We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its an OK hotel as long as you dont consider it to be a Marriott”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of AC Hotel Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Firenze
Ranked #165 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
243 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Its an OK hotel as long as you dont consider it to be a Marriott”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Im not so sure that Marriott understands the implication of what they have done. They managed to co-brand an existing italian hotel chain but forgot to implement the Marriott standards. So U have a hotel that carries Marriott in its name and thats really sums it up. (strangely enough Marriott used a different letter type here in their logo. Wonder why????)

This hotel should be reviewed in its on right and not as Marriott. Its a descent 4 star hotel. Nice rooms. Nice bathroom. Internet is fast.

Breakfast is a weak point. It is rather basic. Surely not a 4 star quality. Breakfast starts at 7.00am which is rather late considering that the hotel tries to market itself as a business hotel.

Location is nothing special. A good 15 minute walk will get you the Duomo.

Front desk staff are helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    492
    223
    59
    30
See reviews for
198
510
38
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
358 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely modern hotel, right in the heart of Florence. Excellent service. Underground parking (with a fee) that is excellent in Italy where finding a parking place is exremely difficult.

WONDERFUL lounge bar. So packed one night that there wasn't a table to order a light dinner from, so they opened up the restaurant after hours for us and then for about 5 more tables of guests.

Just lovely and highly recommended.

PS: In Italy, A.C. is pronounced Ah Chee! Very important if you are asking for directions!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RW P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is part of the Marriott brand but is their newer AC hotel division. I am not sure what AC stands for but maybe it means not courtyard. This hotel has some aspects like a courtyard but the some others like a Marriott. The rooms are like a courtyard with bathrooms that look like they belong in a W hotel. A bit to modern with glass sinks as they show everything that you used while getting ready. They are like a Marriott in prices including 10 Euro per night for the internet. The lobby is nice but than they have desks in It that doubles as tables for lunch, dinner and drinks. Really not a comfortable situation. The hotel is set off by itself so I ordered room service as there is really no close restaurants.

The hotel, is a good 25 min walk to the historic center.

It is a very modern hotel with glass everywhere. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast is only fair.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you have stayed in Marriott hotels and are accustomed to the clean, comfortable rooms, then don't worry this is the place.

Location is a bit far from the city center, but it is 5 minute walk from the station which can get you where ever you would like to go. We ended up taking a taxi a couple of times when were were just too tired to walk any further.

The staff was very friendly and we had no problems with anyone. On the contrary our stay was made special by some very friendly staff. One particular young lady at the breakfast buffet would bring fresh strawberries for my daughter every morning. My daughter's would wait for her to come every morning and would try to communicate with her new best friend. If the management of Marriott reads this please commend her for going above and beyond, and being as friendly as a person can be.

The rooms are very clean and very comfortable, although a bit small in size. If you want something that is a bit more authentic Italian, there are plenty of other places to stay. If you want a clean, modern, comfortable place then like I said earlier you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustafa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acfirenze, Direttore at AC Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing with us your impression. And we look forward to welcoming you one more time in our hotel, should you decide to visit our wonderfull city in the near future.

Sincerely yours

Jean Tayar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
main st
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I try very hard to stay in Marriott's while traveling. I am platinum rewards member. This Marriott, which I think is a franchise is not what I have grown to expect from Marriott. The front desk staff in my opinion was not trained properly. When I checked in they told me I did not have a reservation, then my room was for one not three, and when I asked for the manager I was told he was not available and if I wanted to speak to him I could leave him a note, right. My three day stay here was just not right. When we got to our room there were towels for one, it took time for towels to arrive, our phone did not work and was never corrected and you could tell that the staff treated us like ugly Americans. I have traveled the world many times. We are not ugle Americans. We go out of our way to treat the locals like we would like to be treated. This Marriott has a lot to learn.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jabaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is modern, good size room, comfortable beds and pillows. It is not in the historic center, but you can go walking. Good breakfast buffet.
The only downside was that when we did the reservation, they had the free minibar included, but when we checked-in, tre front desk said they had change the rules.
For a short stay, probably stay again in AC Firenze.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CristinaRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I travel in Italy almost every year and as an American-Italian, I want American standards/service which is why I was so happy when Marriott expanded in Italy. As a platinum member, I expect the established benefits but more importantly as this is an American hotel chain, I expect American standards.

My stay was good until checkout. Upon checkout, I find that the hotel increased my daily rate by 15 euros without telling me. A long story but I had booked the first night under one rate, and had a 2nd reservation for the weekend rate in case we liked the hotel. The website has a bug that changes the # of people during the search process so I didn't see that it was changed from 2 to 1 (different rates for each). My issue with the hotel was when I checked in and I asked them to combine my stays into one record, they should have given me choices i.e. use the rate for the first reservation or that my second rate increases due to a 2nd person. There was no dialogue so I assumed my rates were as booked. Upon checkout, the person was nice enough but useless and solved nothing. That same person talked to someone behind the desk, neither person did anything. No customer service, just the typical Italian attitude of 'your problem, not mine' when in reality this should have been dealt with at checkin and I could have made proper decisions. I left hating this hotel and never wanting to return plus I was in a bad mood the rest of the day due to how this was handled. It wasn't about the money.

Pros: the breakfast staff was fantastic. The hotel upgraded my room which was appreciated. Love the room layout and the large bathroom plus the modern conveniences.
Cons: yes, paper thin walls and you can hear the toilet paper roll in the next room. The heat in the room is absolute horrible. We didn't know the temperature was not in our control and I woke up in the middle of the night with an anxiety attack due to the claustrophic heat.

Regarding Marriott Corporate - I hope they streamline the AC hotels and clearly document the Platinum benefits. When I checked the website, I assumed breakfast was not included as it is 'AC'. A bit confusing so it is easier to just state 'at AC hotels, this is what you are entitled to'. In addition, I strongly advise Marriott to audit these hotels. My stay at AC Bologna was AMAZING and the staff was the BEST with total customer service. Quite a shame that the Firenze hotel is not to the same standard. Maybe the management at Bologna can reinvent Firenze.

From my perspective, I recommend the many Best Westerns in Firenze.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zingara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acfirenze, Direttore at AC Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, I would like to introduce myself. My name is Jean Tayar and I am the hotel general manager. I would like to thank you for sharing with your impression with us, which with no doubt, they will help to improve our services.
Regarding your case Sir, I can assure you that we receive at least 100 reservation per week through our system and not only, and in no case we had any sort of problem, regarding the rooms occupancy and the number of people allowed per room type. In your case, the reservation was made for one person and upon your arrival, the person at the front desk, informed you that your reservation was made for one person and in case of a double occupancy, you had to pay the difference for the second person. It has nothing to do with the platinum Marriott status or a normal guest. Either a Marriott member as well as any normal guest, should pay for the difference between the double and the single occupancy.

I can understand if you are upset with this situation but I can assure you Sir, that it is clearly written and indicated, pass by pass, point by point the type of room that you are booking and the difference between a double and a single occupancy.

I remain at your complete disposal for any further assistance you may require

Sicerely yours

Jean Tayar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#142 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#95 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UNA Hotel Vittoria
#128 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#89 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#96 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Firenze

Property: AC Hotel Firenze
Address: Via Luciano Bausi, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#100 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Hotel Firenze is located near Porta al Prato Station and Leopolda Station Exhibition Centre. Just 10 minutes walking distance or 5 minutes by tram from Santa Maria Novella Station and historic centre of Florence allows you to live the art experience of a lifetime. Michelangelo's David, Giotto's Tower, Uffizi, Piazza della Signoria, Neptune Fountain, Ponte Vecchio and Pitti Palace are just minutes away. This modern Firenze hotel offers an array of services that provide you comfort and relaxation beyond expectations: in-room safety-box, mini bar, 24h room service, WiFi Internet, and restaurant. After a stop in the fitness centre, sample a selection of international dishes in the contemporary setting of the restaurant, where Chef Vincenzo Crapa will delight your senses. AC Hotel Firenze is also a fantastic choice for holding seminars, business meetings, conventions, and any other type of event. Right Next to the Opera di Firenze Theater and Maggio Fiorentino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Firenze Florence
Ac Firenze Hotel Florence
Ac Hotel Florence
Ac Hotels Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing