We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Hostel Gallo d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Ranked #20 of 311 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Very nice hostel, convenient location and owners very helpful. Breakfast good and staff very helpful in helping with advice on restaurants and things to see in Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Gallo d'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 197 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

Let me say i've never stayed in an hostel in my life. After a very bad hotel experience this was a good find. The owners gave me good suggestions, the room is good and comfy. Of course this is an hostel so it's not that silent but i have to say that the owners do their best to make people feel like welcome and home. Thanks !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The positives about this back packer hostel were the elevator (at last, no lugging heavy bags up multiple flights of stairs), the laundry, and most of all the atmosphere, and the warmth and friendliness of Samantha who is the heart and soul of the hostel and the unofficial tour advisor.
Her breakfasts were just wonderful and nothing was any trouble to her. The rooms were clean and comfortable and our room had its own bathroom and toilet facilities.
The hostel is located within reasonable walking distance of the Duomo and the Accademia (the David) and the bus stops almost at the front door.
The down side for us was the absence of air conditioning in the Florentine summer and this was a big negative for my partner and I who, in our 60s, are probably getting a bit too old for backpacker hostels.
Overall, however, this hostel was was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Excellent place. We loved the hostel. The service was also very good and we enjoyed the breakfast as well. Location is excellent and centrally located, yet avoids the noise of the tourists around.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzhoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I loved the service, the smiles and the helpful tips except the last tip. We were told that we could get on the bus and pay 2 euro heading to the train station. My friend and I ended up being fined 55 euro each on our way to the train station. So the false information put us in a really bad spot. Not too happy about it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traverso56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

There are so many things about this hostel that make your heart sing, for the 21 day traveling, staying in 7 hostels, this is the best bar none.
From the moment I walked in I was greeted by Matteo and Samantha, they gave me the espresso and sat me down for breakfast, they made me feel like a part of the family, at night, Thomas, the night ship worker, made us a pot of pasta and gave us wine, out of his own good heart, he refuse to take money, we sat down shared stories with other travelers around the world, laughs, jokes, in different languages but somehow we understood each others jokes and quips, fun place to be, I really recommend this place to anyone, I will book there in the future...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spirouetfantasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I spent three nights this hostel in June 2011 and choosing to stay here was a really great decision.

In an otherwise expensive city, I paid only €28 per night (a really competitive price) for a bed in a 6 bed dormitory (the dorm had its own bathroom and shower, and the use of another bathroom outside of the room in case the shower was in use). The dorms are cleaned and beds made daily and very clean overall and a clean towel is provided.

The €28 includes breakfast, which comprises juices, breakfast muffins, fruit, as much coffee as you want, bread+butter+condiments+access to toaster and some sort of pastry/dessert each day (e.g. tiramisu on the first morning - is it an Italian thing to eat this for breakfast??) Access to a few washing machines was useful. Also, free WiFi in all areas and use of two fast computers in the hall with internet access 24/7.

The people who run the place are extraordinarily friendly and helpful. They speak excellent English, chat with all of the guests, constantly offer to make you coffee for free! They lay out snacks/juices/water all day long which are really welcome after a hot day sightseeing or upon arrival. They recommended some really great restaurants to me (Mimmo's and Tito's, on a parallel street to Via Cavour) and gave me a map of Florence on arrival and helped me to find my bearings.

Having young, friendly staff really created a cool atmosphere in this hostel. Except for a couple of people, I found everybody really happy to chat, share travel advice and have a laugh.

With regard to sleeping arrangements, people were generally considerate of other guests when they came in late/left super-early etc. Unfortunately, the air conditioning in my room required an open balcony door (->street noises) to function and given that the AC itself sounded rather like a washing machine it got a little loud. I can't blame the hostel for snorers I suppose!

If I'm back in Florence on a budget, wouldn't hesitate to return here. Happy to recommend and that says a lot.

Room Tip: All rooms the same really!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmnire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#151 of 411 in Florence
312 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 311 in Florence
2,510 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#11 of 311 in Florence
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#31 of 311 in Florence
383 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#16 of 311 in Florence
858 reviews
7 Santi Hostel
#56 of 311 in Florence
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Gallo d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Gallo d'Oro

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 104, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 311 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $31 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What you see is what you get! There's no extra charge for breakfast, Internet/wi-fi or towels: they are all included!! 'Your day will start with our amazing breakfast!! Fresh squized orange juice, fruit salad, sandwiches, homemade cakes daily made by our chef and much much more....' At the reception you'll find Max & Silvia and the rest of our cool crew, who will assist you with a big smile and a city map, ready to suggest the best (and cheapest) restaurants, cool places to hang out, and events around Florence. Tours travel desk available with the best tours of the beautiful country-side, Chianti area and wine tasting, Siena and Pisa, walking tours, pub crawl, Museum reservations and more.... 'Don't miss our FREE buffet!! Twice a week, our staff will wait for you after your long day in Florence, to get together: Wednesday - Tex/Mex and beer Buffet Saturday - Organic Italian and wine Buffet' Our place is located in the city centre of Florence, only 5 min walk from The Accademia Galley, 10 min from the Duomo and 20 min from the train station. What are you waiting for....??? It's Gallo time!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Gallo d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Gallo d`Oro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing