We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Axial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Axial to your Saves list
Hotel Axial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50123, Florence, Italy (Duomo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Waunakee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Axial for five nights. The location is excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us arrange several side tours which allowed us to experience Florence and the surrounding area. It was within easy walking distance to most of the sights in Florence, and to the train and bus station. We also felt is was a a very good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rolepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    289
    47
    14
    3
See reviews for
92
367
82
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The Axial is a boutique hotel in an older style building and this is a large part of its appeal. Entry is by double wooden doors with a very discrete sign above and around some internal corridors.
It is fun as it is nothing like the generic hotels most of us stay in most of the time. The location is terrific, as others have noted. It was about a fifteen minute very easy walk to Florence Train Station, even dragging luggage.
The staff was terrific: all were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The room was very clean. Included continental breakfast was a bonus.
Issues: the internet was frustratingly slow and intermittently stopped working at all- I assume when too many guests logged on.
It can get very noisy outside because of its central location and sometimes even the double glazing and the internal shutters are not enough to shut out the noise. Also, noisy guests in the corridor are very clearly heard inside the rooms.
Note: Hotel reviewed as a three star hotel.
Despite the issues, we were very happy we stayed there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olderfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Axial for a week at Easter. What a lovely little establishment! The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was neatly appointed and clean, the breakfast was good and the location was excellent!! This hotel is a gem in the middle of a pedestrian area just steps from The Duomo, and a few minutes walk from the train station, museums and Ponte Vecchio. I recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I were to return to Florence.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ymarec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed eight days at the Axial so I really got to know it. The hotel is fine if you aren't going to be in the room much. Location is good -- near the Duomo -- but Florence is a compact city and many hotels offer fine locations. The staff varies from friendly to indifferent. Breakfasts are adequate with some choice of cereals, yogurt, cheese and pastries. Coffee from machine is terrible. Rooms are clean and functional. Mine opened onto a very small patio where twice someone smoked a cigar. There was kitchen noise in the early a.m. I booked the Axial partly because I needed high speed internet service to conduct an hour or two of work each day. This was a disaster. It was off some days, very slow others. Even worse, the management offered a slew of varying explanations, some of which blamed me and my devices. I've had the problem nowhere else. English language TV channels: CNN and BBC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 196John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a very central hotel, right in the middle of everything. Hotel was very nice, staff were lovely. Rooms are nice and clean and there is a shower in the bathroom which for us was good as we were travelling with something who wouldn't have been able to use a bath/shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Don't be put off by my rating - - I save 'five star' reviews s for the truly incredible rather than the merely excellent.

This was our fourth visit to Florence and our second to Hotel Axial. This time, we had the pleasure of two really nice traveling companions who had not been to Florence before. The major sights are in walking distance and the front door of this hotel is in a perfect location - - it faces a (primarily) pedestrian-only street very near the Duomo and Ufizzi.

The two rooms were large by 3-star hotel standards. Ours was an inside room with a window to an interior garden area (where one evening the four of us shared a bottle of wine before dinner - 8 Euros). Our friends had a room overlooking the street. Advantage: nice window view. Disadvantage: a bit of street noise during our spring break visit (maybe better to ask for an inside room?). Breakfast was typical. I liked the self-serve espresso/latte machine, although others prefer to be served.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. We've just recommended the hotel to some other friends and would certainly stay here a third time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hotel Axial was clean and comfortable in an awesome location just steps from the duomo and so many other sights. We had to stay in their sister hotel, Hotel Maxim, for one night and it was not as nice and I would not stay there again (even though the young woman at the front was lovely). Hotel Axial though was much more pleasing and the front staff is very nice and accommodating. Not that I travel to Florence often, but I will definitely be looking up this hotel to stay at again. This is not a 4-star hotel, but I think for the price it fits the bill exactly. I'm always looking for clean, comfortable, friendly, with a good location at a reasonable rate and this was it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back off the main street- the front door/rooms are right on a main, noisy stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#191 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#198 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#182 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#44 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,515 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#181 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#249 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Axial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axial

Property: Hotel Axial
Address: Via dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Family Hotel in Florence
#114 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Axial 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few meters away from the Duomo, Hotel Axial is located in the very center of Florence, in Via dei Calzaiuoli, close to all the major museums and shops.Recently opened, Hotel Axial offers Newly restructured and wide, furnished in a warm and elegant way, in a classical style, fitted with modern services such as satellite TV and free wireless Internet connection, safe, hairdryer, refrigerator. Rooms with a view over via Calzaiuoli, garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Axial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axial Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing