We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Detailed Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Ranked #76 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I visited Florence for three mid-week, mid-winter days. After consulting Tripadvisor, we booked a standard double at the Cosimo de’ Medici through Orbitz. Our average nightly rate, including all taxes and fees, was about $121 a night. Overall, we were pleased with the hotel and would recommend it. A detailed review follows.

Location was key. We wanted something very near the train station, and this hotel was only about a five minute walk from the station. Convenient and easy to find.

After a long overnight flight (9 hour time zone change) into Rome, and a couple of hours on the train, my wife and I arrived at the hotel at noon on a Monday. Needless to say, we were hoping for an early check-in, and we got it. We greeted the friendly receptionist in Italian, but she immediately switched over to passable English, which was nice. She went with us up to our room to show it to us and to demonstrate the use of the in-room safe. Also nice.

We were in room 112. It was of good size for a European hotel room, with plenty of floor space and very high ceilings, I am guessing maybe fifteen feet high. It had a huge window that let in a lot of light even though there was no view to speak of. And the room had a couple of pretty and functional stand-alone wardrobes.

The room had a small flat screen TV, maybe 15 inches in size. The satellite reception was great, and there were a lot of channels, including several English language channels. The room had an easy to use safe (mentioned above). There was a minibar in the room with plenty of space to refrigerate the meat and cheese we bought for “carpet picnics.” Our internet needs are basic, and the hotel’s WiFi (included in the price) worked fine for us.

The bathroom was small but nicely done, with pretty tiles and a nice assortment of toiletries. I was very happy with the shower. Although it was small, it functioned well (i.e, a high showerhead, good water pressure, and plenty of hot water). It also had a real shower door. This maybe seems like a minor thing, but we have stayed in several European hotels over the years where we put water all over the bathroom floor due to lousy shower enclosure/door design. The hairdryer in the bathroom was old, and my wife said it worked, but just minimally.

The room did have issues with soundproofing. It was immediately adjacent to the breakfast area, and we could occasionally hear the conversations – including individual discussions – of those eating breakfast. This did not bother us much, as the hotel was nearly empty at the time of our stay. But if you are a late riser, and visiting when there are lots of guests, this would not be good. The breakfast itself, though (also included in the price), was quite good. A nice assortment of cold foods, cappuccinos made to order, and also some hot foods (bacon, sausages, and scrambled eggs). One day, though, when we got to breakfast after 9AM the hot items had gone cold, and there was no more bacon.

Florence is a beautiful and compact city. Everything is walkable. Within a hundred yards of the hotel were dozens of cafes, restaurants, and small shops. Via Faenza, a cross street just a few yards down, was particularly nice: a pedestrian-only street that had all of the above and also a couple of small, reasonably priced grocery stores. Then, a bit further away to the south and east - but well within a mile - are all the major sites of Florence.

Finally, if you use Tripadvisor to locate some of the restaurants on Via Faenza, be aware that a few of the establishments are mismarked on the Tripadvisor map. For example, both Cono Gelato and Ete Bistro (highly rated eating establishments) are actually south of the hotel on Via Faenza, not north as indicated by the Tripadvisor map. Part of this confusion is likely caused by the Italian practice of giving different street numbers to businesses and residences on the same street . . . .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Paul5795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your detailed review on tripadvisor and for the time you spent to write about your experience in our Hotel and in our wonderful city. We hope to see you again in your next travel on Italy.
Arrivederci..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have never written a review before but felt the need to do it in this case. This hotel was wonderful. Yes it is very close to the SMN train station, that is one of the reasons I chose it. I booked a single room and I was expecting a twin bed in a closet pretty much. What I got was a double in a small room but bigger than I thought, but I didn't need much. What I loved about this hotel was the staff, they were some of the most helpful and kind people I have ever come across in the hotel business. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Florence and would stay here again if I ever come back. Thank you to the staff... you made my stay perfect

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your wonderful review on tripadvisor. As it was the first review you ever wrote, we thank you for having spent your time to write about your experience in our Hotel. We are really happy that you enjoyed your room and the staff service.
Hope to see you soon.
Arrivaderci..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is our second time staying at this hotel. Location of the hotel is good - close to the main SMN train station (about 5 minutes walk) & we always felt very welcome by the staff of the hotel who never fail to greet you with a heartfelt smile. We were given a spacious modern room on the 2nd floor that even had a jacuzzi in our large bathroom. Guess it was probably cos the hotel knew we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Bed was comfortable and it was cooling enough just opening the window to let in the cool November air. We had free Wifi in our hotel room and the breakfast area. The breakfast was a nice spread of pastries, cheese, ham, cereal, etc. You could also ask for capucchino/coffee/tea on the house during breakfast. We could walk to almost everywhere on foot. Duomo was about 5-10 minutes away. Piazza Signoria & Ponte Vecchio was about 15 minutes away. And there is a large supermarket just opposite the hotel (beside the Chinese restaurant). We bought mineral water here (0.52 euros for 1.5 litres water) & stocked up on snacks & desserts too. There are several eateries and fast food restaurants (Macs & Burger King) just around the corner too. Overall it was a very convenient & safe area to stay. Thank you, Cosimo hotel! We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for modern room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wienprater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for such a beautiful review on tripadvisor, we just do our best to make every guest feel as at home. We thank you for choosing us for second time, too.
We are very happy to have contributed to an unforgettable Italian anniversary.
Hope to see you for your next travel on Italy.
Arrivederci..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our first trip to Florence. This charming hotel was well appointed and centrally located to the main attractions, shops, markets and restaurants. Exploring the city on foot was a great way to see Florence and its offerings. The staff were cheerful, attentive and knowledgeable. A good sized room, which was comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for such a beautiful review on tripadvisor.
We're really happy that you enjoy the way to exploring Florence on foot...as you undestand is the best way to see the city and feel like a florentine...We hope to see you soon..
Arrivederci..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I arrived for my first visit to Firenze, and Italy via train to spectate at the Road Cycling Championships. Cosimo de'Medici is a short 1 block walk from the Santa Maria Novella station. The staff speak multiple languages well and are extremely helpful and accommodating. In my case, they stored my luggage when I arrived early and later after I checked out and didn't catch my train until later in the evening. The streets surrounding the area are busy with people walking, eating out and enjoying the sights of Florence. As a solo woman I felt very safe regardless of time of day. The room was a good size for Europe and also nicely cleaned. The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small - and the shower into its corner, but this is no problem. Large people would not fit easily, but large people generally are not going to fit into Italy's scale of accommodation. There is a small fridge and the air conditioner worked well. I opted to open the window and did have a couple of mosquitoes in my room. Breakfast is buffet style in a lovely room overlooking the street. A wonderful lady is there to serve you the beverage of your choice and that was a cappuccino for me. There are a variety of food options that should satisfy any taste. Juice, fruit (canned + apples), yoghurts, pastries, croissants, toast & nutella and jam, hardboiled eggs, cereals, as well as a couple of hot items. The best part of this hotel is the staff. They go out of the way to be helpful and interested and I felt like I was staying at a friends. I would absolutely stay here next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovetravelovehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear guest, thank you a lot for your wonderful review on tripadvisor.
We are really happy to have made an unforgettable stay in Florence, it's just the way we work.
We hope to see you again in your next travel on italy...
Arrivederci..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the historic Hotel Cosimo de' Medici in Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence for 3 nights last week. What a wonderful retreat! It is situated one small block up from the main station. Hence the close proximity of the Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideal if taking the train into Florence. We had trained into Florence from Rome. We effectively walked around the corner from the train station to the hotel and having done 3 train journeys in 36 hours, one from Rome to Sulmona L'Aquila in Abruzzo, then back to Rome to connect with the train to Florence hence, it was paramount the hotel was nearby as one would imagine my husband and I were quite tired upon arrival in Florence. We found also the train station very well ordered and easy to get around.
We found the staff at the hotel welcoming and we're able to give any information we required for directions to a good eatery nearby, any major tourist sites and were able to give even background to various attractions. We found our room exceeding quiet and very well appointed with the suite being spacious. We slept well in the suite unlike in Venice where it was difficult to sleep due internal noise in the hotel and external noise outside the hotel. The morning breakfast which was included in our hotel package offered an extensive range of buffet items to cater for all food tastes. The staff in the breakfast buffet area were warm, friendly and Rita one of the morning buffet staff excelled in her delivery of obliging us with whatever we requested. However, I must comment on all hotel staff, reception and housekeeping staff were very efficient and nothing was too much bother for them. The hotel was within walking distance to all the major historic attractions, all eating establishments and nearby to shopping whether one was a backpacker on a limited budget or preferred high end designer items and fashion.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor corner suite just up the corridor from the breakfast buffet room near s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russlyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your beautiful review on tripadvisor. We're really happy that you find our hotel a ''wonderful retreat'' and you enjoy your staying here with us..
We hope to see you again maybe in summer...!!!
Arrivederci...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel its very well located, 2 blocks from the train station. Its very well decorated, feels everything is new and clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly. It has smokers patio, coffee room available all day and the breakfast is fantastic. The room is spacious and the bed is big and comfortable. There is AC and good wifi connection. The whole experience in the hotel was great, we were very satisfied and happy. Would definitely stay here again if we come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuateRider_650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente, muchisima gracias por su comentario en tripadvisor. Estamos muy contentos que su estancia en nuestro hotel fue agradable.
Si volveras a Florencia esperamos verlos de nuevo en nuestro hotel.
Arrivederci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#81 of 410 in Florence
832 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,282 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#45 of 410 in Florence
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 410 in Florence
455 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Florence
#118 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $94 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of the historic center of Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes' walk from the Duomo and from all the most important museums and churches of the city, and from the most famous boutique and fashion stores. The Cosimo de' Medici offers 26 rooms decorated with tastefull furnitures, all recently restaured, that will accommodate our guest in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Each room has a private, internal bathroom, and is equipped with: frigobar, safety box, air conditioning, telephone, TV with satellite and free Wifi access. The Hotel is located inside the restricted area to traffic (ZTL), thus, we shall communicate Your plate number to the police in order to let You have a free access by car. Besides this, we are pleased to offer parking spots for € 16 per day, on request, inside out courtyard. Our Reception, open 24 h a day, is at Your full assistance before, during and after Your stay for any need You may have. In particular, we will be pleased to arrange for You tours, to book museums and restaurants, to provide a babysitter for Your kids, and to store Your luggage (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing