We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Far but Great Breakfast and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Dante e Beatrice
Ranked #258 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2010

FIRST IMPRESSION
We took a cab to this hotel from the main Firenze train station. Glad we did, as we would not have noticed the teeny tiny text on the doorbell. This place is located on the third floor of the building. We had backpacks and were able to bring them up the stairs. If you have big luggage, be aware there is a lift but it's very old and you have to hold on to the button till you get to the third floor.

RECEPTION
The woman was very friendly, though spoke with limited English. She had a room at the end of the hall labelled PRIVATO for a reception desk. She provided us with a map and drew the walking route to most of the places. She was also able to recommend a local restaurant to us for an excellent first impression of Tuscan food. We received 3 keys: front door, reception glass door on 3rd floor, and room key.

THE ROOM
Great but chilly once out of the shower. The bed was very comfy and there were lots of mirrors to make the room look bigger. They had an excellent shower but the toilet grumbles sometimes after flush. Also the tap makes a wierd whistle too as if a bomb was going to fall on you but we aren't sure why the sounds. The window looks out to a beautiful garden. :)

LOCATION
It was a fair walk down Via Cavour to get downtown but at least it was direct and easy to navigate. We kept almost missing the doorbell sign on the way back. The closest transit stop was Marco Polo Piazza and that was 10 minutes away.

BREAKFAST
Their breakfast runs from 8-10am. We were expecting a cold breakfast of bread and cheese but they also had good boiled eggs. If you got there late, they were all eaten. On our third night there, however, the eggs were only half boiled. They had yogurt, cereal, milk, tea, an espresso machine, and good cheeses. Very yummy. The breakfast room was not very spacious at all. Sometimes when it's full, it gets very crampt.

THE LIFT
As mentioned, it is tucked in a corner past the stairs. You need to hold the button to summon it, then hold a button inside until you get to the floor you need. Not sure why there are numbers on the buttons, it might as well have been an up and down button. It felt like a questionable lift as the walls moved but the ceiling and floor didn't. We only used it on the last morning for luggage.

SUMMARY
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go there again. The breakfast makes it worthwhile and FREE WIFI

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Relais Dante e Beatrice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2010

I stayed at this place for 2 nights. Locating this place was a problem. Being a house converted to a hotel, do not expect a big name board. You have got to know the exact location and walk to the door. The room was spacious. The hosts are very nice, always ready to help. It is a long walk from train station and also to the main attractions. But the bus stop is just opposite to the hotel. Overall, this place gives a homely atmosphere and it is a good value for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Nice enough property, but bit a bit far from the center of it all. It's a bit of a walk to the Duomo, but has good connections to public transport.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbleBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Excellent service from our very helpful host Mina. Lovely clean, comfortable rooms. Outstanding breakfast. Convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italy4tes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We booked out 3 night break through Teletext holidays - we got a pretty good deal, but we were worried that the hotel was a little far out the way of all the attractions from a few reviews we'd read.
We got a coach trip from Pisa Airport which took about an hour which we both enjoyed as the scenery was amazing! When they dropped us off at the train station in Florence neither of us spoke a word at first, we were fascinated by the people, the culture and of course the buildings!
We were a little unsure where to go from there, and my partners sat nav wasn't working, we got a taxi and it took literally about two minutes! I seem to remember it was a little expensive for such a short trip but we didn't mind!
Upon arrival we buzzed at the door and were let in - we walked up the first flight of stairs and were really confused as there's no reception..people wrote some bad reviews about this but we thought it was quite funny!
We eventually came across a room at the end of the hall (once through the glass door, turn left and keep going) where the owner was.
At first we found it a little awkward because her English was terrible, however she turned out to be most helpful, she showed us on the map where the main attractions were and how to get there, we used this map throughout our time there and it was a massive help!

Room
Heavenly! The mottled blue walls and the golden bed sheets gave it a somewhat heavenly feel to the room, was clean, well kept (apart from the extractor fan attached by selotape) Our bedding was changed everyday, we didn't get towels straight away and we didn't bring any so we had to dry ourselves with the shower mat! Next day we found two giant bath towels in our room - Bless :)
Bed was really comfy, I think it was two singles together but it seemed like a king size it was massive - we really couldn't fault anything, shower was ok too..I think one of the doors didn't shut but we're not fussy.
Breakfast was basic, I ate the ham and bread rolls, Pate was to die for. My partner had coffee, coissants and chocolate spread. Cereal looked minging!
The hotel was about a 5 minute walk to the San Marco - what an amazing site! We knew little about Florence so every corner of every street was a surprise to us - we loved every minute of it.
When we carried on walking further down the same street we came across the Duomo..OH MY GOSH! What a fantastic building, definitely go and see it, although inside isn't as good as outside
We went to the palace of Lords on a tour through the secret passageways - MUST go to this, we found it really interesting. You dont need to hire bikes or take taxi's, everything is within walking distance and we quite enjoyed observing the way of life over there..so chilled and relaxed..Not like in the UK where everyones in a rush!

Food
We tried everything from spag bol, lasagne, Panini's seafood salad, and of course Pizza!
Literally anywhere you go it's good food.
One day we walked down to ' The Bridge' We ate lunch by the river. Get this..one seafood salad, a Panini and a bottle of water 50 Euros'!!!!!!!! Extortionate, but we knew it was the norm
On the last night, we bought a few bottles of wine and sat on the balcony out of the back to watch the sun set, though I got some nasty mozzi bites it was the perfect ending to our beautiful time away.

Conclusion
Although we spent allot, we loved every minute of it - we WILL definitely go back. I wouldn't mind staying at Dante and Beatrice again, though I think it's nice to try different places

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Simmion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed here last week. We thought it was great and would recommend it. We did however find it difficult to check in due to it being located on the 3rd floor of an apartment complex. Our recommendation in order to have an easy check-in, is to arrange a specific time-window via email in advance.
The morning breakfasts were set up nicely in one of the rooms with pastries, cereal, yogurt, hardboiled eggs…just enough.
Our room was large, quiet, and very clean. We were also provided with free wi-fi which was a great perk. At the Hilton you had to pay for internet access per hour.
Dante e Beatrice is walking distance to everything—very convenient. Walking from the train station with luggage can be awkward due to all the cobblestones, but that would be the case for any location in Florence.
The staff was very kind and helpful, making our stay quite pleasant.
Enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

All good...stay there! Easy walking to major tourist places and fab shops and markets. Best leathergoods to buy and great food close by...with "David" just down the road! We had a good 3 day stay in a 2 room suite, with 3 generatons including a 7 month old baby. Staff were fantastic in helping with access to refrigerator/kitchen etc....complimentary brekkie included cereals, fruit salad, rolls, croissants, french toast, jams, pate, cream cheese, ham and mozzarella, fruit juices, coffee/tea etc...luggage elevator was a real help too!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banpokies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#150 of 411 in Florence
453 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#138 of 411 in Florence
724 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Bodoni
Hotel Bodoni
#165 of 411 in Florence
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1900 Artevita
#60 of 656 in Florence
457 reviews
Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo
#141 of 656 in Florence
334 reviews
Il Grillo di Firenze
#13 of 656 in Florence
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Dante e Beatrice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Dante e Beatrice

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 90, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $54 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Dante e Beatrice 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais Dante e Beatrice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Dante e Beatrice Hotel Florence
Relais Dante e Beatrice Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing