We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, Comfort and Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riva Lofts Florence
Ranked #186 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
214 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Modern, Comfort and Friendly Service”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

While you are about 10 minutes outside of city center, staying at this oasis is worth it. Room number 3 which we stayed in was a duplex that offered a nice space that was as relaxing as a spa. The staff, Maria in particular, offers great recommendations for food and you can use the bikes at the hotel for free to travel into town to get there. Free Wifi is also a plus and the main dining room is a treat to hang out in.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_and_MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    41
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
106
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed 4 days at Riva Lofts with 4 friends to kick off our honeymoon. Riva Lofts was a perfect mix of luxury, modern and comfort. The large common area was ideal for late night piano playing and wine drinking, and even better for a cozy breakfast in the morning. The rooms were spotless and the huge jacuzzi bath did wonders for the body after a long day sight seeing in Florence. The city is a short 10 min taxi ride away or a 30 minute walk (beautiful along the water). Alice and her staff are a delight and recommended some great restaurants and arranged taxis for our group. This location is out of the way, ideal for a great weekend in Florence out of the hussle and bussle of tourist traps. We simply LOVED it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2008

My wife and I spent 3 nights here for my 40th and our 10th wedding anniversary and what a memorable stay it was. We loved everything about the place especially how we were looked after by Alice, the owner.

Nothing was too difficult for her, as she sorted out wonderful "un-touristy" restuarants, booked the Uffizi Gallery for us before we arrived, gave us advice on every aspect of our stay and even left small jugs of milk for us in fridges for tea/coffee when we came back late at night!

Some people seem to be concerned about the location as it is south of the Arno and slightly away from the centre of town, but we did not find this a problem at all. It was only 5 mins taxi from the train station and to the various restaurants that were recommended to us in the Oltrano area south of the river. In additon we used the hotels own vintage bikes to cycle into the town along the bike path of the Arno which was great fun and took only about 10 mins.

The rooms are very clean and beautifully designed and the main communcal room where breaksfast is served is amazing and very relaxing. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone as your home from home stay in Florence.

  • Liked — The personal service offered by the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PJM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We have just stayed for 4 days at Riva and would have loved to stay more.
This is one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed. The owner, Alice, and rest of the staff are truly wonderful and do everything they can ti ensure that your stay is perfect.

We had room 8 - own entrance (as all rooms have here), stairs up to first landing where we found a toilet and a separate, BIG bathroom with nice amenities.
Then another stair leading to a very, very spacious room with big windows, HIGH ceilings and own terrace. The room had views to Florence's domes and towers and of the Arno.

The room had a big, four poster bed, a single bed for our daughter, a kitchen, dining table and chairs, a sofa and low table, a big, flat screen tv with CD and DVD - and of course a safe. Other nice touches were hand weights and a yoga mat.
The hotel has a living room, open all day and night to guests, with tea/coffee facilities and an honesty bar, CDs and DVDs that you could borrow and also breakfast (yummy!) was served here.. Minibar in room was free of charge (except for wine and spirits).

The hotel has a wonderful garden with a pool, chairs and tables if you want to have your breakfast outside and hammocks for lazy afternoons.

The overall design of the hotel is truly stunning - visit the website and see for yourself!

We did not find the location a problem. We had our daughter with us, otherwise we would have used the provided bikes, but nearby bus stops meant that you could go into Florence within 10 minutes or so. No restaurants nearby, but within walking distance - and again, if going without kids I would have used the bikes!

Only problem was that it was impossible to use the terrace at night - because of the location by the river there were too many mosquitos... but minor problem (and nothing to do about it, really!).

We had a fantastic time here and look forward to going back to Riva and Florence some day. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Design, architecture and amazing staff
  • Disliked — nothing, it was great!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrineCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

The description of the hotel is that it is a bit out of the center of Florence. But it is a 30 - 40 minutes walk to the center. There is NOTHING near the hotel including any dining options. So everything is a 10euro taxi ride into Florence. This is the biggest negative. The positives are that the hotel is very nice and modern. The breakfast is simple by very good and the people who work there are helpful and very nice. Parking is free and access to the autostrada is great.

Beds are not so comfortable and there were many mosquitos in my room as the hotel sits on the Arno. Cleanliness is average. For a affordable place close to Florence, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Its new and modern
  • Disliked — Location, location, location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank voyageur69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Riva Lofts is a fantastic place to stay if your visiting Florence. Its about a 15 minute walk from the centre of town set in a quiet street which backs onto the river. The number one selling point has to be its design, its so stylish, it looks like something straight out of vogue. The rooms are large, very clean and have all the facilities that you need. The hotel provide bikes which you can take to ride into the centre, its such a lovely ride along the river, I would highly reccomend it. There is a swimming pool which we didn't use but it looked lovely and hammocks dotted around the gardens. The staff were very helpful and friendly and gave some excellent restaurant recommendation.
We cant wait to go back.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

It's frankly difficult to imagine a more perfect place to stay in Florence. The elegance of its design and the beauty of the setting would alone make this place remarkable, but you add the rare energy and flat-out coolness of its owner, alice, and the place is one of the most compelling in all of europe, an oasis of modern cool in the grit and hurly burly of the ancient city.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank xXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#204 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#229 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#42 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Il Salviatino
#97 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Piazzale Michelangelo
Villa La Vedetta
Villa La Vedetta
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Lofts Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Lofts Florence

Property: Riva Lofts Florence
Address: Via Baccio Bandinelli 98, 50142, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Lofts Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated 19th-century factory on the southern bank of the Arno River, the Riva Lofts provides a modern oasis in easy reach of the rich historical attractions of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riva Lofts Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Lofts Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing