We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leonardo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leonardo House
Ranked #308 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hostel was in a great location. And that was about it. We were on a 2 week vacation and unfortunately this was the least favorite of all the places we stayed. We were quite spoiled with other hostels we stayed at. While the location was ideal, the hostel was just average. It was not that clean (especially the room) and the host was 'ok'. He was not as friendly and warm as other reviewers express...so maybe we caught him on a a bad day. The rooms must have been pretty dusty or dirty because both nights of sleep I woke up not able to breathe...like having an allergic reaction, which NEVER happens to me So, I was a little disappointed in this hostel given the previous reviews, but I am sure others may have truly had better experiences.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraP326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    46
    15
    1
    6
See reviews for
8
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Upon arrival, Leonardo greeted us warmly and enthusiastically circled all the attractions in Florence. He also gave us a great tip to barter in the markets, and when I bought a leather jacket, I couldn't thank him enough - he had saved me in excess of 100 euro!

The rooms were spacious, and felt homely, if a little outdated. I loved that there wasn't 200 people crammed into the hostel, just a dozen or so rooms, making it quiet and friendly. There was a small kitchen which also helped us out, preparing microwave meals or breakfast.

The location is very good also. The main train station is nearby, with easy access arriving and departing from Florence. The bus station, from memory, was close also, but we walked almost everywhere. Everything is close, and you get a lovely feel of the city in amongst the buildings and people. One tip when staying Florence: if you would like to see the Uffizi gallery or Michaelangelo's Statue of David, PREBOOK!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AynsleyCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

The first good impression that we had of Leonardo House was when we received a email from Leonardo a few days before we were due to arrive. It included a reminder of our booking, directions to the house and also some information about Florence. Once we checked in, Leonardo was quick to provide us with a map and highlighted to us on the various attractions and directions.

The house is located at a very convenient location, about eight minutes walk from the Firenze S.M.N station and also within walking distance to many of the attractions. In fact, if you are a keen shopper of designer goods, there is a bus at the train station which brings you directly to the factory outlet. (we only knew about this when Leonardo told us and he also gave us the bus timetable as well so that we can plan our time)

There is no lift available in the whole building but Leonardo was very kind to help me with my luggage during both check in and check out (but I think that's because I am female - he didn't help my husband though).

Room was clean and adequate sized. Free wifi is also available.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watery83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Leonardo and his place are good,goood and gooood.In the center,easy to go in and out,clean and really safe.And Leonardo is nice,very nice,helpfull for everything.Go there,you will like it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dulica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLATHE, KS
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Leonardo was very helpful and friendly, The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and the location was perfect

Thank you Leonardo and see you my next time in Florence

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECROlathe_Ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Leonardo House was good. Quite small and basic but great location. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 000CST000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at Leonardo House for 4 nights. Leonardo (the owner) is very friendly and helpful. As soon as we checked in he offered advice on places to visit and local restaurants offering good food. The house is in the center of historic Florence, within walking distance of various places of interest which a tourist in Florence would like to visit. It is also close to the bus/train station (Santa Maria Novella). Best value for money :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Soggiorno Pitti
Soggiorno Pitti
#479 of 653 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
#229 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#25 of 295 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
My Friends Guesthouse
My Friends Guesthouse
#149 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
San Lorenzo
Floralia b&b
Floralia b&b
#171 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Primavera
Soggiorno Primavera
#275 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo House

Property: Leonardo House
Address: Via del Trebbio 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Leonardo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing