We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our time in Florence!”
Review of Tuscany Bike Tours

Tuscany Bike Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tuscany bike tours is a service provided by Active tours Italy S.r.l. which offers day long bike tours in the Chianti wine region of Tuscany. 10am-5pm. We visit a 12th century castle, taste their wine and oil and cycle through some of the most beautiful countryside imaginable. A great way to orientate yourself, mix and socialize with like minded people while you travel. Come join us, you'll have a blast!
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highlight of our time in Florence!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a great time on this tour, and felt that it was excellent value for money. The guides were great and the tour itself was lovely too. Some of the journey is a bit hard going if you haven't cycled in a while and aren't that fit, but this can't be faulted because it is clearly advertised and they have a van driving with the group the whole time in case anyone gets tired.

The wine and olives oil tour and tasting was fascinating and you get a chance to buy the produce once the tasting is done. There are 100ml bottles of extra virgin olive oil which make great souvenirs.

Lunch that is provided is pretty good, but word of caution: don't eat too much or else the next leg of the cycle will be pretty taxing! :)

All in all a great day, and a perfect way to see the Tuscan country-side if you are travelling the area without a car. The guides are also more than happy to take pictures of everybody, so as a couple, that was nice for us.

Thank you Tuscany Bike Tours! We have your stickers put up and are showing off our water bottles in work :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChessieHorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,343
    54
    6
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had such a great time on this tour. The staff is very entertaining and passionate about Florence and Tuscany. The wine tour was interesting, the wine was delicious and we met a bunch of great people. The scenery on the bike route is incredible.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great bike tour! The highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I went on the bike tour during a 1 month trip through Europe. It was the by far the best part of our entire vacation! The guides were all very friendly and informative. The bikes were in great condition and the staff took time to adjust everyone's bike to suit them. The views from the castle and along the bike ride were absolutely amazing! There were nice periodic breaks to stop and take pictures or just grab some water. (You get a nice reusable water bottle before the tour starts) Lunch was quite filling and enjoyable. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone looking for a nice bike ride through the countryside and a very enjoyable day in Tuscany!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank missliss1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see beautiful Tuscany!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very well organized and friendly bike touring company. Enjoyed talking with Keith, Alessandro and Lorenzo are terrific. We thought the castle tour was interesting and the wine delicious. The ride was very doable and the route well thought out. Would highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank planningobsessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun day!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Did the Bike tour with 5 friends, total number on the ride was +/- 25. A fun way to see the Chianti region, including wine & olive oil tasting. The lunch provided was excellent. The bike ride itself was more challenging that we originally thought, but we all completed the bike ride under our own power. They had a van available to pick up anyone who was having difficulties, which was great for the few who couldn't make the entire trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany Bike Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tuscany Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing