We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, very bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli
Ranked #115 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very bad service”
Reviewed January 4, 2010

The hotel had a really impressive design and details were really taken care. However for a Hilton hotel service was unacceptable!
We arrived at the hotel around midnight and no grooman was there to take our baggages... (I really doubt whether there was a grooman anyway, since he was not there not even when we checked out and I saw people carrying their luggage by themselve).
In breakfast time there was only one person serving us, always in panic and swearing all the time in italian. We knew that breakfast was served between 7.30-10, however it was unaccepted to "throw people out" at 9.55 or not having anything at the buffet at this time. I understand that time-schedules are to be kept, however they could close the door and let people finish their breakfast. Last day, a big Japanese group showed in and the food was not enough for all of us!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dialecti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONFLRNV, Resident Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli, responded to this review, January 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback about your stay in our Hotel and we apoligize if your stay was not as you expected.
We'll take good care about your comment hoping to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards
Alessandro Carletti
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    531
    192
    44
    30
See reviews for
238
541
54
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed here using points while traveling through Europe and it was one of the nicest hotels we stayed at, especially for a Hilton Garden Inn. The hotel throughout, from the bedroom to the lobby, was very modern. It provided free internet access in its business center. We also received free breakfast at the buffet through my hhonors status and it was pretty good. This was about halfway through our trip and fortunately they had coin operated laundry machines in the basement. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little bit outside town center in a newly developed area. It was only a five minute bus ride into town and buses ran very regularly. We also took a cab a couple of times and the fare wasn't too bad. I would highly suggest this hotel if you are looking for a great hotel in Florence!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spdst13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

The HGI Florence Novoli was the fourth stop on a 15 night driving tour through Switzerland, France and Italy. The previous few nights were spent in San Gimignano, so the leg to Florence was rather short. But we still appreciated that the property was quite easy to find. Check in was a snap, and though there was apparently free parking on the street, we put out rental in the quite secure hotel garage. 10 euro a night fee but we were not charged. We were given a very large corner room overlooking the courtyard to the rear of the property. Very modern with plenty of glass and wood. Great blinds kept the outside world out when we wanted that. Look for the switches near the bed to raise and lower the blinds. Internt access was solid and free. No wealth of English channels on the TV, but we weren't in Florence to watch TV. We made use of the guest laundry. Very well laid out with quality appliances. Seven euro to wash a dry one load - tokens at the hotel counter. Public transportation was a few hundred yards away - the route terminates in the middle of Florence's historic district. Be sure to pick up ypur tickets at the hotel counter. Much less than purchasing them on the bus. The agent at the counter will ensure that you don't get lost. We used the hotel as a base to see points to the west - Pisa, Lucca, etc. The hotel's location on the west side of town faciltated this. The breakfast selection was first rate with attentive service. No problems at check out. We've been in many HGI's - and the Florence Novoli is one of the best anywhere. Included are some photos of the property.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airpizz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

I used points so i cant talk to the cost of rooms but the hotel was great! very clean and modern. The front desk staff was very helpful and they spoke wonderful English! The breakfast was very good as well. The location was pretty good. You take about a 5-10 min walk to the bus and then a 20 min bus ride to you get to the center of town. You can buy your bus tickets from the front desk - same price as you would else where.

very safe neighborhood no worries walking at night from the bus stop back to the hotel. I would stay here again for Florence.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDXmilespoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

I am a Hilton HHonors Diamond member and had always seen the HGI chain as a "cheap and cheerful" end of the market - more like motels - how wrong I was.

We had booked a Junior Suite (to accomodate myself, wife and teenage daughter and was truly amazed. The building was new and the room was huge - loads of room for all of us. The staff were extremely helpful (all fluent in English), breakfast was very good for a mainland Europe hotel and the dinner in the restaurant was superb although the menu is limited.

There is not a full room service orBuilding concierge but there is a self service shop selling food (including frozen meals), drinks (alcoholic drinks at UK normal prices, not hotel prices!).

The hotel is sited to the North West of the city centre - about 1.5 miles from the railway station and the main sights. The surrounding area is obviously in the process of being redeveloped (nice park next door) and when the Government nearby is completed I would expect this to become an extremely busy hotel.

Impressed by this hotel and would recommend to everyone but remember it is not among the holiday sights and the walk is along some busy streets - not an issue to us.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grnglide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stayed at the Florence HGI at beginning of October '09 for one night on way from Rome to Venice. Great bargain and location if you don't want the hassles of the city center. For connections to city and railway station, bus #22 is available a short walk away, Great supermarket nearby (back of the downtown bus stop) and hotel location adjacent to a pleasant emerging park and newly constructed university. Neighborhood is nice and has a range of shops and restaurants available. Hotel sells city bus tickets (2 Euros), so that make things easy. Bus to train station takes about 15 minutes and stops at station. Coming from train station look for new park and modern university on right - bus stop right there and then short walk to visable HGI down side street abutting park. Hotel rooms very nice and comfortable, have frig - but no microwave (as HGIs usually do). Laundry machine in hotel - cost is 7 Euros for wash and dry - allow a good hour plus to do both (only one machine for both). Great place to stay if you want to travel into city center and stay outside of tourist district. Breakfast provided, although the one morning I was there it was victimized by busload of package travellers - I expect the hotel replenished the buffet, but I had to leave early to catch a train, so picking were meager. Extra plus is the free internet - not usually available at Italian hotels in guest rooms. Overall great place!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mainer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My wife and I really enjoyed this hotel. While it is a short while from downtown Florence, it is very easy to catch the bus to the town center. The free breakfast was a nice bonus as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad0147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#148 of 412 in Florence
1,957 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#100 of 412 in Florence
749 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#120 of 412 in Florence
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#256 of 412 in Florence
218 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 412 in Florence
1,045 reviews
Italiana Hotels Florence
#167 of 412 in Florence
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli
Address: Via Sandro Pertini 29, 50127, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Florence
#72 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#86 Family Hotel in Florence
#91 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli Hotel Florence
Florence Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing