Carmine
#295 of 675 in Florence
33 reviews
B&B Firenze Citta
#183 of 675 in Florence
39 reviews
Sognando Firenze
#51 of 675 in Florence
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Le Contesse Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Le Contesse Florence

Property: B&B Le Contesse Florence
Address: Via Giosue' Carducci 3, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Le Contesse is situated in the heart of the historic center, between the areas of Sant'Ambrogio and Santa Croce. Most major attractions-the Santa Croce church, the Duomo, Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi gallery, Ponte Vecchio, La Academia-are only a short walk away. All of our rooms are cleaned daily and equipped with a private bathroom, TV, wireless internet, air-conditioning and bathroom amenities. A complimentary Italian breakfast is available daily in our common eating area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your B&B Le Contesse Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing