We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Ranked #82 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October. The location was perfect for our needs being just a stone's throw from the train station. We had room 126 which faced the internal courtyard. We booked through Expedia.com.au about 6 months before-hand and secured the room while on sale at a reduced-price (AUD$91 per night)

The Good things:
Location; super-close to the station and walking distance to everything else.
Extremely helpful and friendly 24/7 reception
Comfortable bed
Very reasonably-priced mini-bar
Never ran out of hot water
No street noise
Elevator
Breakfast buffet; the best of our month-long stay in Italy.
Little balcony; which was excellent to string a clothes-line which is necessary on long trips.
In-room safe
Wi-fi worked perfectly in the room

The Not-so-Good things:
Shower was on the small side and the door didn't close properly
Courtyard view is nothing special but it meant we didn't get street noise
No kettle to make tea, but this is the norm in Europe.
No face-cloths, but again this is the norm in Europe.

The Bad things:
Nothing

Overall:
I'd return to this hotel in a flash. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

We are happy to read that your stay in our hotel has been wonderful!! Thank you so much for your good words and we'll try to fix it all our small defects. Guest's suggestions are always appreciate :) See you soon!!!!!! regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had no problems with the reservation. When we arrived, they easily found our reservation in their computer. The people at the reception speak italian, english and french which was great for us. Our room was on the second floor counting the ground floor as zero. They had an elevator that went up to the first floor. We used the stairs for the second floor. But they had another service elevator for the luggage that went up to the second floor. No problem there. The room was large and well decorated and quite modern. The bathroom was well equipped. Our room window was in fact a door with a small balcony that was right over the street in front of the hotel. At night it was not noisy at all. Internet worked flawlessly. Breakfast is included with the room. They served cappuccinos, regular coffee etc... They had bread and a toaster, cereals, yogurt, muffins, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, ham and more.
The hotel is about 500ft from the train station, you walk with your luggage from there to the hotel. There is a McDo in front and an excellent chinese restaurant if you feel like it. The Duomo is about a 5 minute walk.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenisPerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Really really thank you, we have no words!!! :)
See you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Florence
1
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel was perfectly adequate for our 3 night stay in Florence. Very central location. Reception desk staff were very pleasant and helpful , especially Alexandra.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

It's a pleasure to read that you appreciated the work of the staff. Thank you so much!!!
we hope to see you soon!
regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights for our stay in Florence, This place so easy to find right next to train station, Excellent locations to the sights, Is on a main street with any amount of restraunts, cafes and markets. The staff were very friendly and always smiing and willing to help. The room was also full of charm and character, Very clean and reasonably sized. The breakfast was fantastic with a good variety. Would recommened this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjamin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We are very happy to know that everything has been fantastic :)
We hope to see you soon!
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our travel agent did not have this on the list, so we followed my wife's hunch and came here for our 4 nights in Florence.We would gladly come here again. Rooms comfortable, and staff MOST helpful, not only with the accommodation but with recommendations of place to eat and how to get to places we wanted to visit and making bookings for galleries.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you are satisfied of our service!!
regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Cosimo de' Medici with my family for just one night, but had a lovely experience there. The hotel was beautifully appointed, very clean, and the staff was very kind and prompt. Service--for any need-- was always happily given. And the location-- right near the train station--really couldn't be beat. Even though my family and I were not traveling by train, the location was still superb, as it was only a brief walk to all major sites, including the Duomo. The only downside is that it is a bit of a noisy area, given its proximity to the train station. And the walls are not terribly thick, meaning that one could hear the other hotel guests coming and going. Overall, though, the stay was very pleasant and I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for nice review and we promise you that for the next time we'll give you a very very quiet room :)
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon! Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in the apartment out the back and was very pleasantly surprised at the space and how quiet it was. We were close to all the tourist spots and even managed to go to one of the local restaurants - La Capannina - for some wonderful food. Great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen6358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thanks Karen, we are very happy that your experience here has been great!!
Florence is waiting for you again. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#60 of 410 in Florence
506 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#58 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#68 of 410 in Florence
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#50 of 410 in Florence
1,261 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#78 of 410 in Florence
1,487 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#72 of 410 in Florence
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#141 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $97 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of the historic center of Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes' walk from the Duomo and from all the most important museums and churches of the city, and from the most famous boutique and fashion stores. The Cosimo de' Medici offers 26 rooms decorated with tastefull furnitures, all recently restaured, that will accommodate our guest in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Each room has a private, internal bathroom, and is equipped with: frigobar, safety box, air conditioning, telephone, TV with satellite and free Wifi access. The Hotel is located inside the restricted area to traffic (ZTL), thus, we shall communicate Your plate number to the police in order to let You have a free access by car. Besides this, we are pleased to offer parking spots for € 16 per day, on request, inside out courtyard. Our Reception, open 24 h a day, is at Your full assistance before, during and after Your stay for any need You may have. In particular, we will be pleased to arrange for You tours, to book museums and restaurants, to provide a babysitter for Your kids, and to store Your luggage (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing