We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riva Lofts Florence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riva Lofts Florence
Ranked #180 of 631 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Amazing stay. Excellent customer service, beautiful complex, great pool and very peaceful. Very near city and jump on a bike. Easy access by car and lots of good tips on places to eat and visit. We loved it and will return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat-kiwis1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    39
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
101
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel if you are willing to walk a little. Unlike other Florence hotels, the rooms are spacious with high ceilings and a separate common living room with a fire place, sitting area and nice dining table - perfect for those nights when you would rather eat in. The service is also exceptional - Juliette, nice recommendations and travel plans! Cardova too. Rosa's breakfast also nice and hearty.

Alice has a beautiful well managed hotel with lot of thinking going into the design of the rooms. Be warned that like indicated on the hotel website, this an architect hotel and doesn't have the 24x7 services you would expect from a full service hotel but we feel that is the charm with this hotel. We definitely will return - SK

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hal_sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I love staying at the Riva Lofts in Florence because it's such a understated luxury, chic, charming, serene, quiet lovely place. We've stayed two nights on September 29, 2012. Breakfast was wonderful and the breakfast lady makes wonderful cup of cappuccino. Staffs were all extremely wonderful helping us to make reservation for restaurants, suggesting cool neighborhood to check out. This place looked further out but it's just a a short ride on the tram/trade which takes you back to the ancient part of the city. Would love to go back there to stay in such retreat place again. Bikes are available for all guests to borrow too!!

Room Tip: great for honeymooon!! Their two floor suite is fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeZaPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Recently spent 3 nights at Riva Lofts and was absolutely blown away by the hotel and the staff. It is absolutely amazing and I can't recommended it enough. The staff were incredible: welcoming, full of great recommendations and happy to help book tables and generally organise our fun! Nothing was too much trouble and within hours of arriving I felt at home. The hotel itself is beautiful. Our room was huge and had a seperate lounge and dining area. The decoration was classy and everything looked brand new. The soft drinks in the mini bar were included in the room price as was a jar of fresh biscotti (both refilled daily). The communal area was also very large and had a well stocked honesty bar. There is also a log fire which you can get going whenever you like. Breakfast of fresh pastries, cereal and coffee was also included. We were there in winter so didn't make use of the garden or the pool but looking forward to going back when its warmer.

The location isn't perfect, walking from the centre of town takes about 30 minutes and we did end up taking quite a few taxis when heading out for dinner. But its only a 3 minute walk from the hotel to Paulo Uccello tram stop, and then a 8 minute tram ride to the city centre. So this should definitely not put you off. The location also means you get luxury at a much better price than in the centre of town.

I was there as part of group of four friends and it worked brilliantly. Its also the perfect location for a couple on a romantic break (think candle lit drinks and wine in front of the fire...). I'll definitely be going back to Riva Lofts and encourage anyone going to Florence to seriously consider this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room opposite the reception. Huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in September 2012 and didn't really want to leave. What a great place! Great staff! Great room! Perfect location!! If you want to go into the city to see the sights, you can walk to the train which takes you into the ancient city of Florence. Or you could just hang out at Riva, by the pool or walking along the river, you feel miles away from the hustle and bustle of Florence. Had a awesome time here! Would stayed here again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the beautiful Riva Lofts. You've never seen anything like this restored farm modern property. Friendly staff, especially Juliette, and large comfortable rooms.

We road their bikes into Florence our first day and would advise against it due to the congestion in town. Take the nearby tram.

While the property is in a residential area and is encircled by fences and shrubbery, there are no staff members on the premises after 8pm. We had 2 very inconsiderate families traveling together with a total of 4 kids who constantly jumped on the floors and beds and continually ran on the floors above us. They ran around without supervision from their parents. They knocked on everyones door and ran. We finally asked one of the staff members to address this. She acknowledged that this was the loudest group she encountered but felt they would calm down. They didn't and I don't think anyone from the hotel addressed this. I nearly walked to their room but didn't need a confrontation with these parents. It was the duty of this establishment to do this and they failed miserably.

This matter could have ruined our stay there. However, we otherwise loved this totally unique property. The living room/breakfast room was outstanding and a nice place to chill in the evenings with a bottle of wine while listening to their nice CD selection.

4.5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Beautifully situated on the river, close walk to metro, and not far from airport or train station. We got a taxi from the Peretola/Vespucci airport, approximately 20 euro. Was warmly greeted by Juliet and shown around the resort. The layout of the grounds are amazing, the design of our room #7 was quiet, cozy and romantic. Nice touch to have complimentary water, soft drinks and biscotti, if ever the need for drink or a midnight snack attack. Breakfast served every morning in the living room was adequate and convenient. Nice selection of teas, and an espresso maker available for the cappuccino/espresso lovers. We happened to be there when there was a festival going on within walking distance right over the river to a spacious open green space. Lots of ethnic foods and great live music, that we could here from Riva. We did the hop on and off bus touring around Florence, which you can pick up at the train station, after a short metro ride. The girls Carlotta & Juliet provided us with lots of recommendations for dinners (Altrani was a favorite) and offered many helpful tips on getting around. They even have metro passes available for purchase ffom their front desk. We found the "complimentary" bikes a great way to ride along the river and go to a grocery store close by for provisions. We toured by motorcycle the Tuscany countryside to Greve where the Chianti/Classico wine festival was taking place. An amazing way to explore this beautiful area. Coming back to our room at Riva Lofts after a long day of touring was like finding "heaven on earth". Grazie mille!! Alice, Juliet, & Carlotta for you kind and gracious "Florentine hospitality" We would definitely return to Riva Lofts when visiting Florence again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alohakauaisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Il Salviatino
#57 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Torre Di Bellosguardo
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#165 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Pitti
Floroom 1
Floroom 1
#364 of 631 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Lofts Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Lofts Florence

Property: Riva Lofts Florence
Address: Via Baccio Bandinelli 98, 50142, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 631 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Lofts Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated 19th-century factory on the southern bank of the Arno River, the Riva Lofts provides a modern oasis in easy reach of the rich historical attractions of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riva Lofts Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Lofts Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing