We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet area”
Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silla Hotel
Ranked #68 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“quiet area”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is a little unusual in its entranceway in that you pass through a courtyard and the reception is on the second floor. The staff members are welcoming, the breakfast on the terrace is good but by far the best thing about it is its location, quite close to the Ponte Vecchio and Plazza della Signoria with the copy of Michael Angelo’s “David”, where you will find plenty of restaurants and entertainment.

Advantages of Hotel Silla is not only is it close to the main tourist part of the town, just a few minutes walk by the river are that it is in a quiet area and it has a locked up car park. It costs extra but as I once had my car broken into in Florence I felt safer with it locked away from prying eyes.

The members of staff were welcoming and the breakfast on the terrace was something to look forward to. In view of the location I thought the hotel was good value as Florence is expensive and I was hampered with the car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hightrav3ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    436
    80
    20
    11
See reviews for
260
551
61
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, Calif.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first trip to Europe so not knowing anything a travel agent helped with reservations, Silla Hotel was perfect, I loved being on the other side of the river, and we were able to walk everywhere. Staff was very friendly, breakfast was good, lots of choices. It was very clean. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: I think facing the front of the hotel is more pleasant than the side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsilla, Owner at Silla Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks a lot for such a wonderful review, it is truly a pleasure to know guests are so satisfied by our service.
Come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a Kuoni holiday and the Hotel Silla was the second part of the trip from 17th - 20th September 2012. The hotel is situated away from the town and is therefore quite quiet, there is a roof terrace were in good weather breakfast is service. On arrival the room was set up as a double, we had ordered a twin but this was rectified immediately. The Continental breakfast offered a good choice. Staff were great and on the last night, following a day of heavy rain they ordered and collected pizza for us from a local pizzeria. Magic. The only downside, our rowdy friends from over the pond, who kept us awake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank She087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco,CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I had stayed at Hotel Silla on a bicycle tour 16 years ago. This time, I was there for a continuing education "conference". I liked the hotel the first time, but this time, I came away thinking that this will be my home base for every future visit to Firenze (one of my favorite destinations in Europe). Massimo and Claudio provided a warm welcome, and check-in was easy. The room was clean, reasonably large by standards of other hotels where I have stayed in Firenze and Roma, and even had a bathtub. The staff was friendly and efficient, and always ready to help. Breakfast (after the education sessions ended at 10:15 am) was wonderful, with fresh fruit, eggs, croissants, yogurt, cheese and salami, and of course, caffe (espresso) beverages on request. The outdoor terrace is a wonderful setting for breakfast, or to hang out over a glass of wine after a day of exploring the art, architecture and culture of Firenze. As a bonus, Massimo and Claudio were both very helpful in permitting me to utilize the phone to straighten out a problem that I had in obtaining cash. Oh yes, the location cannot be beaten, very close to the historic center, but on the quiet side of the Arno. I will definitely be back, and I recommend Hotel Silla highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfojws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsilla, Owner at Silla Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for such a kind review Mr. S.
We look forward to meeting you here in Florence again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Silla during our trip to Tuscany and it was really a great choice ( thanks to trip advisor reviews!!) , considering how expensive are the hotels of Florence. Silla was a gem, in a very convenient situation, with nice views (we had a room facing the park and the river, and the cute terrace as well). The terrace , full of flowers, was pretty. Unfortunately the breakfast was served inside during our stay, but you could have a coffee from the bar and sit out, which was lovely. The breakfast was ok, not something special, but it is a 3 star hotel, so don;t expect a breakfast of a 4 star.. The room and the bathroom were just splendid. I apprecciated too much the glass door of the shower and the plenty of shelfs to put my things on!!
So if you don't need a hotel with a lobby downstairs (Silla is in a palazzo and the reception is on the first floor) and you are not crazy with very rich breakfast, Silla is a great choice for Firenze, in a very good price for this expensive city!
Some tips now:
1) The neighbourhood is very nice with some restaraunts nearby ( in the same road and at the back) and many bars if you like having a dink at night . Is very close to Piazza Michelanzelo too (by foot, 15 min , through flowers!)
2)It is very close by foot and in Santa Croce (you just going along the Ponte Gracie) , a neighbourhood full of restaurants, very lively, where you could have a superb ice cream in Vivoli Bar (they say they make the best!!)
3)Use bus 23 for going to San Marco (the stop is just oppossite by the ponte Gracie), bus D for Santa Maria Novella Station, (same stop) and C3 ( the stop is close, to the vertical road to the left out of the hotel) for Santa Spirito , another great neighbourhood, charming and full of life. We even had there a live jazz concert for free in a small piazzalle!!
3) If you use then a rent car, it is very convenint to take it from Amendola Avenue , because is very easy to avoid ZTL from there , cross the Ponte S. Nicolo and go for the Chianti. We used the airport , but you could save some euros with the way I mentioned.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nbl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsilla, Owner at Silla Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for the lovely review, it is great to know you had such a pleasant stay at ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Loaction perfect for everything, hospitality and staff - first class. Could not believe our luck choosing this Hotel - not sure when EM stayed but the bedlinen was superb, service exceptional. The staff could not do enough for us, booking tickets, offering help and advice, providing a vase at 1am for the Roses my husband bought me!! Breakfast - great and a lovely al fresco location - even boiled eggs! We were comfortable, safe and pampered. We would return and recommend. Oh and those towels - well we actually liked them - weird (as we are not used to them) but practical and not heavy like some bath towels.

Cannot write this review without mentioning Luigi at the High Bar - literally turn left out of the Hotel and 100 yards on the left (the last bar) great food, at great prices and he was a great host. Inside the bar he provides an amazing selection of nibbles, free to just help yourself, even if you sit with one beer everyone is welcome to snack. Music, plenty of tables inside and out, he is a part owner of the bar so cares very much about each and every customer and he deserves a mention.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the alfresco dining area and street - it was peaceful and cool - the weather was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestLondonEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsilla, Owner at Silla Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, which of course, it was a joy to read!

And thank you for taking the time to answer to one of the other reviews, we really appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The best part about Silla? The parking. However when we first arrived we were slightly disappointed in the service. Turns out if the hotel is not in the ZTL area they cannot waive your parking fines for you. But the attitude of the receptionist made us rather unhappy when we first arrived. That aside, the parking was convenient and right next to the hotel.

There is a large supermarket right next to Silla, and pretty good and reasonably priced food nearby. The Ponte Vecchio, a beautiful bridge in Florence that has lots of shops in the day and street musicians at night is just a short walk away, and great for just quiet relaxation. The Uffizi was also just a short walk away. Getting to the San Lorenzo market was quick- just 5 minutes by taxi. Breakfast was simple but rather good.

Basic hotel, perfect for sleeping and having breakfast. Beds were comfortable though, and we had the large family room with three single beds and a king bed. The room was extremely spacious, and the beds were also comfortable. Dont expect too much as it is not immaculately decorated, but it was all in all a good stay and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chehui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Property: Silla Hotel
Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing