We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silla Hotel
Ranked #67 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Holden, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location in the Oltrarno. Just a short walk from major sites in Florence, but away from major street traffic. Neighborhood has a variety of local eating places within minutes. Nice neighborhood feel. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    433
    78
    19
    11
See reviews for
256
545
60
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This place was perfect. The service was excellent from the very attentive staff. Enjoyed the terrace/bar area on more than one occasion. Chainti was very reasonable. Would spend more on quality though. Pretty well located making the city seem like a smaller city. Our room was not huge but it was clean and the bathroom was decent size with a tub over shower. I would totally recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiamoItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel Silla was a welcome relief! When we arrived My sister had been assigned a large, light room and we had been assigned a small room looking directly at a hedge, We were moved after the first night to a great room. As with many small hotels - room sizes can vary alot! A Rick Steves travel group was also staying in the hotel. They had free WI-FI which is not common in many places in Italy. The breakfast was great. The front desk was very helpful as we had paid for a city tour that was cancelled due to the European bike race being in town and several road closures.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skibum22180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Wow this room was huge even by American standards let alone European standards. I had a double room all to myself and it was perfect for a week in Florence. Plenty of dresser and closet space to unpack. Big bathtub to soak those aching feet and legs after a day of sightseeing. On the other side of the Arno so quieter, but still within walking distance of all the sights. Good coffee shops and restaurants right in the same area. Escalator so don't have to climb stairs. Breakfast good; lovely patio. Staff all super helpful, especially for a solo woman traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Walton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here three nights in early Oct 2013 as part of a Rick Steves tour. The location is perfect, within 15 to 20 minutes walking distance to all the major attractions of Florence and in a quiet neighborhood across the river from the main part of the city. It's also very close to the Piazza Michaelangelo (superb view of the entire city) and very good local restaurants. The hotel also offers free Wi-Fi which was very convenient. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. There are several elevators available as well, providing access to all of the floors.

Our room was very large with a nice queen sized bed (a little on the firm side) and a huge bathroom, with both a tub/shower and shower stall. The room also had a small fridge, large wardrobes, with a hair dryer, shampoo, and soap in the bathroom. We had hot water and good water pressure our entire stay. It overlooked the small street behind the hotel and was really quiet.

The breakfast was very good with numerous choices – cereal, baked items, cold cuts/cheeses, yogurt, juice, fresh fruit and individually prepared coffee, cappuccino, or hot tea. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Florence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKB1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Silla was a complete disappointment. I spent months planning a two-week Italy trip for my sister's 40th birthday. Upon arriving at Silla we were told that due to construction they needed to move us to another property down the street. It was supposed to be for 2 of the 4 nights but we heard nothing. Then as were we leaving on the morning of what would have been our last night's stay, we were told we needed to move because they had someone else coming and that we need to go back to Silla. We ran back up to pack up our room (in about 10 minutes since we were on our way to a tour) and they moved our luggage. We got back to Silla at about 6 pm and found ourselves stuck in a room right off the lobby where we heard every conversation in the lobby and were woken up by a tour group coming down for breakfast at 7 am. A breakfast that was included but we were not told about. The hotel we had been bumped to was residential efficiency units so there was no breakfast included and since we were not told we could go to Silla for breakfast, we spent about 20-30 euro per day for breakfast! Needless to say, I was disappointed and other than the initial apology from them, it seemed as though they were unconcerned and gave no consideration for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie07430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsilla, Owner at Silla Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Stephanie07430,
I'm sorry your experience in Florence wasn't at the level you expected, but I would like to stress that we did not "bump" you. An unexpected problem caused by constructions made by our neighbours happened, this is true, during Florence highest season for this reason it was impossible for us to host you and we found an alternative at less than 250 meters from our hotel.

I'm also sorry we did not make sure you understood you could come and use all the hotel's facilities during all the days you booked.

Again I'm sorry that you did not have a good experience here at Hotel Silla, I invite you to come and stay again with us so we could demonstrate which is the level of the service we provide.

Best Regards,
Claudio Belotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights in early Oct 2013, and found the location to be perfect. Quiet and near very good local restaurants recommended by staff. The wifi made life easier for us to navigate and make reservations for sights. Room was comfortable. The "towels" are odd and barely absorb water but we made do. The breakfast is very good with many choices. Highly recommend as a good place to stay. The staff, Fabio, Laura and Ravin, were incredibly helpful with restaurant suggestions and even printed out tickets we reserved on line. Nice touch of having visitors leave books and take as desired.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Property: Silla Hotel
Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing