We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front desk great rooms great service great - but” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AC Hotel Firenze
Ranked #164 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Front desk great rooms great service great - but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The only thing negative about this hotel is location - if u are site seeing once u r out u r out- example leave at 9:30 go to Pitti palace and Boboli gardens - 6pm mass at st. Croce church and beautiful dinner at cantinatta antinori resturant - home by 9:30 pm plus chilling out - really not all that bad just a little inconvient

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spook1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    486
    219
    58
    29
See reviews for
196
509
37
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff were excellent. They were attentive an efficient. The rooms are modern and practical. This hotel an its staff are deserving of the awards they receive. At only 4 stars they are far superior too many 5 star hotels I have stayed at. An I should mention the breakfast which had a extensive amount to choose from. an once again the staff were very attentive. Thank you for making my stay so very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The clientele here were mostly American tourists. While the hotel is modern and clean, the hotel staff is friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts are quite nice, these advantages don't outweigh the negatives. Namely, one is able to hear everything - and I mean everything - through the room walls. The other drawback is that the hotel is a 20 minute walk to city center, which is not such a bad shortcoming alone, but the lack of nearby restaurants is a deterrent. And when exploring all day, the hotel’s location makes it difficult to find good dinner options without resorting to eating at the hotel's restaurant or trekking all the way back to the center city. Other reviewers have commented on a few things that turned out not to be true. For example, there is no free shuttle from the hotel to the city; in fact, a previous reviewer was riding the public bus without a ticket (which carries a 200+ euro fine, if caught). There is no free minibar, even for platinum elite Marriot members, as the pricelist was clearly noted on the fridge and I asked. WiFi was only free due to my Marriott status. In the evening, limited appetizers (mostly fried finger foods) are offered, likely to entice guests to order drinks. The drinks are expensive, and despite what other reviewers have said, they are not free for elite members. I don’t think I got a room upgrade, either. I’m not sure I would really recommend this hotel – the paper-thin walls were just unbearable. If you decide to stay here, bring your hair conditioner -- an amenity that not provided, which is typical of European hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellWornPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel conforms to the standards of the Marriott hotel chain, so there were no bad surprises.
The facilities are modern and well-maintained; the hotel itself and the rooms are clean.

The breakfast is decent: good choice and good quality of the food offered.

The hotel is situated in a residential area about 15-20 minutes on foot from the center of Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokely101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I had a great stay at this hotel for a week in April. We used it as a base to visit Florence as well as tour around Tuscany. The hotel is very modern in its decor and also very European. Since it became a part of the Marriott chain last year, people used to the Marriott here, expect it to be like other Marriotts. However, the hotel still retains its Italian character, which to me is a plus. The hotel staff is a bit stretched handling front desk reception along with phones and part concierge.

However, we met a young man at the front desk, Massimo, who went above and beyond his duty to make us comfortable and welcomed. He was always there with a big smile to help us with our directions, restuarant reservations and all the other questions tourists have. He made our hotel stay experience very special.

Note to GM: Jean, I have been a loyal memeber with Marriott for many years and also own Marriott property. I would like to recognize Massimo for his excellent service during our stay from April 10 through the 17th. He is an exceptional young man and the best we saw in our seven days at your hotel. Please commend him for his excellent guest services skills; he is a natural and a real asset to your hotel. As you know, it is the staff that makes or breaks the business, not the structure! Thanks.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, so noise is not a problem. I always like high floors for the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gelatomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

At best I give this dorm styled motel a poor only because the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. For quiet and quality, it is low ended. If you don't mind hearing someone urinating on one side of your room while listening to someone on the other side dressing and walking around, you will not mind. Thank goodness nobody got "personal" during my stay. Other people coming and going on the elevator agreed, this was not a good location, noisy rooms, hearing people merely closing their doors from every end of the floor, and the service was mixed. Six nights allows for a sound review.
Quality is in the eyes of beholder and what services one expects. Cab drivers told me this was NOT a good area and watched me walk back into hotel after dropping me off.
Staff advised, "...area is safe, but ONLY WALK DOWN ONE STREET".
FYI: I was told by another Marriott in Italy, AC Marriotts are a owned by a Spanish Corp. and NOT A LUXURY CHAIN. I will NOT be staying here or any AC Marriott again.

Room Tip: Avoid having a room near elevator. Both sides of hotel have BAD views...if you wish calling them vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RFRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is very nice and the rooms are modern anf clean. I am a Marriott platinum member but they didn't offer free breakfast. I am not sure hpw they got away with it though they are part of the Marriott network. There is a tram stop near by and you can walk to it in 5 minutes. Firenze Smn station is 15-20 minutes by walk or you can take the tram. The business center is NOT free and charges more than 50 cents per minute. So be careful if you are using it. I had to print my uffizi reservation and completed it in less than 2 minutes but paid close to 2 euros. The business center should have been free with limited pages to print (like 10 pages per guest). We never tried anything at the hotel's restaurant so I cannot comment on that. Overall a pleasent 5 night stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#144 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#87 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UNA Hotel Vittoria
#126 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#122 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Firenze

Property: AC Hotel Firenze
Address: Via Luciano Bausi, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#100 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Hotel Firenze is located near Porta al Prato Station and Leopolda Station Exhibition Centre. Just 10 minutes walking distance or 5 minutes by tram from Santa Maria Novella Station and historic centre of Florence allows you to live the art experience of a lifetime. Michelangelo's David, Giotto's Tower, Uffizi, Piazza della Signoria, Neptune Fountain, Ponte Vecchio and Pitti Palace are just minutes away. This modern Firenze hotel offers an array of services that provide you comfort and relaxation beyond expectations: in-room safety-box, mini bar, 24h room service, WiFi Internet, and restaurant. After a stop in the fitness centre, sample a selection of international dishes in the contemporary setting of the restaurant, where Chef Vincenzo Crapa will delight your senses. AC Hotel Firenze is also a fantastic choice for holding seminars, business meetings, conventions, and any other type of event. Right Next to the Opera di Firenze Theater and Maggio Fiorentino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AC Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Firenze Florence
Ac Firenze Hotel Florence
Ac Hotel Florence
Ac Hotels Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing