We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Main Attraction!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuscany Bike Tours

Tuscany Bike Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tuscany bike tours is a service provided by Active tours Italy S.r.l. which offers day long bike tours in the Chianti wine region of Tuscany. 10am-5pm. We visit a 12th century castle, taste their wine and oil and cycle through some of the most beautiful countryside imaginable. A great way to orientate yourself, mix and socialize with like minded people while you travel. Come join us, you'll have a blast!
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Main Attraction!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our favorite event, hands down. Keith is awesome, as is his crew. You need not be an expert bike rider to do this event, you can be a novice. On the first half of the ride, we went kind of slow (I am in shape and preferred a bit of a challenge). But the second half, they let me open it up by myself and go all the way ahead..... the final hill is grueling.

We stopped for lunch at a large Italian restaurant, it was very good food, plenty to eat, lost of water (it was a very hot day). The tour of the olive oil place was really cool with absolutely stunning views of the countryside.

Again, Keith and his gang absolutely love what they do and it shows. They will do anything for you, they will pick you up at any point you want, and they are all true gentlemen!
Great Experience; thanks!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,294
    53
    6
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had the BEST time on this bike tour. We immediately hit it off with Keith (the owner) and all the guys who work on the tour are great. The sit down lunch in the middle was more than we expected. There were some hills, but the sag wagon can take you up when needed. Everyone is very accomodating. We had a great time!

Keith even hands out a printed map of Florence at the end with his favorite "Go To Places". We found the gelato place that day! Grazie Mille!

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Florence at night, on a bike - bit scary, but an absolute delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were a little hesitant about doing this tour - riding a bike through the streets of Florence in the evening, but it was so much fun! We started our tour by watching the sunset at Piazzale Michelangelo and were treated to a beautiful vista of Florence at night. Then we rode through the city while our excellent guide, Mario, talked about the history of the various sites. We even enjoyed gelato. Lavender flavour is just beautiful - try it!

One small suggestion - I think a little more time needs to be taken to fitting the bike for the rider. My seat wasn't quite right. Also, if the guide could perhaps carry a small pouch of tools to adjust the bike during the ride, that would have been helpful. Note, no one wears helmets, and the streets are very busy. But Mario was expert at helping us navigate through them.

But overall, highly recommend this tour - and this wonderful tour company!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We took the one day bicycle tour. It was a nice break from the busy city of Florence to go out to the countryside. The trip was very well organized. Well maintained material, safety before fun. And the fun was great. These guys are hilarious. The route they chose is very well to manage by anyone that can sit on a bike. Two things that could make is perfect, in my opinion. First, the time on and off the bike could be shifted some more towards the former. And second, it would be nice to ride some more the smaller paths where cars don´t come.
But anyway, it is a day of good fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ECJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great opportunity to explore and experience Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I did the Tuscany Bike Tours and it was a great experience. The tour guides were great and the group was a lot of fun. The views were amazing, especially from the top of the castle. Very well organized and definitely a worthwhile experience if you have a day to explore just outside the central city of Florence. My girlfriend and I are both casual bikers (neither own a bike), but the bike tour was manageable for us and the big hill at the end of the bike tour is a great challenge for any biker (or the shuttle bus is available for anyone), which made the trip a great experience for all levels.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany Bike Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tuscany Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing