We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of My Friends Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
My Friends Guesthouse
Ranked #104 of 618 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The location is really great. 8 minutes walking from central station, and in walking distance to central market (leather market), Duomo, bridges, etc. Super friendly and helpful owner, Nadina :) Clean and neat place. I don't know was it only me or not, but it was a bit pricey. However, Nadina's tips for cheap and tasteful meals and gelato paid that off :D

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    25
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
25
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for 1 night in a mixed dorm at My Friends during our stay in Florence (June 2014). The hostel is located within walking distance from the main train station (SM Novela) and is near the city centre. The place was comfortably small and clean. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious enough to accommodate 6 people. What makes My Friends stand out from other hostels at which I stayed while traveling to other cities in Italy, is its super friendly and helpful innkeeper. Upon our arrival, she gave us drinks and a map of Florence. She indicated on the map useful info like where to go and what to eat (especially the affordable and delicious ones!). She even helped us send our clothes for laundry service so that we wouldn't waste time to do it ourselves and we could focus on exploring the city at ease. To go beyond her call of duty, she treated us with 2 bottles of beer (she said that was for us being her polite guests from Singapore :-)). That's so nice of her, four thumbs up! No wonder the hostel won Best Staff Award from Trip Advisor before. So, if you are looking for a nice place to stay in Florence that makes you feel like home, do look for My Friends! :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ariesdrache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just a short stroll from the main train station you come across this delight of a place through one of the cobblestone streets. From the moment my sister and I arrived we felt very welcomed by Nadina. She was very lovely and gave us some great tips about what to see and do in Florence including great places to eat. She recommended an amazing pizza place and a gelato place and let me tell you we were definitely not let down. We loved the location, very central and had a safe feeling to it. The only problem was that so many people shared one small bathroom. But this was to be expected in a hostel environment. Otherwise I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is after cheap accommodation with lovely and helpful hosts, great filling breakfast as well! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at My Friends Guesthouse on our third night in Europe and felt very comfortable. Nadina, the manager is sweet, welcoming and helpful. She gives you a very detailed map of the main attractions, restaurants, gelato, cafés, pubs, and markets upon arrival which is quite helpful. The breakfast includes pastries, croissants, jams and jellies, coffee, tea, etc. We enjoyed our stay and recommend her hostel endlessly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiJackson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This place was really good. The hostess is on top of everything. She gives you great information on the city including all the great local food and gelato tips. Which really set Florence up to be some of the best food on my 2 month trip. She is also really nice. The location is about 5 min from the train station and all the main sights are within 20 minutes walk. All through nice areas. The hostel is small but offers single beds which is really nice. Free breakfast every morning and tea and coffee whenever.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaz8610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a gem. It's small and clean. I felt very comfortable and content here. The lady who runs the hostel is really cool. Beds were really comfortable, I had a bedside light, I liked that. It's location is ideal. You can get tea or coffee in the kitchen any time. I'd highly recommend it, especially to anyone travelling on their own.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Dany House
#299 of 618 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Pitti
Il Magnifico B&B
Il Magnifico B&B
#67 of 618 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Relais Tiffany
B&B Relais Tiffany
#255 of 618 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agosti Bed & Breakfast
#153 of 618 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Il Grillo di Firenze
#18 of 618 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Il Giglio d'Oro
#5 of 618 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Friends Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Friends Guesthouse

Property: My Friends Guesthouse
Address: Via Faenza, 66, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 618 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your My Friends Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing