We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“a decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cosimo de'Medici

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
Ranked #94 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
1 review
“a decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had great time staying in this hotel. The location is very convenient, easily accessible to the main sightseeing spots and the train station. The room and public spaces are also exquisite! The staffs were also very helpful and nice. We wish to stay longer if possible. The only little problem was the noise coming from the washroom, perhaps caused by the ventilator.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peipei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    350
    77
    21
    12
See reviews for
162
384
50
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. I couldn't ask for more.
The breakfast was fantastic( best breakfast I've had in 4 weeks of traveling through Italy and Greece).
The room was very spacious and the shower was very clean.

Room Tip: Its very close to the train station so if you have an early train to catch its is most literally 2 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Had a hard time finding this hotel. Walked past it without realising. Luckily managed to spot the signboard when we back-tracked as we thought we walked too far down the road (we had a map showing the location but it was not too clear) This hotel is situated down a very narrow alley(that can fit in 1 car - & 1 car only). The alley leads to the carpark behind. It shared the building with several other hotels. The signages are on the side of the alley so don't expect to see a signboard along the main road.
After the initial difficulty, we found this hotel to be very good. Staff was friendly and cheery. Never failed to greet you as you move in and out of the hotel. Room was clean and big(we had a triple room for some reason). If you want breakfast, you have to inform them the night before. Otherwise you can get breakfast from the shops nearby or at the nearby train station (a mere 5 minutes stroll). They provide coffee and tea the whole day in the common room. If you drive, there are parking charges but it is reasonable. I think it's value for money especially for a hotel in europe.
We rented a car when we were there to go to The Mall and Space outlet. Not difficult to go to those places but we lost our way on the 2 nights we drove back to the hotel thanks to the one way streets in Florence. This hotel is not in the FTZ but the roads leading to it are so we had to ensure we come back only after 7.30pm.
If you want to visit the Duomo and attractions around Florence, they are all within walking distance.
A great place to stay if you are on a budget and don't plan to drive. Very close to train station that will bring you to other Italian cities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lankk97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Booked for 3 nights for my family of 4 in a quad room. A couple of weeks before arriving, I changed and cancelled the reservation to 2 nights but was charged double the rate for the 2nd night which was very expensive. The hotel is located off the street and the entrance to the hotel is very narrow and you cannot turn directly into the hotel from the street.
The staff were very helpful but was surprised that our rooms were at the back of the hotel facing the car park. Although the room was spacious, very basic and had a small kitchen and bathroom, it wasn't what we had expected in terms of security and staying in the hotel.
The location is handy but for the price of what we paid, I would consider other options.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellie015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had a great experience staying at Hotel Cosimo de'Medici while in Florence in November 2011. The hotel staff were very professional and helpful, the room we had was huge with a great king bed and sleeper sofa for my daughter, large flat screen TV, very nice large bathroom with shower and clawfoot tub. Also we had a small balcony overlooking a quaint courtyard below. It was quiet and the full breakfast included in the price of the room was amazing. They had a computer available for free use with WiFi in the lobby and the location (5 minute walk from the train station) in the middle of Florence was convenient to everything, we walked everywhere from there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Florence.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdrNiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

The hotel is very near to the SMN train station (5min walk), very convenient if you are carrying heavy luggages. We were surprised at how fast & easy to locate the hotel. Exit on the left of the train station, cross the traffic light, then walk towards the right past Mcdonalds. First street, turn left. The hotel is a few more steps ahead on the opposite side.

We stayed in a modern room on the 2nd floor, it was spacious and clean & even had a small balcony overlooking the main street. The bathroom was not that small as I thought from reading the earlier tripadvisor reviews. Though the elevator did not reach the 2nd floor (it only reached 1st floor), the hotel staff gladly helped carry our luggages to our room (thru their service lift). Breakfast was nice.There is also a computer at the lobby where you can surf the internet for free. Free wifi available in the room.

The frontdesk staff of the hotel was very friendly & helpful. Nice people.

There is also a supermarket opposite the hotel. Buy your mineral water here (less than Euro 0.50 for 1.5litres). San Lorenzo market is 5min walk, Duomo 5min, Piazza Signoria 10min, Ponte Vecchio 10min. Everything is within walking distance.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again. Thank you, Cosimo de Medici hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a modern room. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room further away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wienprater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel is one of a number tucked away off the main street from the central station. It is old and not very pleasant at all. Our room was accessed off a service corridor, between two switchboard cupboards. The room was enormous for Italian standards. Unfortunately the bathroom was tiny with the ground floor window unable to be effectively secured. Not a place we'd stay at again.

Room Tip: Hard to say, ours was less than satisfactory
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybee754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#75 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#118 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#129 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
San Lorenzo
Globus Hotel
Globus Hotel
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosimo de'Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de'Medici

Property: Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#140 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de'Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of the historic center of Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes' walk from the Duomo and from all the most important museums and churches of the city, and from the most famous boutique and fashion stores. Nevertheless, it is locates out of the restricted area and can be reached by cars. The Cosimo de' Medici offers 26 rooms decorated with tastefull furnitures, all recently restaured, that will accommodate our guest in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Each room has a private, internal bathroom, and is equipped with: frigobar, safety box, air conditioning, telephone, TV with satellite and free Wifi access. In addition to this, a small parking area can be booked for only 15 euro per day. Our Reception, open 24 h a day, is at Your full assistance before, during and after Your stay for any need You may have. In particular, we will be pleased to arrange for You tours, to book museums and restaurants, to provide a babysitter for Your kids, and to store Your luggage (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de'Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing