We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful- excellent value for your money”
Review of Hotel Axial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Axial
Ranked #179 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I stayed in Hotel Axial for two weeks and had the most wonderful experience. Staff was very attentive, supportive and helped with all kinds of information I required. Hotel is very clean and walking distance from most of the places tourists visit. I walked to and from the train station (and bus station) comfortably with my luggage. Can't say enough of Hotel Axial and the great service! Some nights there was a street show nearby so Icould hear classical music and laughter- didn't bother me at all. I felt very safe and comfortable here and would pick this hotel in future trips to Florence. Includes continenal breakfast and wifi, as well as 2 computers and printer available to all guests. AC was cool and nice!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lichita13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Axial
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 769 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It was a block and a half from the Duomo (we took a taxi in from the airport), the staff speaks excellent English and was universally friendly and helpful. Reasonable rates, very clean, quiet, small (only 16 rooms, hence no fitness room, etc.) yet with all the amenities we needed. For example, they have free internet in a comfortable lounge with an attached bathroom (especially nice if you check out and still need a place to hang out or drop in before you leave Florence). They were 2 for 2 with restaurant recommendations, directed us to a laundromat, booked our tickets at the Accademia and Uffizi, gave us fullsome directions about how to get to the hotel, etc. I would have loved to stay there longer.

Rosemary Boyd from Southern California

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemaryboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Helpful staff, comforable double room. Located in the center of Florence's active, upscale area.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolsphc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The Axial is a few (2-10) minutes' walk from the Duomo, the Uffizzi Gallery, the Ponte Vecchio, the station, and loads of restaurants and bars. The rooms are surprisingly large, the staff are really helpful, and there is a lovely shaded courtyard to sit in for a quiet lunch. The prices were very reasonable, and the Axial would be first on my list for future stays in Florence (I have been there many times for business and pleasure, and the Axial was easily the best hotel). As an added bonus, they had free use of 2 internet-connected computers and a printer, plus wi-fi.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinR1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Not only are all of the previous reviews correct regarding wonderful location, clean rooms and friendly staff...but somehow I left my license and three credit cards (including a debit card) in the open safe in our room and never realized it until I checked my email a few days later. They found them and emailed me at once attempting to get in touch with me....that is unbelievable. It gives me hope and belief that there are lots of kind honest people in this world. Hotel Axial sent them to me even though the credit card on file (which I instructed them to use) was not working. After I received the cards, I gave them another credit card and they were able to collect the fee for the international mailing. All in all a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HladPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

My girl friend and I stayed in Hotel Axial for 3 nights in early July and we were very satisfied with the service they provided. The rooms are clean and the staff are very polite and friendly. Also, it is located very close to the cathedral and other museums so it very convenient for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbidinho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Stayed here 3 nights in may. Location is fantastic for everything you need to do in Florence. The hotel staff very friendly and also gave me a free tour book of Florence which was very nice of them.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afcmilners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#221 of 411 in Florence
743 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#51 of 411 in Florence
340 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#186 of 411 in Florence
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#197 of 411 in Florence
592 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#217 of 411 in Florence
670 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#190 of 411 in Florence
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Axial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axial

Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Florence
#113 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $85 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Axial 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few meters away from the Duomo, Hotel Axial is located in the very center of Florence, in Via dei Calzaiuoli, close to all the major museums and shops.Recently opened, Hotel Axial offers Newly restructured and wide, furnished in a warm and elegant way, in a classical style, fitted with modern services such as satellite TV and free wireless Internet connection, safe, hairdryer, refrigerator. Rooms with a view over via Calzaiuoli, garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Axial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axial Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing