We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Oltrano is the Place to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silla Hotel
Ranked #66 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Thomasville, ga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oltrano is the Place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel Silla sits across from the Arno river facing a small park. It is prefectly located to anything you might want to do in the historic Florence city center. The room was the largest we've enjoyed at any time in Europe. The amenities were few, and the furnishings were simple. However the room was clean and neat, as was the bath. Our balcony overlooked a narrow street with little traffic. The room was solid and quiet. The staff was pleasant, courteous, and helpful. The bed was firm but comfortable and the A/C worked flawlessly. Wireless internet from the room was sketchy but usable. We loved this hotel more than any other on our recent tour of Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    425
    76
    18
    11
See reviews for
248
533
58
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hopefully
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Location is just across from Arno River; within walking distance to Ponte Vecchio. Rooms are great and extremely clean. Breakfast was served on their beautiful terrace and included fruit, pastries, cheeses, and ham. Hotel has bar and laundry service. Lots of great places to eat and drink close by.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcordero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

As we never been to Florence in past ,this hotel provide us everythin you wish for.Located in the best spot of the city,it had a very good rooms along with old style high windows.Buffet breakfast was good and all the staff were very very hospitable and friendly.rooms are very clean and confortable.All the piazzas,landmarks are within few minutes walking distances. The area is popular with students and you will be able to see lot of night life around the hotel.As the hotel is directly opposite to the river,strolling at the night time makes it perfect.in all me and my wife had a lovely time and we intened to stay here whensoever we come next time to florence.Top Tip is travel in August which is hot and sunny and night are ordinary cooler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buggam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n eastham ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have been enjoying our stays at Hotel Silla since (my wife tells me) 2000! Six visits(sorry Jani says seven).We continue to return for all the best reasons 1st the staff, the best ,warm, helpful ,knowledgeable,accomodating and rapidly responsive.2nd clean-clean and comfortable
3rd Location- Location-Location. One bridge from the Ponte Vecchio -But, altrarno, so, very close to all Centro Storico Florence has to offer.We are going back as soon as we can! I would go tomorrow -but I have to get the candy packets ready for Halloween first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pfrovetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having been to Florence before, I knew that this time I wanted to stay on the "quiet" side of the Arno river--referred to as the "Otro Arno." After searching on Trip Advisor--and reading the positive reviews-- I was pleased to find the Silla Hotel. My husband and I stayed 3 nights in late September and were impressed with the accommodations, the staff and the setting. The location is a short walk to everything a Firenze tourist wants to see. Besides being less crowded and noisy, a plus is that the area around the Silla retains a more "neighborhood" feel than the other side of the river---what we prefer when we travel. There are very good restaurants within a short walk of the Silla and we were happy that they attract some locals as well as tourists from other parts of Europe--not just Americans. The Hotel Silla staff are all first rate--from the helpful, pleasant front desk, to the lovely breakfast room attendants who bring cappuccinos on request, and the kind housekeepers who greet you in the hallway.
I recommend the Silla to anyone seeking a quiet location, comfortable and clean rooms, great staff and excellent value in Firenze.

Room Tip: We stayed on a high floor, with a room overlooking the terrace. When leaves are off the trees, woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ORsightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Didn't quite know what to expect from the hotel, since it was part of a European travel package. Surprisingly the double room at the Silla Hotel was clean, spacious, quiet and close to Piazza Michelangelo. Even though it's located in a neighborhood across the bridge, it was nice to be walking distance AWAY from all the tourist traps in Florence and enjoy the neighborhood hang outs - local bars, restaurants, parks and artist shops not usually frequented by tourists. I would choose Hotel Silla again for a great stay in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwsmith_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My family of 4 stayed here in August 2011. There are very few choices if you want a "quad" room in Florence and the rest of Italy. The room we had was very large with a double and two single beds. It was clean and bright with a decent size bathroom. I can't comment on the size or condition of other quest rooms.The hotel is in a great location for tourists but probably not so desirable for business travelers. It is on a quiet street about 1/2 block south of the Arno river and about 2 blocks from the Ponte Veechio and about 4 blocks from the Duomo. There is a terrace overlloking the street where breakfast is served (mostly pastries- no eggs or pancakes etc. There was also (free) street parking on the area streets. I liked the hotel.3 stars is a fair rating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCOTT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#54 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#25 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#49 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Property: Silla Hotel
Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing