We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silla Hotel
Ranked #60 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
long island, ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent 12 days in Italy this past July (2012). For 4 nights we stayed at the Hotel Silla. The room was the largest we had during our Italian vacation. It was not what you would call charming, however the furnishings provided us with the most storage for our 2 suitcases of clothes than any place we stayed! Everything was clean and well maintained. If you are looking for a hotel that provides luxury, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a clean pleasant place to stay - this is it! The staff was so very accommodating. As a matter of fact, they made a reservation for me at a restaurant that I found on tripadvisor months before my trip! We did it all via the internet. One day we did a wine tasting tour to the Chianti region. When we returned with a bottle of wine and meat, cheeses and fruit from a local market, they gave us flatware, plates, glasses and opened our bottle of wine for us! We enjoyed dinner on the terrace. We found the location to be amazing. Everything was an easy walk from here. the hotel was right across from the Arno River and we were able to access everything! I would recommend the Hotel Silla to anyone looking for a great home base during your stay in Florence!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    411
    74
    15
    10
See reviews for
239
511
55
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here with a companion recently for 4 nights. It was a very clean hotel, and very quiet. The room was adequate, though the one thing I would complain about were the towels! I don't normally get picky about such a small thing but it was a bit disappointing that the towels weren't the usual fluffy toweling sort, it was like drying yourself with a large tea towel, very strange, though it was only a small irritation, not a major issue. Other than that the hotel was perfect for seeing the sights, quite a few restaurants around as well. The bar was not very welcoming, it usually closed very early and we had to get someone off reception if we wanted a drink, but again that wasn't a major problem. Breakfast was fine too. I would recommend the hotel as a good fairly priced option if you want a nice clean hotel well situated for the sights of Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, ga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel Silla sits across from the Arno river facing a small park. It is prefectly located to anything you might want to do in the historic Florence city center. The room was the largest we've enjoyed at any time in Europe. The amenities were few, and the furnishings were simple. However the room was clean and neat, as was the bath. Our balcony overlooked a narrow street with little traffic. The room was solid and quiet. The staff was pleasant, courteous, and helpful. The bed was firm but comfortable and the A/C worked flawlessly. Wireless internet from the room was sketchy but usable. We loved this hotel more than any other on our recent tour of Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopefully
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Location is just across from Arno River; within walking distance to Ponte Vecchio. Rooms are great and extremely clean. Breakfast was served on their beautiful terrace and included fruit, pastries, cheeses, and ham. Hotel has bar and laundry service. Lots of great places to eat and drink close by.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcordero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

As we never been to Florence in past ,this hotel provide us everythin you wish for.Located in the best spot of the city,it had a very good rooms along with old style high windows.Buffet breakfast was good and all the staff were very very hospitable and friendly.rooms are very clean and confortable.All the piazzas,landmarks are within few minutes walking distances. The area is popular with students and you will be able to see lot of night life around the hotel.As the hotel is directly opposite to the river,strolling at the night time makes it perfect.in all me and my wife had a lovely time and we intened to stay here whensoever we come next time to florence.Top Tip is travel in August which is hot and sunny and night are ordinary cooler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buggam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n eastham ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have been enjoying our stays at Hotel Silla since (my wife tells me) 2000! Six visits(sorry Jani says seven).We continue to return for all the best reasons 1st the staff, the best ,warm, helpful ,knowledgeable,accomodating and rapidly responsive.2nd clean-clean and comfortable
3rd Location- Location-Location. One bridge from the Ponte Vecchio -But, altrarno, so, very close to all Centro Storico Florence has to offer.We are going back as soon as we can! I would go tomorrow -but I have to get the candy packets ready for Halloween first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pfrovetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having been to Florence before, I knew that this time I wanted to stay on the "quiet" side of the Arno river--referred to as the "Otro Arno." After searching on Trip Advisor--and reading the positive reviews-- I was pleased to find the Silla Hotel. My husband and I stayed 3 nights in late September and were impressed with the accommodations, the staff and the setting. The location is a short walk to everything a Firenze tourist wants to see. Besides being less crowded and noisy, a plus is that the area around the Silla retains a more "neighborhood" feel than the other side of the river---what we prefer when we travel. There are very good restaurants within a short walk of the Silla and we were happy that they attract some locals as well as tourists from other parts of Europe--not just Americans. The Hotel Silla staff are all first rate--from the helpful, pleasant front desk, to the lovely breakfast room attendants who bring cappuccinos on request, and the kind housekeepers who greet you in the hallway.
I recommend the Silla to anyone seeking a quiet location, comfortable and clean rooms, great staff and excellent value in Firenze.

Room Tip: We stayed on a high floor, with a room overlooking the terrace. When leaves are off the trees, woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ORsightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#57 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#143 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Property: Silla Hotel
Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing