We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use city bus”
Review of A Firenze da Paolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Firenze da Paolo
Ranked #351 of 651 Florence B&B and Inns
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Use city bus”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Friendly English-speaking Paolo was very helpful to plan our stay in Florence (museums, restaurants, etc). This is regular 2 bedroom apartment with 1 bathroom (little bit inconvenience with 3 couples in the apartment). You have to use regular city bus to get here (we got bus drivers' strike during the our stay :().

Room Tip: ask room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
13
49
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Located about a 10 minute bus ride outside of the main Florence centre, Paolo's B & B represents amazing value considering prices closer to the centre of Florence. Located in a residential area, this B & B is a flat in a block that has been done up as a b & b, with 3 rooms (one with private bathroom, the other 2 with shared bathroom) and a shared kitchen. We stayed in one of the rooms with the shared bathroom, room was decent size, clean and with a nice little balcony. Shared bathroom was modern and kept very clean, during our 4 night stay Paolo came every day to clean the property. Kitchen was good and small breakfast was provided in the price (croissant, tea, coffee etc). Also useful if you are on a budget and want to eat in cheaply rather than eating out one night. Paolo was very friendly and helpful in our interaction with him which made communication with him easy despite us knowing no Italian and his English being quite limited. Only drawback was that as it is a block of flats, the walls dont seem particularly thick so noise can travel through, though I'm a deep sleeper so didnt really bother me. However, the main selling point of this B & B is definitely the excellent price, for our room with the shared bathroom we paid just under 40 euros a night which worked out to just over £30 a night (inc. the small breakfast), unbeatable value. A bus ticket into the city costs only a euro, the bus stop is 2 mins from the B & B and a 10 minute ride in, bus no 22 or 57 (i think), regular service- we never waited longer than 5 mins.
All in all, definitely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

a firenze da paolo is located in an apartment at a block.it has three rooms and two bathrooms one private and one that is shared by two rooms and a kitchen.we stayed there seven people so we booked all the rooms and had it for ourselves,so the common bathroom was not a problem.paolo is a very friendly man.he gave us a lot of information and tips.the hotel is close to a bus station which takes you to the city center.the breakfast was left for us from the previous night and was quite nice.it also has a parking space for 8 euros if you like which was very convenient for us because we traveled by car

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiavla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We were late arriving and phoned Paolo who came within 10 minutes to greet us at the apartment. He was very helpful in giving information about the best places to see and even gave us a lift back down town to start our sightseeing. The place was very clean and quiet and we soon felt at home. I would not hesitate in staying there again or recommending it to others. I read the reviews on tripadvisor before booking and was very happy with my choice. A good choice for anyone including families because of the kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed two nights over the Easter weekend. On this point I would like to emphasize the excellent value this place offers, at roughly half the price of its competitors during one of the busiest tourist times in the city.

The location is the only real weak point I can think of. This place is out west from the tourist area, in the regular residential district, accessible by bus (#22 I think, but you should double-check it on google maps or by emailing Paolo himself; the hostel web site doesn't specify). The hostel is actually a flat in which you rent a separate room, and share the kitchen and bathroom with the occupants of the other rooms. The apartment building in which the flat is located is on a very obscure street that is actually a parking lot, and which my girlfriend and I had A LOT of difficulty finding on our own, despite printed google map directions. We tried asking all the locals we could find, including on the street, in the nearby Runner Pizza, and a bar down the street. No one had any idea where it was, and the only way we eventually got there was because a very helpful guy drove us over in his GPS-equipped car. We later figured out that the street sign indicating the apartment complex is camouflaged by the construction scaffolding behind it. Summarily, take extra care to figure out how to get here.

Once you do arrive, however, you'll find it is a fully decorated apartment that feels very cozy and homey. Staying here felt like being a guest at a friend's house. Our room even had a rocking chair. Everything appeared clean and neat, well-arranged, and spacious. Greeting you upon entrance is a handful of sweets and some bottled water, which is admittedly nothing to make a decision over, but is nonetheless a charming gesture. The kitchen is also nice and very clean. The stove is gas-operated, and there is no conventional oven. The bathroom is of your typical size, had hot water no matter how late we woke up, and did not generally disappoint. Summarily, the cleanliness and quality of the rooms was very good, and in some ways even better than what I got in actual hotels.

The place is run by Paolo and his associate Marco. We never got to meet Paolo, but from the brief email correspondence I shared with him, he seems quite nice and able to speak English as well as any other Italian who deals with English-speaking tourists. Marco does not, however, but he was exceedingly friendly and hospitable, and we managed to get all the information we needed through signs and gestures. Because of our difficulty with finding the place, we arrived much later than we told Paolo we would, so that after making him wait for over an hour well into the early night, we had to call him to make the 20 minute drive from his house to check us in. Despite the difficulty, he appeared quite gracious about it, and we met Marco promptly afterward. So considering the difficulties we imposed on them, I'd say the service was far friendlier than one would expect of a hotel or hostel.

Finally, there is a small breakfast included into the price, consisting of yogurt, toast, and pastry. There might have been something else that we missed, as we always had to rush out without fully eating, but don't expect a full meal. Still, it was nice and tastier than you might get in another cheap B&B (if you get anything at all).

Summarily, this is a great place whose only detraction (and I presume the reason for its exceedingly low price) is its distance from the historical city center. There is at least one bus that will get you there from the train station, however, and if the bus stops running (as it did for us on the night of Easter Sunday), the half-hour walk is quite safe. The level of quality you get here is more than comparable with anything you might expect from other well-rated B&Bs and hotels, and the price is among the lowest I have ever paid for accommodation.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Maison Etoile
#77 of 310 in Florence
17 reviews
A Beautiful Florence
#466 of 651 in Florence
103 reviews
L'Aranceto Guest House
#36 of 310 in Florence
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Lucrezia
#43 of 310 in Florence
116 reviews
Bed & Breakfast Da Mila
#328 of 651 in Florence
81 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Karaba
Soggiorno Karaba
#448 of 651 in Florence
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Firenze da Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Firenze da Paolo

Property: A Firenze da Paolo
Address: Via Maria Malibran 63, 50127, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Firenze da Paolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing