We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Florentine treasure to be experienced more than once”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Dimora Johlea
Ranked #33 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A Florentine treasure to be experienced more than once”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at Antica Dimora Johlea for 10 days in May after a previous visit in 2007. After our first stay there was no choice that we would stay anywhere else while holidaying again in Florence. This residence continues to impress as charming, relaxing and as beautifully decorated and appointed. Many reviews refer to the rooftop terrace which we experienced this time with flowers in spring bloom and with magical sunsets over the rooftops of Florence.

As experienced before, our room was comfortably appointed and spacious with all needed amenities provided - now including free wi fi access. The bathroom also met all our needs being spotlessly clean and providing plentiful hot water at good pressure.

While I would rate this B & B as being excellent in most areas, it is the area of staff service that requires specific mention. Gordana and her staff provide such a warm, attentive and helpful service as to make the experience of saying here quite special. It is clear that they hold great pride for their beautiful city and region and find satisfaction in their guests relating their daily experiences or special discoveries.

Importantly, we found the staff were particularly helpful when some unexpected problems arose. For this holiday, a pre-booked day tour was cancelled on us the day before it was due to occur. When the staff heard of this, they sourced an alternative tour (Tuscan countryside wine and cheese tasting tour) within 20 minutes and booked this for us and this turned out to be one of our holiday highlights. In our stay in 2007, we unexpectedly needed to access medical support and the staff we able to arrange an English-speaking doctor to attend within 45 minutes.

We have previously recommended this B & B to friends and family and our recent experience only confirms what we already know... that Antica Dimora Johlea is an exceptional find in Florence where guests will experience comfort, relaxation, beautifully appointed surroundings and a warm and personalised service from staff.

Our sincere thanks to Gordana and her staff who helped us believe that, for a short period of time, our souls were partly Florentine.

Leigh and Rick, Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your stay and for your wonderful comment! We all felt really great when we read all the compliments about the staff because it’s what we’re trying to achieve and we are glad you felt the welcoming environment given to our guests during your holiday in Florence .
Hoping that you will have another occasion to visit our beautiful city
Best Regards
Sandra,Gordana and Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    113
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
268
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We arrived not really knowing what to expect.The place was so beautifully decorated and was so comfortable.Having breakfast upstairs overlooking Florence was just magic, and just to be able to sit and relax in the upstairs lounge and have a drink was so relaxing especially after walking all day.The staff were helpful and friendly...We loved it!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samgalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goga65, Public Relations Manager at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are so happy that you could enjoy our accomodation so well as you appreciated our beautiful city!
Best regards

Sandra,Gordana e Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay. The room was large and beautifully decorated. The staff were very helpful, especially setting up an early taxi to the airport. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redmmminak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goga65, Public Relations Manager at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
thank you so much for your wonderful review and first of all receive our best thanks for your kindness

We are very happy when our Guests testify their satisfaction, your so detailed description is the best invitation to other people to visit Florence enjoying our wonderful city in our accomodation.

Expressing you all wishes
best regards

Sandra,Gordana and Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2012

What a wonderful hotel! The location is terrific, and the hotel's layout with its spacious rooms and beautiful roofdeck is even better. But the best is the incredibly gracious staff, who looked after our family with incredible warmth. We were wary about the difficulty of traveling with a 6 month old boy, but the hotel staff couldn't have been more accommodating, from making sure there was a crib in the room when we arrived to greeting our son each morning with big smiles. We loved the hotel, and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Such a wonderful idea - a 'rooftop' hideaway in the middle of Florence. The B&B occupies the top floor of a four story building, giving a sense of being in your own little eyrie. Even though all the rooms are accessed off the same floor there is no feeling of being crowded - in fact we rarely saw or heard our fellow guests, except at breakfast. And breakfast is a very intimate arrangement, almost encouraging guests to mingle and chat. The rooms vary in size. We were given the larger room - other rooms would have been ok, but the smallest room would have been too small for us. The rooms were clean and well furnished. Having coffee (and tea) with cake or biscuit, on tap, in the guest lounge is a wonderful plus - and you can take it up to the balcony and admire the view of the Duomo!
The owners/staff made us feel very welcome and were on hand most of the time to help with advice on where to eat etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MylocathDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We just loved this hotel; such a lovely room and wonderful staff! Gordona is just the best! Everything was perfect... my mother (who is 92 years old) and I were treated with such kindness and affection... the room was beautiful and spotlessly clean, the rooftop terrace was just GORGEOUS, and the breakfast experience was just delightful. THE LOCATION IS PERFECT FOR GETTING ANYWHERE IN THE CITY; so easy to get around and explore Florence like a local. I went for a walk every afternoon and just let myself get lost, then stopped to figure out where I was. Such friendly people there! Everyone so helpful if I needed directions. The staff at the hotel handled all our restaurant and taxi reservations and made everything so easy.... I would love to return with my husband for a romantic getaway. THANKS ANTICA DIMORA JOHLEA! A FABULOUS AND MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE!!!!! MY MOM IS STILL TALKING ABOUT HOW MUCH SHE LOVED STAYING WITH YOU!!! A REAL GEM!

Room Tip: We chose this room because we needed 2 twin beds; I think, from talking to the other guests, all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestlilbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The room was clean and cozy. It was my first time in Florence and the location was excellent as I was able to walk everywhere and find everything without getting lost. They helped with booking tours and everything went really well. There is a roof top at this bed and breakfast where you can get a really nice view of Florence and you can have coffee or breakfast there too. I was by myself and felt very safe and comfortable. I would recommend it and will hopefully get a chance to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goga65, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
first I wanted to thank you for your words of gratitude to our staff, these are the things that makes our work exceptional feel and see you satisfied with your stay, and the second thing I wanted to tell you and I hope to see you took in our small residence, and I'll see how to make your stay even better in order to become exceptional. Thanks again and see you soon ... all the staff
Sandra Gordan Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#65 of 422 in Florence
772 reviews
San Marco
Antica Dimora Firenze
Antica Dimora Firenze
#82 of 675 in Florence
540 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
#62 of 675 in Florence
310 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 675 in Florence
911 reviews
San Marco
Alfieri9
Alfieri9
#54 of 675 in Florence
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora Johlea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora Johlea

Property: Antica Dimora Johlea
Address: Via San Gallo 80, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Dimora Johlea 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmonious, elegant, and full of light, this Florentine residence is situated on the top floor of a beautiful 19th-century palazzo. The rooms, all uniquely designed and decorated, have walls in soft hues of natural earth and mineral pigments. The curtains and the canopies of the four-poster beds are made out of precious oriental silk, while pure linen from Florence's renowned, artisan fabric manufacturer, Antica Tessitoria Busatti, is used to decorate the breakfast hall and living rooms. The bathrooms are done in Carrara marble or in hand-painted tiles. Perhaps the nicest surprise, however, is the rooftop terrace, from which you will be able to admire Brunelleschi's dome, Giotto's bell tower, the crenellated silhouette of Palazzo Vecchio, and the magnificent bird's eye view of Florence's historic center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Antica Dimora Johlea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora Johlea Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing