We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riva Lofts Florence
Ranked #188 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London , UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“super stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Using sat nav and GPS on the iphone it still took us 2 hours and nearly caused divorce finding this place. It is absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to find. Its on the river, off a main road, but the signage is the size of a packet of ciggarettes. The very helpful host came out on to the road to help us in the end, but there's no parking and by the time we arrived I was more than ready to chug the complimentary wine. Despite all this, the place is well worth finding. Its simply exquisite. We stayed in one of the more basic rooms, with a cool white poured floor and staircase leading up to a bed-deck and tiny roof terrace. The communal breakfast room was stunning, with superb attention to detail, a real champion of interior design and creativity. Its got a little garden, a little hammock and a little pool, together with some lovely old bikes you can borrow to go exploring. Its very unusual, rather quiet, oozing charm, like staying in a work of art, not really a hotel, but friendly and definitely worth the hunt.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nashes_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    40
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
39
105
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Riva lofts is a beautiful addition to accommodation in Florence. Imagine staying 10 minutes from the centre of Florence - lovely!
We really loved the design of the rooms and the set up however our only comment would be regarding children. It's better to say this is an adult only hotel rather than accept children since we felt very uncomfortable with our children there.
Perfect for couples only. Peace and solitude

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claytoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this modern and personalized hotel. Despite the fact that it is not that close to the main historical attractions, the distance to these destinations is very acceptable on the bikes provided @ the hotel. We were a bit taken by the fact that the bikes were in very poor conditions - I'm pretty sure that they could do a better job in that department. The hotel is very beautiful, the rooms are very well set out and architecturally attractive. The garden and pool are a beautifull setting for sunset and Alice is spot on her reccomendations of what to do, what to avoid and where to go for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpug70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Beautifully renovated and exquisitely designed - such a quiet, sophisticated enclave and a perfect place to unwind after the frenetic crowds in the city center. We walked into town or took the trolley - not at all inconvenient and SO worth the peace and tranquility. Alice is a wonderful host, and we loved hearing the stories of the renovation and design. For anyone who appreciates architecture, both ancient and modern, this is a perfect blend. Beautiful grounds where we relaxed in hammocks, took a dip in the pool and just chilled under the shady trees. Definitely would recommend this lovely property.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
514 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

what can i say , the perfect place to spend few days in Florence .
Alice the owner is fantastic and the hotel very elegant and chic, a short walk to busy Florence .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

What can I say , a great contemporary hotel just outside the centre of Florence. The setting is amazing. Breakfast is basic but healthy! The rooms have very high ceilings and all have DVD players. Alice who runs the hotel is a wealth of knowledge and booked us into one of the best restaurants in Florence.

One tip - please service your bikes as the breaks don't work on most of them! Also you must have hand rails to hold on to when entering the pool. My friend slipped and hurt his foot because there was nothing to hang on to when he slipped on the the steps.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaseUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights during our honeymoon and were nothing short of delighted by our time at Riva. The 'rooms' are ultra stylish and comfortable and the gardens added that little bit of something different to our stay in Florence. The sun was shining and we were able to relax in the hammock, and sunbathe on the lawn in the afternoon. The bikes were a great touch, since Riva is a little bit out of town it was great to be able to jump on to a bike and ride into town. The bike lanes make this pretty easy (even for someone who hasn't ridden a bike for 10 years!).

The living room is beautiful and we lit ourselves a fire had a glass of wine there one evening, so cozy and it really made us feel at home. The art work and interior style is gorgeous.

The staff were incredibly helpful, booking art galleries, restaurants and providing information on places to go in Florence which are slightly off the main trail (the photography museum and hanging out in Oltrarno were our favs).

When (not if) we return to the beautiful town of Florence we would stay at Riva for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#206 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#227 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Il Salviatino
#90 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Piazzale Michelangelo
Villa La Vedetta
Villa La Vedetta
#63 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Lofts Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Lofts Florence

Property: Riva Lofts Florence
Address: Via Baccio Bandinelli 98, 50142, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Lofts Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated 19th-century factory on the southern bank of the Arno River, the Riva Lofts provides a modern oasis in easy reach of the rich historical attractions of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riva Lofts Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Lofts Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing