We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Clean, Helpful”
Review of Hotel Axial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Axial
Ranked #178 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We chose Hotel Axial because of a friend's recommendation. They provided excellent directions from the train station which is just a few blocks away.( Note Tourist Information office on your way and stop and purchase Firenze card if you will be in town two to three days.)
They make reservations for seeing David and other museums. Receptionists were extremely helpful and gracious. Housekeeping was excellent. Room was quiet and the shutters shut out ALL daylight! Location is excellent; we learned to use electric buses. The breakfast could be a bit more varied; but we were perhaps spoiled by other three star hotels in Siena & Vienna.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLM616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 774 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed in the Hotel Axial for 5 nights in October 2012. This hotel takes up the 2nd floor of a building in a perfect location, right in the middle of Florence's historic city center (if you lean out the window you get a great up-close view of Giotto's Belltower). It's a great base of operations for sightseeing, which is important if you want to see as much of the city as you can during a short stay. Free wireless internet is a huge plus. Free breakfast was adequate (mostly croissants, cereal, hard boiled eggs -- no hot food) but the cappuccino maker in the breakfast room was very nice.

Due to its location on a very busy tourist street, the noise outside can be rather annoying, especially at night. The noise tends to quiet down around 1am. Closing the window blocks out about 90% of the noise, but that may not be an option during the hot summer (I wouldn't know, I stayed there during October, so I sealed the window, and noise level was acceptable). Travelers who are sensitive sleepers may want to find something on a higher floor, or better yet, in a quieter neighborhood like Santa Croce.

The room was clean in the places where it counts: bed, floor, shower, toilet, and sink. The shower was very small, which might be a problem for plus-sized guests, but it was fine for me.

On the negative side, the condition of the room was far from perfect: the walls are cracked and in DESPERATE need of new paint, and TWO of the lamp shades had big stains on them. Also, the toilet seat was cracked. For some, these points might be deal breakers, but not for me. These are also very fixable problems, so hopefully the hotel takes care of it before it gets worse. Just to reiterate, the room was clean where it counts, just needs maintenance.

Overall a very livable space in a perfect, safe location at a reasonable rate. Next time I visit Florence, I will certainly consider Axial again, but I also might investigate some alternatives.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ethan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel was in a perfect location, close to all main sight seeing spots. My room was small but very comfortable. A family run hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Very nice breakfasts, with lounge and bar area. Great value all round!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliD711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here for sightseeing in Florence.

Pros: It is located at the center of all major attractions in Florence. You can enjoy just a few minutes walk to the Duomo, Piazza della Signoria with David Statue and Ponte Vecchio. Service manner is very good. They can introduce good food and restaurant to you. Free wifi. The room is quiet.

Cons: All room keys are hanging beside the front desk. You will feel unsecured cause anyone can get the key easily when no one on the front desk. The room light is relatively dim and room decoration is rather old.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful stay here in August. Of all of the hotels we stayed at in Italy, the staff here were the best; friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Florence; right in the middle of everything and a short 10 min walk to the train station. What we found to be amazing was that for being right in the heart of the city, the hotel itself seemed quite and peaceful on the inside that allowed for some much needed r&r after long days of exploring; the self-service bar had some great prices on local wine! While the bed was not the most comfortable and the decor a little dated, this was a perfect hotel for getting around the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This beautiful, cozy, friendly hotel is in the heart of the city-- no more than a 10 walk to almost everything! The staff was so helpful and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. Generous continental breakfast included every morning. We didn't want to leave. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHoppe2433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hotel Axial is centrally located on a pedestrian only street filled with shops and activity. It is extremely close to major attractions. The hotel is very quiet and private. Our room was large and clean with a more contemporary decor. Our room looked out onto the central patio. Breakfast was good with plenty of options. Hotel Axial is a great value, and I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#231 of 410 in Florence
755 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#174 of 410 in Florence
408 reviews
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#220 of 410 in Florence
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Strozzi Palace Hotel
#114 of 410 in Florence
635 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#348 of 410 in Florence
215 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#211 of 410 in Florence
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Axial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axial

Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Florence
#113 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $72 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Axial 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few meters away from the Duomo, Hotel Axial is located in the very center of Florence, in Via dei Calzaiuoli, close to all the major museums and shops.Recently opened, Hotel Axial offers Newly restructured and wide, furnished in a warm and elegant way, in a classical style, fitted with modern services such as satellite TV and free wireless Internet connection, safe, hairdryer, refrigerator. Rooms with a view over via Calzaiuoli, garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Axial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axial Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing