We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to Marriott Standards” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AC Hotel Firenze
Ranked #161 of 421 Hotels in Florence
main st
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not up to Marriott Standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I try very hard to stay in Marriott's while traveling. I am platinum rewards member. This Marriott, which I think is a franchise is not what I have grown to expect from Marriott. The front desk staff in my opinion was not trained properly. When I checked in they told me I did not have a reservation, then my room was for one not three, and when I asked for the manager I was told he was not available and if I wanted to speak to him I could leave him a note, right. My three day stay here was just not right. When we got to our room there were towels for one, it took time for towels to arrive, our phone did not work and was never corrected and you could tell that the staff treated us like ugly Americans. I have traveled the world many times. We are not ugle Americans. We go out of our way to treat the locals like we would like to be treated. This Marriott has a lot to learn.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jabaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    485
    218
    57
    29
See reviews for
195
509
37
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is modern, good size room, comfortable beds and pillows. It is not in the historic center, but you can go walking. Good breakfast buffet.
The only downside was that when we did the reservation, they had the free minibar included, but when we checked-in, tre front desk said they had change the rules.
For a short stay, probably stay again in AC Firenze.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CristinaRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I travel in Italy almost every year and as an American-Italian, I want American standards/service which is why I was so happy when Marriott expanded in Italy. As a platinum member, I expect the established benefits but more importantly as this is an American hotel chain, I expect American standards.

My stay was good until checkout. Upon checkout, I find that the hotel increased my daily rate by 15 euros without telling me. A long story but I had booked the first night under one rate, and had a 2nd reservation for the weekend rate in case we liked the hotel. The website has a bug that changes the # of people during the search process so I didn't see that it was changed from 2 to 1 (different rates for each). My issue with the hotel was when I checked in and I asked them to combine my stays into one record, they should have given me choices i.e. use the rate for the first reservation or that my second rate increases due to a 2nd person. There was no dialogue so I assumed my rates were as booked. Upon checkout, the person was nice enough but useless and solved nothing. That same person talked to someone behind the desk, neither person did anything. No customer service, just the typical Italian attitude of 'your problem, not mine' when in reality this should have been dealt with at checkin and I could have made proper decisions. I left hating this hotel and never wanting to return plus I was in a bad mood the rest of the day due to how this was handled. It wasn't about the money.

Pros: the breakfast staff was fantastic. The hotel upgraded my room which was appreciated. Love the room layout and the large bathroom plus the modern conveniences.
Cons: yes, paper thin walls and you can hear the toilet paper roll in the next room. The heat in the room is absolute horrible. We didn't know the temperature was not in our control and I woke up in the middle of the night with an anxiety attack due to the claustrophic heat.

Regarding Marriott Corporate - I hope they streamline the AC hotels and clearly document the Platinum benefits. When I checked the website, I assumed breakfast was not included as it is 'AC'. A bit confusing so it is easier to just state 'at AC hotels, this is what you are entitled to'. In addition, I strongly advise Marriott to audit these hotels. My stay at AC Bologna was AMAZING and the staff was the BEST with total customer service. Quite a shame that the Firenze hotel is not to the same standard. Maybe the management at Bologna can reinvent Firenze.

From my perspective, I recommend the many Best Westerns in Firenze.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zingara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acfirenze, Direttore at AC Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, I would like to introduce myself. My name is Jean Tayar and I am the hotel general manager. I would like to thank you for sharing with your impression with us, which with no doubt, they will help to improve our services.
Regarding your case Sir, I can assure you that we receive at least 100 reservation per week through our system and not only, and in no case we had any sort of problem, regarding the rooms occupancy and the number of people allowed per room type. In your case, the reservation was made for one person and upon your arrival, the person at the front desk, informed you that your reservation was made for one person and in case of a double occupancy, you had to pay the difference for the second person. It has nothing to do with the platinum Marriott status or a normal guest. Either a Marriott member as well as any normal guest, should pay for the difference between the double and the single occupancy.

I can understand if you are upset with this situation but I can assure you Sir, that it is clearly written and indicated, pass by pass, point by point the type of room that you are booking and the difference between a double and a single occupancy.

I remain at your complete disposal for any further assistance you may require

Sicerely yours

Jean Tayar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel if you are driving, close by of a subway where it takes you to the florence city center. You can also walk for 10-15 min to get to florence city center! Good service and with a parking lot (paid / 15 eur a night). I would stay again in this hotel! Rooms doesnt have air cond, only fan, which can be a negative point.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cszepak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
169 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I cannot judge other hotels in Florence but I can definitely recommend this hotel. It is absolutely Marriott standard and also above all so-la-la hotels in Italy. It has everything for your needs. The cleaness is superb. The only thing that I missed was a water cooker but that seems to be not a standard in Italy (as I found out later).

The bathroom is also huge and comes with a tub and a shower cabin.

The location is not at core city center but still very close to major attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang_FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We were actually planning to spend only 1 night in florence, but after seeing the city and the hotel, we stayed 2 nights. The hotel is great, the suite was spacious and it had a cool balcony, the tub was awesome, and it gad jet-streams. The beds are comfortable, but be careful at the AC Lounge. You get charged by the number of beverages, so you can eat all you want, but drinking, say, 1 coke, will charge 5€ to your tab. 5€ for a Coke?!?!?. However, my dad had 2, i also had 2 and my sister had 1 sprite(also 5€), plus 14€ from my mom's wine. The hotel is great, nice rooms, but seriously, why charge 5€ for a soda when you can walk 2 blocks to the supermarket and pay 1.99 euros for a 2 liter coke, or fanta, or whatever you want. Overall it was a great stay

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmrfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Disappointed at every turn. Check-in took 45 minutes with only 1 person working the front desk (at 2pm, and even at 8pm there was still only one desk employee working). Nobody responded to any calls to the front desk and we tried several times. The room is small but efficient, but we couldn't get the room temp below 75 degrees f without opening the window, and it was very noisy on the street. Not in the safest area, so you don't want to be walking around after dark. Biggest complaint is that you can hear everything going on in the adjacent rooms, as if they were make of paper. Wifi is terrible, and only 1 free wifi device per day for our family since my husband is the only Marriott gold member. Bathroom door is made of glass and has a few inch gap at top and bottom, so there's not much bathroom privacy. We paid for 2 rooms because we were told the limit was 2 people per room...however our next door 'neighbors' have 2 adults and two kids in their room, one of whom has been crying for 3 hours. If you were thinking of using Marriott points here in Florence, I'd recommend saving the points for another city and just paying cash at a different hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a room with a nice view here...bad area. Maybe get a room at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowgirl359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#143 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UNA Hotel Vittoria
#126 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#92 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#110 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Firenze

Property: AC Hotel Firenze
Address: Via Luciano Bausi, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#100 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Hotel Firenze is located near Porta al Prato Station and Leopolda Station Exhibition Centre. Just 10 minutes walking distance or 5 minutes by tram from Santa Maria Novella Station and historic centre of Florence allows you to live the art experience of a lifetime. Michelangelo's David, Giotto's Tower, Uffizi, Piazza della Signoria, Neptune Fountain, Ponte Vecchio and Pitti Palace are just minutes away. This modern Firenze hotel offers an array of services that provide you comfort and relaxation beyond expectations: in-room safety-box, mini bar, 24h room service, WiFi Internet, and restaurant. After a stop in the fitness centre, sample a selection of international dishes in the contemporary setting of the restaurant, where Chef Vincenzo Crapa will delight your senses. AC Hotel Firenze is also a fantastic choice for holding seminars, business meetings, conventions, and any other type of event. Right Next to the Opera di Firenze Theater and Maggio Fiorentino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AC Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Firenze Florence
Ac Firenze Hotel Florence
Ac Hotel Florence
Ac Hotels Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing