We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Accidental Tourist

Accidental Tourist
Ranked #18 of 330 Tours in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Accidental Tourist was born in the spring of 1998 offering the first single-day hands-on cooking class in Tuscany. We welcome the curious and open-minded traveler in the heart of our Tuscan homes, for an authentic yet magical experience. We take a maximum of 8 people, but will go with as few as one: we never leave the solo traveler behind. We welcome families with children as we know how challenging it can be to travel with the young ones in the Old Country. AND, we charge for our tours only if our guests are happy to pay for their day with us.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

This was an absolutely wonderful and memorable experience. Better than I could have imagined and very personal service. We got lost on the buses when trying to find the meeting point. They finally had us to get off and they picked us up. Needless to say, we were late but they were very accommodating. The home was inviting and the host was gracious. The food was simple, yet beautifully made. It was raining when we got there, but that had no effect on the beautiful views from the hilltop home. I'll be recommending to everyone if they are visiting Tuscany.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelingyogi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    11
    1
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulously fun day!! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wow, what a fabulous day!! :) Our tour guide, Steve, was great. An American who has been living in Italy for 40 years, he is a classically trained singer and he loves Italy and knows it well.

We started our tour in the vineyard (and olive oil production). Steve explained how both the olive oil was made and also the wine. Fascinating. Great to see all of the machines and cellars, and really get an interesting description of each of these processes ... and then of course there was taste testing of both the olive oil and wines. Wonderful experience.

The best part of the day was still to come. We drove through the Tuscan countryside to a little farmhouse where we learnt to make pasta. This probably became my favorite part of my visit to Italy. Steve guided us through pasta making and then the wonderful cook arrived and turned our pasta into the most divine lunch, that included some other wonderful Tuscan food. Yum!!! :)

The other accidental tourists on our trip were also great, and it is set up so that you can have fun together (or stay apart if you prefer). Really nicely done.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueZaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Day Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We put this day on our top ten life moments! The atmosphere was perfect in the Tuscan farmhouse built in the 1100s!!! Majla and Marco were the most generous hosts, with wine and stories that made us want to stay forever. Learning to make pasta was so much fun, and reminded us that the art of making food has been, for generations, a wonderful way we spend time laughing together and building precious memories. After traveling in Italy for two weeks, the one place on earth I wish I could go back to is Majla and Marco's home.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BunburyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake, california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Italian experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Majla and Marco gave us the best experience of our recent trip to Tuscany. Their company was warm, knowledgeable and felt like family, the class was the perfect balance of learning and fun and the food, including the pasta we made (!) was out of this world. We highly recommend their classes and tours and look forward to seeing them the next time we are in Tuscany. I am buying my pasta making machine this weekend after returning yesterday! Wendy and Marco

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WAT1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Accidental Great Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This tour absolutely made my trip memorable. We had a great time learning to make pasta, tasting olives and wine, and hearing stories of our guide's younger life growing up in Naples. Picked up near the Ponte Vecchio and traveled in a comfortable small van (there were six of us, a nice group from all over) through the winding roads of Chianti. The highlight was a fabulous farmhouse lunch prepared for us with the pasta we made and various sauces and scrumptious vegetables by the proprietress.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mosaiciste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Accidental Tourist also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Accidental Tourist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing