We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Ranked #213 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for four nights. The owner Inis and another young man who was there (whose name I don't know) were very organized and extremely helpful. The room was neat and clean. The hotel is a is two minute walk from the famous Piazza Del Signoria and we loved it. We could hear music playing below late into the night and it was so romantic. Florence was truly a magical experience for us and we will definitely be back one day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeetaChiangmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Por Santa Maria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 170 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

This little hotel was great for us . We had a private bath and shower, the room was very small but clean and very functional with big sink mirror and shelf for your stuff which we didn't have in our next bigger room hotel. Staff was nice and helpful brought us a pot due to our request for hot water to make soup, the location is fantastic right in the heart of town! The only problem was the heater that went off from time to time but they turned it up on request. Do not miss! Best location and very warm cozy feeling to the place

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank visit0r86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The location is perfect. The hotel is 20m from the main square Piazza Della Signoria (David statue) and just down the street from the Ponte Vecchio bridge. The staff were friendly and the room was clean. The noise as stated in other review is there but not as loud as i expected it to be so i hardly noticed it. The bathroom was clean and bed was comfy.

The hotel itself is on the 4th floor but there is a small lift. The hotel is on a small ally but it is not dark or unsafe. There is a nice small fruit shop/supermarket 2 doors away from the hotel, which I think is a must if you are trying to save some money on food as the city is very expensive.

All the landmarks and places of interest are within walking distance. I would recommend going to see the real statue of David in the Galleria dell' Accademia (the one in the square is a copy) as it is amazing.

If you are looking for meal deals there are some restaurants that do offers but they are usually away from the main squares and there is a supermarket opposite the Galleria dell' Accademia if you need supplies.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This place is a hidden gem. It isn't fancy, and the rooms are small, but clean. There is no breakfast offered. But you couldn't get any closer to the heart of Florence for such a reasonable price. You are literally steps from the Palazzo di la Signoria. The hosts were very helpful and I would certainly stay there again. Finding the place in the middle of the night might be a bit tricky - the door is in a tiny narrow alley, and the reception and rooms are up on the third floor. Here's what you do: Ring the door bell in the alley - it is clearly marked 'Por Santa Maria'. When they unlock the door, go straight in, past the stairs, to the back of the hall and there is an ancient elevator. The hotel's floor is clearly marked there. Don't do what I did and try to climb three flights of stairs - there are no lights, and not much indication that you are in the right place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cavallita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The website made the hotel look like a cute bed and breakfast. The rooms were small (typical for Italy, I know). The air conditioner didn't work and my friend had to go down the hall to go to the bathroom. The staff was very friendly, which made checking out the day we checked in a little sad. It just wasn't a place that you could escape and take a break if you wanted to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keri219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We only stayed 2 nights but finding this place was easy and it's right in the middle of everything. When we arrived it was my birthday, so my mother had emailed them asking to get me some flowers and champagne. This had all been arranged and was terribly kind of them! The room was lovely and had AC looking out over the square with an ensuite bathroom. It was all very clean and a friendly place. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hme1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed alone for 6 nights in a single room with shared bathroom. Could not fault anything! Thanks Ines and family for excellent service!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robynms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#200 of 411 in Florence
296 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#166 of 411 in Florence
272 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#142 of 411 in Florence
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#192 of 411 in Florence
413 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#127 of 411 in Florence
454 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#307 of 411 in Florence
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Por Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Por Santa Maria

Address: Via Calimaruzza 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $74 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Por Santa Maria 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Por Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Por Santa Maria Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing