We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,440)
Filter reviews
1,440 results
Traveler rating
670
599
124
31
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
599
124
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station great location hotel is located within walking distance recommend this hotel free wifi minute walk tea and coffee first floor the breakfast area stay there again pastries good size around the corner excellent hotel main station san lorenzo market
Filter
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 1,440 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Blocks away from the Duomo, San Lorenzo Market and Piazza de Santa Maria. We are from Chicago, USA and went to Florence on our honeymoon. Out of three other cities we visited in Europe, this hotel blows all others out of the water. The moment you walk in to the hotel, you smell this fresh, great smell from clean, just mopped floors. When we walked into our room, we had the floor-to-ceiling balcony door open to a nice breeze coming into our room. Beautiful, and clean rooms with unique antique looking furniture. Beds are comfy and you are simply just happy to be back to your hotel after having an amazing day walking the streets of Florence.

Breakfast is included each day, which was a very nice display of many options. All were delicious.

Above all, the best thing about this hotel was the staff. No matter who was at the front desk, they greeted you with a smile and cheerful "Ciao!" Extremely helpful, informative and just happy to do their job. We will without hestitation book with them again when we return for our 5 year anniversary.

Special thank you to Bea, one of the staff, who even assisted us 5 days AFTER we had stayed with them. We had 3 hours to spare on our way coming from Rome to catch a Florence train (which by the way the train is literally a block away). She remembered us immediately, let us leave our luggage there for 2 hours, so we could enjoy one more dinner in Florence before catching our train.

My husband and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in Florence.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor up and loved our room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Megan thank you very much for your wonderful review, we just do our best to make every guest feel at home.
We are very happy to have contributed to an unforgettable Italian honeymoon..!!!
We hope to see you soon maybe for one of your anniversary...!!!
Arrivederci...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I had a European honeymoon that started in London and we traveled all the way to Rome and back. Florence was by far the highlight of the trip and this hotel is a big reason why. I only know a little bit of Italian, but it did not matter because everyone at the desk spoke English and very well. We were greeted with smiles and just an overall warmness that made you feel like family right away. We were really early for check-in but they were able to get us a freshly mopped, extremely clean and wonderful smelling room right away. It was a good sized room (bigger than the London and Rome rooms) The location is great. just a couple minutes to the Duomo and San Lorenzo market. and Florence in general is a really walk-able city. There is a grocery store across the street which came in handy for bottles of water and snacks.
The staff is out of this world and really does go above and beyond. They made reservations to restaurants and museums for us and every morning and evening they were very welcoming and knew each of the guests. We would leave our key at the desk and we wouldn't even have to tell them which number we were, they knew, especially Bea. She was always smiling and always willing to do whatever she could to make our stay better.
On our way back up to London from Rome we stopped back in Florence for a few hours with no place to put our bags so we took a chance and asked her and she was more than helpful even let us freshen up in the bathroom.
We will be going back to Europe and more specifically Florence and when we do, we will be sure to stay here in fact i would live here if it was possible.I do not understand the negative reviews, but to each their own i guess. Take it from me, you would be doing yourself a disservice if you booked a stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear guest, we do not know how to thank you for the beautiful words used to describe us and our hotel. We are very happy to have contributed to an unforgettable honeymoon in Italy, we just do our best to make every guest feel like at home.
We really hope to see you soon..
Ciao..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here mid Sept 2013, loved it for several reasons. We had a nice room with Balcony onto street for people watching, double thermo windows closed out street noise when we needed them. Desk staff very friendly and helpful at booking museums hints etc. It was a great location for us as we took a train into Florence from Pisa and another out to Rome. SMN train station is literally 4 minutes away Breakfast was excellent, with eggs bacon and pastries and excellent coffee. Afternoon self serve coffee was a nice touch, same area Supermarket Soporini's across the street had great pizza sandwiches and lazagna etc for take out. we often ate in the terrace garden area, several tables . Downside: no elevator to second floor where we stayed, but if you can walk 6 hours a day to see this beautiful city you'll probably live with the extra flight of stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59DenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Den, there are not enough words to thank you infinitely for your review.
We were really pleased to have contributed to make your stay in Florence memorable and we hope to see you again..
Arrivederci..!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the Florence portion of our trip. They place was great. It is very close to the train station, so it was very easy to get in and out of Florence. The staff was very helpful and their restaurant suggestions were very good. We would stay at this hotel again if given the choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Katrina, thank you very much for your lovely review.
We're really happy to hear that you enjoy your staying here and the restaurant that we recommended to you... We do simply our best to make your staying here one of the best in italia...:-)
Hoping to see you soon and next time we'll give to you new suggestion to enjoy our italian cuisine..!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A wonderful hotel, close to SMN train station, within easy reach of the major historical attractions Florence has to offer. We stayed in room 210 which faced on to the street. The room was triple glazed, so we didnt hear any noise. Room was faultless. The staff were very friendly and gave good advice. Breakfast was good too, the lady dispensing the morning expresso was delightful too. Would recommend this hotel and would visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milgar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are glad you enjoyed the room that we gave and also our staff...
Hoping to see you soon to appreciate again our hotel and our italian coffee..
Arrivederci..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews