We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Axial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Axial
Ranked #150 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

perfect location, cheap but clean, great staff and service....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitekrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    306
    55
    16
    3
See reviews for
101
385
87
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Hotel Axial is central to most every sight you would like to see in Florence. The staff is friendly and very helpful; the rooms are clean; the beds are firm and comfortable; and the breakfast is more than adequate. I had two rooms during my stay in Italy; one was facing the street and the other on the courtyard. Luckily, I stayed one night in the room facing the street and I can attest that it can be noisy. The room on the courtyard did not have the street noise, but each morning I awoke to the sound of the bells, letting me know that I really was in Florence.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cafis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

It was our first time to Firenze, and we arrived by train from Roma. It was a short 10 minute walk to the hotel (we packed light so not an issue).

It was off the main street, so you step out and immediately there are people, shops, restaurants! You were also right around the corner from the Duomo, one of the main attractions.

What made this so wonderful was Chiara's welcome and help throughout our stay. While ALL the staff were friendly, Chiara was always smiling and helping us out.

The room was clean, had the basics, and free wi-fi. They also had an internet room (with free books) if you didn't have your own internet. The breakfast room was large and also had the basics - boiled eggs, yogurt, breads, coffee machine, teas, fruit.

We booked this in advance and was pre-paid, for 2 people 3 nights in early march $92/night including taxes. We paid for nothing else at the hotel.

So the basics: the beds are firm, the rooms are clean, breakfast included will get you started on your day, and the staff are great about recommending great places to eat. Bring your own hair dryer and toiletries.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paypar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

Perfect Location.. heart of Florance.. Absolutely great choice.. dont think more.. best price..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heavenguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

Recently stayed at the Hotel Axial while in Florence. The location is great, staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and a nice size....not too crowded. The only caveat is to be aware that the bells of the Duomo will wake you in the morning! You are quite close and the bells are very loud. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

I spent 12 nights in this hotel alone in a double room. I choose it for its location, just one minute walk south of the Duomo on the main street. It is located an easy 10 minute stroll from every site. The hotel is a very comfortable, clean small hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful with great customer service skills. The room was always clean, and came with a small fridge which was very useful for storing drinks and fruit. The shower was the size of a telephone booth but I believe that is standard in small European hotels (I had the same in London and Paris). Breakfast was included and was excellent for a continental breakfast – at least two varieties of every item: rolls, croissants, yogurts, cheese, dry cereal, fruit, juice, tea, coffee (including individual packets of instant coffee.) The hotel is located one flight up from the street so if you are sensitive to street noises especially after midnight, you will do best to request a room facing the courtyard. As I am a city person who lives on a very busy and noisy street, noise and light do not bother me. I requested and received a room facing the street. If you plan to stay during the warm weather when you may want to keep the shutters and/or windows open, again you will do best to request a room facing the courtyard and not the street. The street light is located on the top floor of the building across the street and shines right into the rooms. The shutters darken the room completely.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Axial in early May 2010. The hotel was VERY easy to find and on a main street near everything in downtown Florence. It's location was perfect. We were greeted by extremely nice and very well spoken concierge's each time we came into the hotel, which you can get into late night too if you go out to bars (we did). We got a very large room that was very clean and everything we needed. The concierge helped us pick out a Tuscan wine tour to go on one day and even opened a bottle of wine for us when we returned. They also had a good media room with computers and internet service for free (where we wrote emails to family and read the news.)

The breakfast was small but all we needed and quiet. Very nice, modern hotel near everything. I would highly recommend for anyone looking for a hotel close to everything and good value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkjetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#185 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#201 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#183 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#207 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Axial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axial

Property: Hotel Axial
Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Florence
#113 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Axial 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few meters away from the Duomo, Hotel Axial is located in the very center of Florence, in Via dei Calzaiuoli, close to all the major museums and shops.Recently opened, Hotel Axial offers Newly restructured and wide, furnished in a warm and elegant way, in a classical style, fitted with modern services such as satellite TV and free wireless Internet connection, safe, hairdryer, refrigerator. Rooms with a view over via Calzaiuoli, garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Axial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axial Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing