We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from Florence attractions”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of A Firenze da Paolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Firenze da Paolo
Ranked #379 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Far from Florence attractions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed with my friend at this Bed and Breakfast for 3 nights. We booked it because I read the reviews and thought it was ok. In fact it is OK. But nothing more. Our room was big and bathroom was clean. No air conditioner (40 degrees temperature). Kitchen appeared to be clean but breakfast was terrible. We had two little nutella packages with a croissant and toast. Some jelly and butter. THAT'S IT. Milk and coffee and a orange juice pack. Frankly that was the worst breakfast I had during my whole trip. I don't eat jelly or nutella so I was left with toast and butter. The B&B is very far from the tourists attractions. It's a 30 minutes walk at least and I did not feel safe at night. You can go to Florence's main station with the bus but it only drives until 24:00. Then you have to pay for a taxi (~12-15 euros). We met Paolo for 5 mins and he seemed to be very friendly but he did not speak english very well. To be honest no one in the city spoke english very well. I would not come back. There are certainly thousands of B&B's within the city for the same price. Driving with the bus every day was really exhaustive and two girls alone walking through Florence's suburbs is not a good idea... It has the potential but it still needs a lot of improvements.

Room Tip: Get the room with private bathroom or you'll have to share it with 2 other people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    13
    3
    10
See reviews for
12
44
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My partner and I, have stayed here a few times. It is by far The most wonderful b&b to stay in. Paolo is a true italian. Friendly, welcomes us back, brilliant personality, hospitable, kind and loves to clean! Which is brilliant! It's spotless! Everyone would love a Paolo in their lives. The bed is lovely. This is perfect for relaxed and easygoing people. It's not a hotel. You treat it like your home. We had the nord room, which has a cute balcony. Only 10 mins on a bus to santa maria. You won't find a better place for the money, its outstanding. We look forward to seeing Paolo every time we book to go to Florence. He even made us coffee when we arrived. Italian style. Don't miss it. Bargain value. And we had a sneak peak of him singing opera whilst cleaning! Brilliant! He will make your stay. Xxxxx

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights here. I read reviews prior to contact and let paolo know our arrival time so he would be there and we could get in. The place is very hard to find and not in a very nice area. We didn't feel overly safe at night. It's about 10-15 bus ride to the centre which isn't bad but it's not ideal and we wouldn't do it again.

The room was clean and spacious and the share toilet was clean and decent too. We never had problems.

The breakfast is very average. Packet croissant and biscuits which tasted stale.

Probably wouldn't stay here again or recommend to friends although we did pay 30euro a night for both of us.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hlsad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

I chose this hotel because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. I must have missed something, because my experience didn't match the other reviews.

Thanks to my GPS unit we found the place no problem. But we encountered our first problem - no parking. You can't park at the property and the streets are COMPLETELY full. Once we found a small (really small!) parking space a few blocks away, we tried to find the actual property. My expectation was a hotel room with a manager. In reality it is like an office building. You cannot get into the building without a key. There is no one to help you onsite. I was given an address, but that only gets you to the building. We had to search to find the actual floor and room number. Luckily I remembered to bring the hotel phone number with me. But we didn't have a phone! And good luck finding one nearby. No one would help. Finally a nice lady and her 2 small kids stopped because we looked so wore out by this point and called for us. Thank goodness! Paulo showed up a short while later with keys and some basic instructions. Finally we were in!

The room itself is decent size and the bathroom acceptable. But the floors are all tile and the suite of rooms is quite noisy. The provided breakfast is reasonable - nothing fancy. There is not much around the building in the way of restaurants. Fortunately, a big grocery store is about 2 long blocks away.

Would I recommend this hotel? Only if you are familiar with Florence, have a phone with you, and you call Paulo BEFORE you arrive so that he can meet you. Wandering blindly around was not fun!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMoparIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Friendly English-speaking Paolo was very helpful to plan our stay in Florence (museums, restaurants, etc). This is regular 2 bedroom apartment with 1 bathroom (little bit inconvenience with 3 couples in the apartment). You have to use regular city bus to get here (we got bus drivers' strike during the our stay :().

Room Tip: ask room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Located about a 10 minute bus ride outside of the main Florence centre, Paolo's B & B represents amazing value considering prices closer to the centre of Florence. Located in a residential area, this B & B is a flat in a block that has been done up as a b & b, with 3 rooms (one with private bathroom, the other 2 with shared bathroom) and a shared kitchen. We stayed in one of the rooms with the shared bathroom, room was decent size, clean and with a nice little balcony. Shared bathroom was modern and kept very clean, during our 4 night stay Paolo came every day to clean the property. Kitchen was good and small breakfast was provided in the price (croissant, tea, coffee etc). Also useful if you are on a budget and want to eat in cheaply rather than eating out one night. Paolo was very friendly and helpful in our interaction with him which made communication with him easy despite us knowing no Italian and his English being quite limited. Only drawback was that as it is a block of flats, the walls dont seem particularly thick so noise can travel through, though I'm a deep sleeper so didnt really bother me. However, the main selling point of this B & B is definitely the excellent price, for our room with the shared bathroom we paid just under 40 euros a night which worked out to just over £30 a night (inc. the small breakfast), unbeatable value. A bus ticket into the city costs only a euro, the bus stop is 2 mins from the B & B and a 10 minute ride in, bus no 22 or 57 (i think), regular service- we never waited longer than 5 mins.
All in all, definitely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

a firenze da paolo is located in an apartment at a block.it has three rooms and two bathrooms one private and one that is shared by two rooms and a kitchen.we stayed there seven people so we booked all the rooms and had it for ourselves,so the common bathroom was not a problem.paolo is a very friendly man.he gave us a lot of information and tips.the hotel is close to a bus station which takes you to the city center.the breakfast was left for us from the previous night and was quite nice.it also has a parking space for 8 euros if you like which was very convenient for us because we traveled by car

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiavla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Bed & Breakfast Da Mila
#326 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Pitti
Bed and Breakfast Firenze Lorenzo&Lorenzo
B&B Firenze Citta
#169 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A Beautiful Florence
#310 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
The Little Garden
#580 of 659 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Camere Bea
#183 of 297 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Firenze da Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Firenze da Paolo

Property: A Firenze da Paolo
Address: Via Maria Malibran 63, 50127, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your A Firenze da Paolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing