We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do NOT look twice at this hotel! Run away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of AC Hotel Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Firenze
Ranked #164 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do NOT look twice at this hotel! Run away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this property because of some great reviews by Trip Advisor, which we have always consulted prior to making our choices. This hotel was the Standard (as opposed to an optional upgrade) for a part of a Globus Vacation package. We stayed in Rome, Florence and Venice, with this in the middle. The room was DARK. There are no mirrors in the room, other than the poorly lit one in the bathroom, that is impossible to use and see to properly apply makeup. I expect a magnifying mirror at a 3.5-to 4-star property; silly me, there was none. The A/C was NOT correctly functional the last two-of-three days we were there. Complaints were met with "we'll have someone look at it". You went to bed hot and humid after showering at night, kicked-off your bedsheets, and had to re-bathe in the morning because you woke up wet. You could adjust the thermostat to 20C (68F), but that was it, no lower, and that SHOULD have been enough. The fan control did nothing but make a blowing sound. I'm a Marriott Rewards member, but another family that was there had a multi-year Marriott Rewards Platinum member there (an attorney) because that's the only properties at which he stays, and he never came down to dinner while attempting to complain to anyone that would listen at Marriott corporate due to no redress from the front desk nor staff. Their room was directly above ours. Oh, and while we were sitting there, the A/C seemed to come on and cool down the hotel lobby/lounge area seating. But alas, NOT in our respective rooms. And this was on the second day. This went on to the third day and past with no relief.

Now let's talk about the poorly designed and awful bathroom. This hotel boasts it's a "designed by some famous Italian woman we should know, name-dropping some style expert" property.
-The bathroom door opens into the knees of the person on the toilet.
-The bidet, clear on the other side of the bathroom, was so close to the head of the tub, you couldn't use it without stepping your left leg into the top of the tub. If I'm laying in the bathtub, do you think I want to turn my head to the right to see where someone cleans their backside?
-The mirror (the only one in the room) was dark and had flourescents embedded into the mirror, so as not to reflect glare upon the observer.
-The sink was clear, thick glass, and the what can only be described as a metal-framed garage storage caddy under the sink placed purely as an afterthought that was turned sideways was where things like extra soaps or shower caps were stacked upon each other.
-The pipe from the clear sink drain to the wall was a cheap white flexible/expandable PVC low-rent apartment version of a temporary pipe. Are you kidding me?!

I don't care about the closet doors that don't hang square, droop in the middle and won't shut.

The thing that really sealed me writing this today was what happened with our luggage transfers. We leave a tip for maids every day, it's just appropriate. We were told to leave our suitcases in the room and not the hall, and they would retrieve them for transfer. I left them right by the door; you couldn't get into the room without physically pulling them out. Ten minutes after telling the desk that our bags were ready, I went upstairs to see if they were still there. They weren't, BUT, I noticed that the note we left for the maid ALL THE WAY ACROSS THE ROOM was still there, but the Euros were GONE! The porter had actually stolen the money meant for his co-worker! Are you kidding me?! I left more Euros for the maid.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeFunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    492
    223
    59
    30
See reviews for
198
510
38
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

First off, let me warn you that many other reviewers have stated that the hotel is located far away from the city and inconvenient to access the city. I will tell you that is false. It is VERY EASY to access the city via the tram which is a 3 minute walk from the hotel and only cost 1.2 euros. Tram takes about 5 minutes to get to the SMN Central Station where you can also catch buses to the airport. I paid about 9 Euros for a taxi from the central station. SMN Central Station is in the city center area.

AND, the location of this hotel is MUCH closer than the Sheraton and Hilton hotels.

Breakfast at the hotel is VERY nice and tasty. Unfortunately for those Gold and Platinum members, I was disappointed to find that there was no club lounge. There are not many restaurants in the area so I recommend eating in the city.

Rooms were small, but renovated and comfortable. Reception staff were helpful. Hotel was also beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very good hotel for a 4 Star - friendly staff, convenient parking if you get there by car, nice view from the roof terrace, just about right located in Florence, excellent value for money, stayed in the exec suite - very modern style and colors. Breakfast standard offering but very good quality! Recommended!

Room Tip: Exec suite is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is very modern, recently built. It is outside the city center, which is good if you are coming by car, but does not make it handy if you want to visit the city or need to be in the center for a business meeting.

Check-in was very slow, due to the number of people in the queue (mainly complaining that Internet was not working) and not having a separate concierge desk.

Rooms are nice and bed comfortable.

Breakfast was also "without praise nor shame"

Overall, not a bad experience. I would not crave for it but not particularly seek to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The AC Marriott in Florence can be compared to a Courtyard in the US. It is much more modern than most Courtyard. There were pros and cons to this hotel. Let me start with the pros. The hotel is fairly new and the service from those at the front desk is quite good. They do offer a nice selection of a buffet breakfast in the morning. I noticed there were comments that said it wasn't a shady part of town. Quite the quiet contrary it is a typical suburban area of Italy. We found nothing in the area feel unsafe. It is not in the city center but only one stop away with the tram. We took it every day with ease into the city center. It was a five minute ride. As for the cons the hotel had very thin walls did not make it easy to sleep in the evening sounds from the hallway next door and outside were easily heard outside of that we found our stay there to be most pleasant. It is not a five-star hotel but very typical of a Marriott courtyard type of stay. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good value and does not mind being a few minutes outside of the center of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATO39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

As with other reviews if you need or desire to be in the heart of old Florence this is not the hotel for you. If you don't mind being a 5 minute taxi, 20 minute walk to the train station then you will not be disappointed. Yes, breakfast is typically not included unless you booked the bed and breakfast rate. If not then the breakfast is 12 Euros, not outrageous given the area. The breakfast is fair and more typical of an American breakfast, fine but not great. My wife and I typically brought back wine and snacks for our evening meal to relax in our room.

The rooms are modern in design as is the hotel,in general, the staff is helpful and ready to please.

As a Marriott Platinum member, I like consistency of the hotels and recognition. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed for this level of hotel, remember to compare to an updated Courtyard Marriott and you will know what to expect just with a more modern twist. I would not compare to a full Marriott, Renaissance or the Boscolo hotels which are a little more upscale.

We alternated walking or taking a taxi. The taxi rates ranged from 5.50 Euros up to 8.00 Euros for us and the walks ranged from 20 - 30 minutes depending on distance and route. A local grocery is an easy walk if you want dinner in your room to supplement a late lunch. We had the bar open wine for us that we picked up either locally or on the wine tour we went on.

If you are a Marriott fan I highly recommend, if you need to be in the heart of the noisy city and crowds then maybe this is not the option for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelG1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I am usually very pleased with Marriott stays.This hotel though was a very different experience.
The location is a bit out of the way but made manageable by a tram nearby. The room was adequate and clean. Aside from those two reflections, there was little else that was positive.
There is no internet provided without a 9-10 euro charge, even in the lobby. And there is also no a la carte option for breakfast, not even for a cup of coffee! .
One cup of coffee can therefore cost 12 euro. (There is also no complimentary coffee in either the lobby or the room, as there is in many other Marriotts). And since the hotel is not centrally located, it can be a 20 minute excursion for both wifi and coffee. The staff was uneven in temperament and expertise. If I return to Florence, it will most likely not be to the AC Firenze.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acfirenze, Direttore at AC Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Madame,

First of all, I would like to introduce myself, my name is Jean Tayar and I am the hotel general manager. Regarding the issues that you wrote, I would like to inform you that in the AC Hotels by Marriot, for guests who decide to make the reservation by using the Marriott members points, breakfast is not included and should any of these guests decide to have breakfast at the restaurant, the cost would be 12,00 € per person, otherwise, they can always decide to have breakfast at the hotel's bar by chossing from the bar menù. Regarding the complimentary coffee, always the this new Marriott hotel brand, we do not have the executive lounge reserved to the members, this service is not provided by this new hotel brand.

Please also note that the hotel is located at 10/15 minutes walking for the main city center area, and at less than 100 meters from our hotel, you can find at least 7 bars and 11 restaurant.

I remain at your complete disposal for any further information you may require

Sincerely yours

Jean Tayar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#144 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#95 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UNA Hotel Vittoria
#128 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#90 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#97 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Firenze

Property: AC Hotel Firenze
Address: Via Luciano Bausi, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#100 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Hotel Firenze is located near Porta al Prato Station and Leopolda Station Exhibition Centre. Just 10 minutes walking distance or 5 minutes by tram from Santa Maria Novella Station and historic centre of Florence allows you to live the art experience of a lifetime. Michelangelo's David, Giotto's Tower, Uffizi, Piazza della Signoria, Neptune Fountain, Ponte Vecchio and Pitti Palace are just minutes away. This modern Firenze hotel offers an array of services that provide you comfort and relaxation beyond expectations: in-room safety-box, mini bar, 24h room service, WiFi Internet, and restaurant. After a stop in the fitness centre, sample a selection of international dishes in the contemporary setting of the restaurant, where Chef Vincenzo Crapa will delight your senses. AC Hotel Firenze is also a fantastic choice for holding seminars, business meetings, conventions, and any other type of event. Right Next to the Opera di Firenze Theater and Maggio Fiorentino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Firenze Florence
Ac Firenze Hotel Florence
Ac Hotel Florence
Ac Hotels Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing