We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuscany Bike Tours .... A Perfect Day in Italy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tuscany Bike Tours

Tuscany Bike Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tuscany bike tours is a service provided by Active tours Italy S.r.l. which offers day long bike tours in the Chianti wine region of Tuscany. 10am-5pm. We visit a 12th century castle, taste their wine and oil and cycle through some of the most beautiful countryside imaginable. A great way to orientate yourself, mix and socialize with like minded people while you travel. Come join us, you'll have a blast!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tuscany Bike Tours .... A Perfect Day in Italy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a fantastic change in pace just when the museums, ruins, galleries, etc of Europe were all starting to blend together. Tuscany Bike Tours has put together the perfect day away from the crowds. After a scenic drive to Castello di Poppiano, one of the very entertaining fellows of TBT guides you through the wine cellar and up the tower of this 12th century castle for some amazing panoramic views. Upon descent a chianti, some bread & olive oil (also produced at the castle) are waiting for you before being fitted for your bike, strap a helmet on, and take in a safety briefing… no riding all willy nilly on the roads! The countryside is beautiful and to see it from a bike is just that much better. The guide (in this case Jason) ensures the group is accounted for throughout the ride, the pace is easy so no need to worry about being left in the dust, but if you did run into a problem, Andy was close by in the van to pick you up if necessary. The guys that run this fantastic operation, Andy and Keith, are awesome, funny, and personable and can’t think of 1 reason not to book with them. You will love it. Guaranteed! Thanks guys for the perfect escape!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GillyDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,313
    54
    6
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
1 review
“Highlight of our trip, recommended to all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Everything about this trip was top notch, the individuals running it at the top of the list. I would recommend this bike tour to anyone. The evening after this incredible trip my father realized he had forgotten his glasses in one of the bike's pouches. I wrote an email which was responded to immediately and his glasses were in the mail fast enough to beat us back to the US. And to top it all off they refused to even let me pay for my troubles. Wonderful experience, run by wonderful people. Do yourself a favor and enjoy this excursion.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour and do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

You won't be sorry if you choose to join Tuscany Bike Tours for a day trip in the Chianti region!

I did the biking trip (note that Tuscany Bike Tours also offers vespa tours) on a 2-day trip to Florence. Although I missed out on seeing a lot of the sights in Florence because I chose to do this tour instead, I have absolutely no regrets as my day with Tuscany Bike Tours was one of the most enjoyable days I've spent in Italy. It was a really refreshing break from the usual tourist activities like visiting churches and museums! And it was great to get some exercise.

Cycling through beautiful countryside under the Tuscan sun with a friendly tour group and great guides was really fabulous. The castle and the views from the tower were beautiful and the olive oil was the best I've tasted. The wine was delicious, too. Our lunch at the little restaurant was well-organised and tasty. If there is pasta with melanzane (eggplant), I recommend it - mine was delicious! The hill after lunch was a challenge (which I somehow managed to achieve), but it is absolutely not a problem if you would rather catch a ride in the van. Keith, Jason and Lorenzo did an excellent job organising the tour, making sure everything ran smoothly and that everyone was enjoying themselves.

I have no hesitation whatsoever recommending this tour to anyone at all. If you enjoy a little exercise, beautiful scenery, wine and a few laughs, this tour is definitely for you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sheri6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must do in Tuscany ...Awesome tour and guides!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

There is not a better way to really get the Tuscan feel and enjoy all of Tuscany then by this bike tour! The ride was amazingly beautiful and the group of tour guides ( Carlo, Jason , and Alesso) were AWESOME.. And of course Keith was great as well! This is a must do!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BuzbeeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quintessential Tuscan experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

What better way is there to soak in the Tuscan countryside than from the seat of a bike? Alessio was our guide for this lovely experience. He was informative, friendly, and genuine. The ride itself had a couple of steep spots and, since I am not in the best shape, opted to walk at those times. No biggie for Alessio who encourages you to go at your own pace but checks in to make sure all is well. The castle tour along with the wine and olive oil tasting was a great addition to the day. The view from the castle tower was something right out of a book. This is a great option if you don't want to rent a car but still want to see the countryside. Thank you Alessio!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany Bike Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tuscany Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing