We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local & Nice Owner!”
Review of Leonardo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leonardo House
Ranked #327 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Great place to stay as it's in a central location near all major sights and the train station! Leonardo is really nice & helpful. Any question you have or suggestion you want, he'll have an answer! Not the place to stay if you want a traditonal hostel experience though -- only a few rooms, and we did not meet any other travellers. No food is provided but it's near the Jolly Cafe for breakfast, and there is an awesome hot choclaote machine in the lobby!

Room Tip: In the winter, you'll want more covers. The room got very cold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmali18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

There's nothing better than seeing a smiling face to receive you after you have completed a long journey and Leonardo is just that kind of a person.Always smiling and ever so helpful.We stayed in two different rooms over the 4 nights we were (one had a shared bathroom and one with our private bathroom) and they were very comfortable.The towels and bedsheets provided were very clean.The location is a few 100 feet walk from the Duomo and the rest of the historical places.Make a point to land up before noon or after 4pm.Leonardo isn't there in between.They have a coffee vending machine at the door

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S_Chandrasekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Awesome! There wasn't much to the room we stayed in but that was okay! It was clean and it provided a basic place for us to sleep. Honestly, you'll want to be out in Florence (which is an awesome place) rather than in your hotel room. Leonardo greeted us warmly and gave us great advice on tours. Right from the time we booked, Leonardo had great communication with us. He was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this for people who want afforadable, clean, good place to stay.

Room Tip: You have the choice of a room with your own bathroom or you can share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvp1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and I can say that this was our best stay in Italy inspite of us having stayed in better starred places elsewhere. No-frills and absolutely homely is what I can safely say. Leonardo is a smart young man always ready to help. In fact he handed over 2 rail tickets to Pisa as few travelers earlier who couldn't travel there left them with him. The room is simple.. carry a mosquito repellant if the critters bother you. The bathroom is old & large and could do with some repair but hey at 50E a night, who's complaining? There's a computer with wifi free to use and loads of interesting information on the city lying with Leonardo. He directed us to a local pizzeria when we checked with him, which was superb & truly Italian (value).

It is opposite a lovely church and the walk to the centre (Duomo) and the evening markets is a short stroll. Leonardo gives you a key to the pensione and you can come in & go whenever you want.

I am definitely going to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surajit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

staff is very helpfull, rooms were good and hot. Location perfect. clean but not so much. its need only breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenday84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

I was staying 2 nights in Leonardo house and it was really nice. The owner is so helpful. Hostel is in the center of historic Florence so it is easy to get to every place and galleries. It is clean, there is free towels and wi fi internet. It is close to bus and train station, so what else you need :)...I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tati1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This hostel is wonderful - Leonardo himself is such a gracious man and makes you feel very welcome. The price is great - quite a bargain. The room (private double) was immaculate and so was the shared bathroom. The bed was more comfortable than our bed at home! We were there in a hot season of July, but the room stayed nice and cool and had a fan. We only had to share one large bathroom with two other people. It is very conveniently located, 5 minute walk from SMN train station. Also they are very attentive at check-in, providing you with a city map and pointing out good places to get a beer or a cup of coffee. They are also very generous with luggage storage - we checked out early in the morning and left our bags there until around 4pm.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Playground_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,059 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 326 in Florence
2,575 reviews
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,825 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,887 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo House

Address: Via del Trebbio 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $42 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Leonardo House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing