We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best experience in all of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tuscany Bike Tours

Tuscany Bike Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tuscany bike tours is a service provided by Active tours Italy S.r.l. which offers day long bike tours in the Chianti wine region of Tuscany. 10am-5pm. We visit a 12th century castle, taste their wine and oil and cycle through some of the most beautiful countryside imaginable. A great way to orientate yourself, mix and socialize with like minded people while you travel. Come join us, you'll have a blast!
Pagosa Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Best experience in all of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was one of the best day's I spent in my entire 2 months of touring Italy. The tour has something for everyone. A drive out to the Chianti region of Tuscany with a tour of the castle and then some wine tasting. The cycle ride is suitable for all skill levels. The beginning of the ride is comfortable and mostly on somewhat flat terrain. Then lunch at a family run restaurante with ample food and wine. After lunch there is another flat ride until you get to the 17% grade hill. Since there is van support, there is the option to forego the ride up. But for those looking to get their daily work-out this should satisfy. But of course the best part is clearly the guides. Alessio kind, cheerful and willing to accomodate any need or concern, Keith full of humor and spunk and had the group continuously laughing, and last but not least Jason, the quiet one of the 3 but listen carefully, because not only is he knowlegable he has a keen sense of humor. This touring complany has great integrity and should not be missed. Not only was the bike ride the highlight of my stay in Florence, but I also met some absolutely wonderful mates who I had the good fortune of spending some more time with in the city. Take a break from the crowds at the Duomo and join the 3 muskateers for a day full of fun and laughter. April 2013

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ahuva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,313
    54
    6
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Though it's labelled as bike tour you will bike only for an hour or so amd that's not a bad thing. You get to see one of the estates that owns a lot of land, produce wine and olive oil. The smell of those small 100 year old oak barrels was really sweet. Lunch was good and Alessio as everyone else saod is great. I would do it again except it's already hot here in april.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coolbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“a very well organized tour with great route and some awesome views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

this trip was awesome! i would highly recommend it to everyone interested in seeing the amazing sights in the chianti region of tuscany. the tour of the castle was a great surprise too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cliffjreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun wine tour by bicycle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

A great way to spend a day in the Florence and Tuscany area. I was actually in Rome and took the train up to Florence and was researching wine tours departing from Florence. I thought a bike tour would definitely be a different way to see the wine country and really appreciate the beauty of the area. They have a great staff and Alessio is definitely quite friendly and an asset to their company. Only thing that I would have liked more is to see another winery or two in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyclebikle, Manager at Tuscany Bike Tours, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Ad,
Thank you for taking the time for posting a review.
I would like to just make a quick point for potential readers as the title of the review may be a bit misleading. Our tour is a "Bike tour" with "one" winery visit with wine and oil tasting.
We offer one glass of wine and a tasting of olive oil on some tasty Tuscan bread with a sprinkle of salt. I have specified on our website now that we only visit one winery as to avoid disappointment.
Thank you again for joining us on the tour. We appreciate it massively.
Kind regards.
Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ask for Alessio to be your bike tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Alessio is the man!
At the age of 57, I am between 35 - 40 years past my athletic prime.
However, Alessio was supportive and encouraging to me (and the other four people in the group).
The tour features an explanation of wine and olive oil making at a castle in the country, followed by a 12 mile excursion.
A hearty lunch at a local restaurant breaks up the trip, provides a break...and fuel for the return to the castle.
Alessio is knowledgeable, interesting and funny.
This is a terrific way to experience the Tuscan countryside and culture.
Book the tour...and request Alessio as your guide!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevenets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany Bike Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tuscany Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing