We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Alfani al David
Ranked #19 of 297 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best stay of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Regrettably its taken a long time to send this review.I was unwell on returning to Australia,and then
kept procrastinating.Nevertheless left it on my email list because I was determined to thank ,
Francesca of Alfani Al David with a proper reviiew .Francesca was a very friendly and helpful
host .The apartment there was very comfortable,elegant and had all the conveniences.
It is located very centrally in Firenze,with a major Gallery almost opposite.My wife and I loved being in Florence and we would gladly go back there and to Francesca's apartment if we can return to Italy again .It was definitely the best apartment we stayed in during our 10 weeks travelling around Europe. Thanks Richard and Alannah Davies

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humphrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franflo75, Proprietario at Palazzo Alfani al David, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are delighted to hear from you - and thank you so much for being so determined to get this review out. We truly understand how hard it is to make the time! Sorry to hear that you were ill - hope things are all great again now. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    50
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
140
150
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Tropez, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 kids) spent two nights in the Palazzo Alfani, and it was great, the owners are friendly and extremely helpful, the location is fantastic and within walking distance of most of the attractions in town, the Accademia is just a couple of feet away from the front door.
Probably one of the best places we stayed in with the kids, and we will be very happy to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franflo75, Proprietario at Palazzo Alfani al David, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
It was great having you - and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is my belated and very much overdue review of the most excellent lodgings in Florence. My husband and myself stayed in an apartment here in July and we truly did not want to leave. Francesca was courteous, friendly, and most helpful - plus charming and witty as well! We truly felt at home here. The building is within walking distance of everything, with a grocery store, coffee shop, and restaurant on the same block. One of our favorite activities was gazing out the window and people watching the tourists and vendors interact outside the Accademia on the street below.

Florence was beautiful, but our lodgings made the stay in this city that much better. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else and have recommended the rental to several others.

Thank you for a lovely stay and for having a sense of humor when I filled the entire building with the smell of cooked garlic! (Whoops!) Hopefully you will not hold this against us when we have a chance to return to your fair city in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatlinSTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franflo75, Proprietario at Palazzo Alfani al David, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Better late thank never! Thank you so much for finding the time to write - we know that it isn't easy. Cooking smells are part of Italian life, and we love garlic,so we look foward to you next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ommen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at palazzo Alfani in october 2012. Apart from it being in the right place it is a real treat to be in the inner city centre. Everything is at walking distance. Our host, Francesca, was always seeing to it that we felt at home. We drove by car to Florence, parking had been arranged by Palazzo Alfani and was excellent taken care off.
We'll come again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BdVR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franflo75, Proprietario at Palazzo Alfani al David, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We can't wait! It was fun and we look forward to doing it again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I spent four days in Palazzo Alfani in October 2011 with my three teenage children. I had chosen this place after having read the reviews on Trip Advisor and found that it was even better that what we expected. The location is ideal, opposite the Accademia and 5 mn walk away from the Duomo.
We had a two-bedroom apartment on the second foor, overlooking the street on one side and the patio on the other. The place is an old palace which has been refurbished and is just beautiful. The apartment was very spacious, with two separate bathrooms. The bedroom overlooking the street could be noisy because of the tourists queuing for the Accademia (and they start queuing early in the morning!!!).
The only thing we regretted was that we hardly saw Francesca at all. She gave us the key when we arrived and after that, seemed to be very busy with her own personal life and could not be bothered with us, so we could not rely on her for any tips or advice at all. She had even gone away for a long week-end when we left and we had to leave the key with someone else.
I had expected it to be like a bed and breakfast but it was more like an apartment rental (we had to get our own breakfast).
However that was the only negative point and I would strongly recommend this place to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipou96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franflo75, Proprietario at Palazzo Alfani al David, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hello. Firstly we are absolutely delighted that overall your stay was wonderful. That is very important to us. Next, you didn't feel looked after enough by me personally and that's not the feeling we like you to go away with.

Our accommodation is rather unique. We are not a hotel (we don't have a reception or concierge), we are not a bed and breakfast (we don't offer breakfast or other B&B services), yet we are not rental apartments either (we don't check you in and check you out and leave you on your own in the bit in the middle!).

The best way we can describe it is being neighbours! I, and my family, live in an apartment that is inside the building. We live our horribly busy lives (I only have two children, you have three, you know what I mean) right next door to you. We are very friendly neighbours - present if you need advice, a cup of tea and a chat, a cup of sugar or some restaurant tips - just knock on the door. Or nearly invisible and very out of the way if you enjoy your privacy and quiet.

Sometimes I have to rush out and sort out a lost suitcase at an airport when another client is arriving, but I make sure that their key gets to them somehow. Sometimes I sneak a weekend away with the kids in the summer, as holidays are nearly impossible for us. Sometimes I join a couple of our clients for dinner in the evening round the corner at the local ristorante. Sometimes I cook a traditional cake and offer a slice to anyone to happens to knock at my door whilst there is still some left!

That's the best description for me - a good neighbour! Come back one day, knock on the door and we'll have a glass of vin santo and a couple of biscottini together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was there for 3 nights and totally enjoyed my stay there. The room was great for both 1A and 1B. Great location as it is very central and within walking distance to many tourists attraction. Right opposite to David too! More importantly, Francesca was wonderful and helpful in every way. I will strongly recommend Palazzo Alfani al David and I am already planning on my next trip to Florence and intend to stay there again. Faith - Singapore

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franflo75, Owner at Palazzo Alfani al David, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Truly - we count on it. Would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed on the second floor facing the bustling street - though it's not very noisy at night when the queues for the Accademia have disappeared - and were so pleased with the apartment. Two huge rooms, one with a frescoed ceiling and a spotless bathroom with top notch fittings. You can lean out of the window and see part of the Duomo - it's that central. Francesca is a delight, full of smiles and recommendations. The Pugi bakery just around the corner is a must for wonderful bread, focaccia and amaaaazing cakes. So nice to be able to take off on foot and discover the delights of Florence and nip back for a restorative break before you go out for the evening. Much better value than a hotel. We will come back. Grazie mille Francesca.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBTopCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franflo75, Proprietario at Palazzo Alfani al David, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello! The bread at Pugi is criminal - sooooooo good. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay - and hope to see you again perhaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#59 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Alfani al David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Alfani al David

Property: Palazzo Alfani al David
Address: Via Ricasoli 49, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 297 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Alfani al David 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic building in the centre of Florence, Palazzo Alfani al David offers elegant and refined accomodation directly in front of the Galleria dell'Accademia, the site of the famous David by Michelangelo. At Palazzo Alfani, you'll reside in an elegant vacation apartment in Florence, in an elegantly restored in the 17th century palace. The ideal choice for a couple or family stay. Stylish, well-lit and restored respecting historical tradition, the apartments of Palazzo Alfani al David are ideal for living and experiencing Florence in full freedom without giving up the comforts of a 4 star hotel. The Alfani family manages the residence directly like good neighbours and is at your disposal to provide suggestions for restaurants, food and wine tasting tours, and interesting places to see so you can discover the most authentic side of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Alfani al David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Alfani Al David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing