We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Comfort and Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riva Lofts Florence
Ranked #143 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2009

While you are about 10 minutes outside of city center, staying at this oasis is worth it. Room number 3 which we stayed in was a duplex that offered a nice space that was as relaxing as a spa. The staff, Maria in particular, offers great recommendations for food and you can use the bikes at the hotel for free to travel into town to get there. Free Wifi is also a plus and the main dining room is a treat to hang out in.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_and_MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed 4 days at Riva Lofts with 4 friends to kick off our honeymoon. Riva Lofts was a perfect mix of luxury, modern and comfort. The large common area was ideal for late night piano playing and wine drinking, and even better for a cozy breakfast in the morning. The rooms were spotless and the huge jacuzzi bath did wonders for the body after a long day sight seeing in Florence. The city is a short 10 min taxi ride away or a 30 minute walk (beautiful along the water). Alice and her staff are a delight and recommended some great restaurants and arranged taxis for our group. This location is out of the way, ideal for a great weekend in Florence out of the hussle and bussle of tourist traps. We simply LOVED it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

My wife and I spent 3 nights here for my 40th and our 10th wedding anniversary and what a memorable stay it was. We loved everything about the place especially how we were looked after by Alice, the owner.

Nothing was too difficult for her, as she sorted out wonderful "un-touristy" restuarants, booked the Uffizi Gallery for us before we arrived, gave us advice on every aspect of our stay and even left small jugs of milk for us in fridges for tea/coffee when we came back late at night!

Some people seem to be concerned about the location as it is south of the Arno and slightly away from the centre of town, but we did not find this a problem at all. It was only 5 mins taxi from the train station and to the various restaurants that were recommended to us in the Oltrano area south of the river. In additon we used the hotels own vintage bikes to cycle into the town along the bike path of the Arno which was great fun and took only about 10 mins.

The rooms are very clean and beautifully designed and the main communcal room where breaksfast is served is amazing and very relaxing. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone as your home from home stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PJM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We have just stayed for 4 days at Riva and would have loved to stay more.
This is one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed. The owner, Alice, and rest of the staff are truly wonderful and do everything they can ti ensure that your stay is perfect.

We had room 8 - own entrance (as all rooms have here), stairs up to first landing where we found a toilet and a separate, BIG bathroom with nice amenities.
Then another stair leading to a very, very spacious room with big windows, HIGH ceilings and own terrace. The room had views to Florence's domes and towers and of the Arno.

The room had a big, four poster bed, a single bed for our daughter, a kitchen, dining table and chairs, a sofa and low table, a big, flat screen tv with CD and DVD - and of course a safe. Other nice touches were hand weights and a yoga mat.
The hotel has a living room, open all day and night to guests, with tea/coffee facilities and an honesty bar, CDs and DVDs that you could borrow and also breakfast (yummy!) was served here.. Minibar in room was free of charge (except for wine and spirits).

The hotel has a wonderful garden with a pool, chairs and tables if you want to have your breakfast outside and hammocks for lazy afternoons.

The overall design of the hotel is truly stunning - visit the website and see for yourself!

We did not find the location a problem. We had our daughter with us, otherwise we would have used the provided bikes, but nearby bus stops meant that you could go into Florence within 10 minutes or so. No restaurants nearby, but within walking distance - and again, if going without kids I would have used the bikes!

Only problem was that it was impossible to use the terrace at night - because of the location by the river there were too many mosquitos... but minor problem (and nothing to do about it, really!).

We had a fantastic time here and look forward to going back to Riva and Florence some day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katrineCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

The description of the hotel is that it is a bit out of the center of Florence. But it is a 30 - 40 minutes walk to the center. There is NOTHING near the hotel including any dining options. So everything is a 10euro taxi ride into Florence. This is the biggest negative. The positives are that the hotel is very nice and modern. The breakfast is simple by very good and the people who work there are helpful and very nice. Parking is free and access to the autostrada is great.

Beds are not so comfortable and there were many mosquitos in my room as the hotel sits on the Arno. Cleanliness is average. For a affordable place close to Florence, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank voyageur69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Riva Lofts is a fantastic place to stay if your visiting Florence. Its about a 15 minute walk from the centre of town set in a quiet street which backs onto the river. The number one selling point has to be its design, its so stylish, it looks like something straight out of vogue. The rooms are large, very clean and have all the facilities that you need. The hotel provide bikes which you can take to ride into the centre, its such a lovely ride along the river, I would highly reccomend it. There is a swimming pool which we didn't use but it looked lovely and hammocks dotted around the gardens. The staff were very helpful and friendly and gave some excellent restaurant recommendation.
We cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank victoria1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

It's frankly difficult to imagine a more perfect place to stay in Florence. The elegance of its design and the beauty of the setting would alone make this place remarkable, but you add the rare energy and flat-out coolness of its owner, alice, and the place is one of the most compelling in all of europe, an oasis of modern cool in the grit and hurly burly of the ancient city.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank xXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Della Robbia
#190 of 410 in Florence
202 reviews
San Lorenzo
Glance Hotel In Florence
Glance Hotel In Florence
#20 of 410 in Florence
244 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#242 of 410 in Florence
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#235 of 410 in Florence
620 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#208 of 410 in Florence
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Lofts Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Lofts Florence

Address: Via Baccio Bandinelli 98, 50142, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $191 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Lofts Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated 19th-century factory on the southern bank of the Arno River, the Riva Lofts provides a modern oasis in easy reach of the rich historical attractions of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Riva Lofts Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Lofts Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing